Commission on Fire Prevention and Control

Certification Division

December 2017

Requirements for Hosting Practical/Written Certification Examinations for FF1 and Haz Mat WMD

Introduction

Hosting a Fire Fighter I/HMWMD class is no small task for any entity that decides to take that challenge on. The course curriculum, course hours, and location all need to be coordinated well in advance of the program beginning. The ultimate goal is to teach the skills candidates will need to perform tasks required of entry level personnel concluding with the certification testing process. There are several steps that need to be completed before, during, and after a program to ensure all candidates are able to move through the certification system smoothly. This document will address those steps in the order that they need to be achieved.

The Certification Division of the CT Commission on Fire Prevention and Control (CFPC) is committed to the development and maintenance of organizational procedures, which allow for fair and consistent evaluation and certification of the Connecticut Fire Service to various National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) Professional Standards and maintenance of certification records. The division measures the level of knowledge, skill, and abilities possessed by candidates and attest that those individuals meet nationally recognized standards. These competency-based standards promote evaluation and uniformity of training programs. Our division is also responsible for preserving the certification process within the requirements issued under the Connecticut General Statutes and State Administrative Regulations related to the CFPC. The division also strives to ensure all testing is conducted in a manner that provides for the appropriate safety of all applicants, examiners, and the general public at all times.

General Eligibility Requirements for Candidates

Candidates must be at least 18 years of age to enter into the certification system. State of Connecticut regulations prohibit anyone under the age of 18 from participating in the live fire burn audit and practical skills certification examinations. Any individual under the age of 18 CANNOT be allowed to participate in the examination. All candidates must provide a picture identification proving their identity and age upon entry into the examination site. Candidates must be a

member of the Connecticut Fire Service or a mutual aid fire department at time of application.

Certification Practical Host Site Facility/Apparatus Requirements

The host entity Lead Instructor is responsible to provide and ensure that the required equipment is in place at least one hour prior to the start of the examination. All equipment and materials must be in safe condition, meet all appropriate NFPA and alternative standards, and be in good working order. Should any other department, organization, or individual provide equipment, it is the Lead Instructor's responsibility to provide them with the requirements as soon as possible, but at least 14 days prior to the examination. The CFPC Certification Division will not be responsible for any equipment or material, other than our own, being used during practical skills examinations. The Certification Division cannot conduct a partial examination. Should the required equipment not be available at the beginning of the exam the Lead Instructor has one hour from the assigned start time to get any missing equipment needed for the test. If equipment cannot be obtained The Chief Examiner on site will postpone the examination. If for any reason the required equipment cannot be provided on the day of the examination, contact the Certification Division as soon as possible.

The below list details the exact equipment needs on examination day. In addition to equipment listed, a facility for staging and sequestering candidates during the test is also needed. This facility needs to be able to accommodate all of the candidates and Certification Examiners in a staging area away from the testing locations. Ideally this is an indoor facility for candidates to be comfortable and safe as they wait to complete each of the stations on the test.

Commission on Fire Prevention and Control Fire Fighter I Practical Skills Day Facility and Equipment Needs List

QTY	Equipment Needs	QTY	Equipment Needs
	Department Ladders		Ropes
1	20' Single Ladder (roof type)	2	Kernmantle – 30' min. in Length
1	24' Extension Ladder	2	Synthetic – 30' min. in Length
1	35' Extension	2	Natural Fiber – 30' min. in Length
1	Combination/A Frame ladder		
			Hose and Appliances
	SCBA	1	Fire Engine (seat and belt 4 people)
1	Complete SCBA per Candidate	4	Spanner Wrenches
1	Spare Cylinder per Candidate	5	50' Lengths 1 34" hose
1	Black Out Shield (if available)	5	50' Lengths 2 ½" hose
1	SCBA Cleaning Kit	1	2 ½" Playpipe Nozzle
	Hand Tools	1	1 ½" Adjustable Combination Nozzle
2	Pick-head Axes	1	Small Diameter Washing Nozzle
2	Flat-head Axes	2	2 ½" Single Gates
2	Halligan Bars	2	2 ½' to 1 ½' Gated Wye
2	Plaster Hooks		
2	Pike Poles		Lighting Equipment
			One of the Following
			Vehicle Mounted Generator
			Apparatus Inverter
	Power Equipment		Portable Generator
1	Circular Saw with Metal and Wood Blades	1	Junction Box
		3	Electrical Cables
	Loss Control Equipment	3	Portable Lights
3	Salvages Covers		Variety of Electrical Adapters
2	Brooms		T
1	Smoke Ejector		Water Source
2	Sprinkler wedges	2	Hydrants
	General Equipment		
4	Portable Radios		
1	First Aid Kit		General Props
1	Resuscitator		Material for Salvage Cover Deployment
1	Medical Oxygen	1	Mannequin/rescue Dummy with their
		-	Extremities
		1	Prop For Sprinkler Head
		1	Prop for Reduce Profile –
		1	Vertical/Horizontal

Examiners

The Commission on Fire Prevention and Control will provide one or more Chief Examiners to administer the practical examination as well as all required evaluation documents. As the Lead Instructor you are responsible to provide <u>Seven (7)</u> Examiners and <u>One (1)</u> Pump Operator / driver to serve as station evaluators for the Examination Stations.

Those individuals who will serve as Examiners must be State of Connecticut Certified Fire Service Instructor I, have attended the State of Connecticut station evaluator training program, and cannot have instructed the candidates in the specific skill that they will evaluate. They must be knowledgeable in the subject matter that they will evaluate. Also Directors, Assistant Directors, Lead Instructors or any one that has a vested interest in the class cannot Evaluate. A letter will be sent out by the Certification Division to the Lead Instructor with a form to fill out for potential station evaluators requested by the host entity for the Practical Skills Examination. Certification will verify those names listed to ensure they have met the minimum requirements above. If a substitute examiner has to be added to the examiner list for whatever reason, the Certification Division must be notified to verify that the substitute meets the above requirements. Various factors influence the amount of time that an examination will take so it is impossible to predict an ending time for the examination. To maintain the integrity of the examination process it is imperative that examiners be on site for the entire examination. At a minimum, examiners must be scheduled to be on site from 8AM to 5PM. Please do not choose as examiners persons that cannot be on site during those hours.

Certification Application Process

The Lead Instructor is responsible for requesting dates for the Live Burn Audit, Practical, and Written Exam Test dates. This section will detail how the Lead Instructor shall accomplish scheduling each of those required dates into the Certification testing calendar.

At least 60 days prior to the anticipated examination date the Lead Instructor or designee shall submit to the Certification Division a completed "Practical Skills Examination Application" form. This application asks the requester to indicate the number of candidates, two requested examination dates (primary and alternate), address of requested examination, and date/location of the required Live Burn Audit. This audit, while not conducted as an examination, constitutes a component of the qualifying process and is a prerequisite for certification at the Firefighter I level.

At least 28 days prior to the anticipated examination date the Lead Instructor or designee shall submit to the Certification Division a completed "Written Examination Application" form. This application asks the requester to indicate the number of candidates, two requested examination dates (primary and alternate), number of total candidates the facility can accommodate, address of the requested examination, and the billing information.

It is imperative for the Lead Instructor to ensure that these forms are submitted within these time windows or sooner. Certification has a limited amount of test dates available, especially for Practical Skills Examinations.

Live Fire Suppression Verification Form

On the day of the scheduled Live Burn Audit, the Certification Division will send an auditor to the location of the live fire training session. A live fire suppression verification form for each candidate needs to be initialed by the auditor at the live burn. Completion of this process is required for candidates to move on to the Practical Skills examination. Candidates must show a photo ID on the day of the live fire training and must be at least 18 years of age to participate. The live burn for Fire Fighter I fulfills the Job Performance Requirement for Interior Structural Fire Attack. Lead Instructors can download and print the form from the CFPC website.

Fire Fighter I Position Task Book

The Position Task Book (PTB) has been developed for the level of Fire Fighter I. The PTB lists the performance requirements (tasks) for this level in a format that allows a trainee to be evaluated against written guidelines and is to be used in conjunction with Practical Evaluation Sheets (Skill Sheets). Successful performance of all tasks, as observed and recorded by a qualified evaluator, will result in a recommendation to participate in the written certification examination.

Evaluation and confirmation of the individual's performance of all tasks may involve more than one evaluator and can occur on a scenario involving one Skill Sheet or on a scenario involving multiple Skill Sheets. It is important that performance be critically evaluated and accurately recorded by each evaluator. All tasks must be evaluated. All statements within a task which require an action (contain an action verb) must be demonstrated before that task can be signed off.

A Class Instructor line is provided for each Job Performance Requirement (JPR). The instructor who delivered the lesson and provided direct instruction of that particular JPR shall be listed for the appropriate JPR. An Evaluator signature line is provided to record

the successful completion of the task(s) listed for the appropriate JPR. The evaluation shall not be administered by the instructor of record for the appropriate JPR. On the day of the Practical Skills Examination, an Examiner from the Certification Division will review each of the PTB's to ensure all skills have been evaluated during the course. The PTB's can be reviewed by the Examiner in hard copy or electronic format.

Summary

This document has detailed the process for Host Entities and Lead Instructors to follow when conducting a Fire Fighter I/HMWMD course for certification. These procedures are in place to ensure that a fair and equitable process is followed for each candidate participating in a course headed toward certification. At any time when Lead Instructors have questions, they can reach out to the Certification Division for further assistance. The staff is available during normal business hours Monday – Friday.

For general questions contact Certification Director Jason Decremer at 860-264-9225 or jason.decremer@ct.gov

For questions regarding student applications contact Certification Registrar Denice Fortin at 860-264-9229 or denice.fortin@ct.gov

For questions regarding Practical and Written Exam scheduling contact Certification Coordinator David Clark at 860-264-9223 or david.a.clark@ct.gov