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Certification and Licensure Standards for Alcohol and Drug Counselors 
 
20-74s-1. Work experience or internship 
(a) Work experience or internship required under section 20-74s(e)(2) of the Connecticut 

General Statutes shall constitute approved experience for Connecticut certification when 
all of the criteria specified below are satisfied: 
(1) The work experience or internship shall entail:  (A) working directly with persons 

who have been assessed or diagnosed as having an alcohol or other drug abuse 
dependency;  and (B) providing specific counseling interventions that are 
directed toward the amelioration of a substance use disorder and that are 
identified in a treatment plan. 

(2) The work experience or internship shall be specifically related to the knowledge 
and skills necessary to perform all of the following core counseling functions:  
screening, intake, orientation, assessment, treatment planning, counseling, case 
management, crisis intervention, client education, referral, report and record 
keeping, and consultation. 

(3) The work experience or internship shall be no less than 6000 hours, except that 
a master's degree may be substituted for 2000 hours.  Not less than 2000 of the 
required hours shall be in the core counseling functions specified in subdivision 
(2) of this subsection. 

(4) The supervisor of the work experience or internship shall be (A) if in Connecticut, 
an alcohol and drug counselor licensed pursuant to section 20- 74s of the 
Connecticut General Statutes, or certified as a clinical supervisor by the 
Connecticut Certification Board, or if the experience or internship occurred in 
Connecticut prior to October 2, 1998, an individual deemed licensed pursuant to 
section 20-74s(l) of the Connecticut General Statutes;  (B) if outside Connecticut, 
an alcohol and drug counselor licensed as such or as a person entitled to 
perform similar services under a different designation, in the state or jurisdiction 
in which the training is completed;  or (C) a person licensed in the state in which 
the training is completed to practice medicine and surgery, psychology, marital 
and family therapy, clinical social work, professional counseling, advanced 
practice registered nursing, or registered nursing when acting within the scope of 
such license, who has completed 50 hours of specialized alcohol and drug 
counseling education in the areas of pharmacology, assessment and treatment 
planning, and treatment techniques, and has experience working directly with 
persons who have been assessed or diagnosed as having an alcohol or other 
drug abuse dependency. 

(5) The 300 hours of practical training in alcohol and drug counseling required under 
section 20-74s(e)(1) of the Connecticut General Statutes, may be part of the 
work experience or internship and shall include at least ten hours of practical 
training in each of the core counseling functions specified in subdivision (2) of 
this subsection. 

(b) Work experience required under section 20-74s(n)(1) of the Connecticut General 
Statutes shall constitute approved experience for Connecticut certification when all of the 
criteria specified below are satisfied: 

(1) Full time employment shall consist of a minimum of 2,000 hours per year 
and part time employment shall be not less than 50% of full time 
employment. For individuals working in facilities that define full time 
employment at a level less than 2,000 hours per year, the Department 
may consider accepting such employment as equivalent to full time 
employment provided such employment consists of at least 1,350 hours 
per year. 

(2) The supervisor of the experience shall be (A) if in Connecticut, an alcohol and 
drug counselor licensed pursuant to section 20-74s of the Connecticut General 
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Statutes, or certified as a clinical supervisor by the Connecticut Certification 
Board, or if the experience occurred in Connecticut prior to October 2, 1998, an 
individual deemed licensed pursuant to section 20-74s(l) of the Connecticut 
General Statutes;  (B) if outside Connecticut, an alcohol and drug counselor 
licensed as such or as a person entitled to perform similar services under a 
different designation, in the state or jurisdiction in which the training is completed; 
or (C) a person licensed in the state in which the training is completed to practice 
medicine and surgery, psychology, marital and family therapy, clinical social 
work, professional counseling, advanced practice registered nursing or registered 
nursing when acting within the scope of such license, who has completed 50 
hours of specialized alcohol and drug counseling education in the areas of 
pharmacology, assessment and treatment planning, and treatment techniques, 
and has experience working directly with persons who have been assessed or 
diagnosed as having alcohol or other drug abuse dependency. 

(c) Individuals who are certified by a board that is a member of the International Certification 
and Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse shall be deemed to have met 
the requirements of this section. 
(Added effective February 3, 2000.) 
 

20-74s-2. Education 
(a) The attainment of a master's degree or higher advanced degree from an accredited 

institution of higher education, with a minimum of 18 graduate semester hours in 
counseling or counseling--related subjects, shall satisfy the requirement of attainment of 
a masters degree under section 20-74s(d) of the Connecticut General Statutes. 

(b) Education as required under section 20-74s(e)(3) of the Connecticut General Statutes, 
shall conform to the following: 
(1) Cover each of the core counseling functions as specified in section 20- 74s-

1(a)(2); 
(2) Of the 360 hours required, a minimum of 90 hours shall be in counseling theories 

and techniques.  Up to 120 hours may be in areas that are not specific to alcohol 
and drug abuse, but shall be in the field of human behavior; 

(3) Of the 240 hours pertaining to alcohol and drug abuse, 18 hours shall be in 
pharmacology, 30 hours shall be in assessment and treatment planning, 12 
hours shall be in cross-cultural, special population and ethnically diverse groups, 
12 hours shall be in ethics, and 6 hours shall be in Human Immunodeficiency 
Virus and Acquired Immunodeficiency Syndrome;  and 

(4) No more than 40 hours of in-service training may be credited toward satisfying 
the educational requirements. 

(c) Individuals who are certified by a board that is a member of the International Certification 
and Reciprocity Consortium/Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse shall be deemed to have met 
the requirements of subsection (b) of this section. 
(Added effective February 3, 2000.) 

 
20-74s-3. Supervision 
(a) The supervision required under section 20-74s(w) of the Connecticut General Statutes, 

shall be provided by an alcohol and drug counselor licensed or certified pursuant to 
section 20-74s of the Connecticut General Statutes, or a person licensed to practice 
medicine and surgery, psychology, marital and family therapy, clinical social work, 
professional counseling, advanced practice registered nursing, or registered nursing 
when acting within the scope of such license, who has completed 50 hours of specialized 
alcohol and drug counseling education in the areas of pharmacology, assessment and 
treatment planning, and treatment techniques, and has experience working directly with 
persons who have been assessed or diagnosed as having an alcohol or other drug abuse 
dependency. 
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(b) "Regular" on-site observation, as required under section 20-74s(a)(7) of the Connecticut 
General Statutes, means a minimum of one time per week. 
(Added effective February 3, 2000.) 

 


