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STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
 

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 

 
 
 
Dear Applicant: 
 
Please be advised, pursuant to Section 17a-101 of the Connecticut General Statutes (see reverse side), certain 
health professions regulated by the Department of Public Health are mandated to report suspected child abuse 
or neglect to the Department of Children and Families (DCF) Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline or a law 
enforcement agency. 
 
Reports must be made within twenty-four hours of the moment you suspect the abuse/neglect has occurred.  
Suspected child maltreatment of any kind, regardless of the identity of the alleged perpetrator must be reported.  
The Hotline number is 1-800-842-2288 and is available on a 24 hour 7 day a week basis.  A copy of the child 
abuse reporting laws is enclosed. The Hotline can answer questions you may have regarding these laws. 
 
It is important that you become familiar with Connecticut’s reporting laws as failure to meet reporting 
responsibilities may subject you to criminal prosecution and possible action against your license or certificate. 
 
Should you have any questions regarding your licensure or certification, please contact the Department of 
Public Health at the number in this application. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

Phone:  (860) 509-7603 
Telephone Device for the Deaf (860) 509-7191 

410 Capitol Avenue – MS # 12APP 
P.O. Box 340308 Hartford, CT  06134 

An  Equal  Opportunity  Employer
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Connecticut General Statutes, Chapter 319a 
Child Welfare 

Child Abuse Reporting Laws 
 

Sec.17a-101. (Formerly Sec. 17-38a). Protection of children from abuse. Mandated reporters. Educational and training programs. (a) The public policy of this 
state is: To protect children whose health and welfare may be adversely affected through injury and neglect; to strengthen the family and to make the home 
safe for children by enhancing the parental capacity for good child care; to provide a temporary or permanent nurturing and safe environment for children 
when necessary; and for these purposes to require the reporting of suspected child abuse, investigation of such reports by a social agency, and provision of 
services, where needed, to such child and family.  (b) The following persons shall be mandated reporters: Any physician or surgeon licensed under the 
provisions of chapter 370, any resident physician or intern in any hospital in this state, whether or not so licensed, any registered nurse, licensed practical 
nurse, medical examiner, dentist, dental hygienist, psychologist, coach of intramural or interscholastic athletics, school teacher, school principal, school 
guidance counselor, school paraprofessional, school coach, social worker, police officer, juvenile or adult probation officer, juvenile or adult parole officer, 
member of the clergy, pharmacist, physical therapist, optometrist, chiropractor, podiatrist, mental health professional or physician assistant, any person who 
is a licensed or certified emergency medical services provider, any person who is a licensed or certified alcohol and drug counselor, any person who is a 
licensed marital and family therapist, any person who is a sexual assault counselor or a battered women's counselor as defined in section 52-146k, any person 
who is a licensed professional counselor, any person paid to care for a child in any public or private facility, child day care center, group day care home or 
family day care home licensed by the state, any employee of the Department of Children and Families, any employee of the Department of Public Health who 
is responsible for the licensing of child day care centers, group day care homes, family day care homes or youth camps, the Child Advocate and any employee 
of the Office of Child Advocate.  (c) The Commissioner of Children and Families shall develop an educational training program for the accurate and prompt 
identification and reporting of child abuse and neglect. Such training program shall be made available to all persons mandated to report child abuse and 
neglect at various times and locations throughout the state as determined by the Commissioner of Children and Families.  (d) Any mandated reporter, as 
defined in subsection (b) of this section, who fails to report to the Commissioner of Children and Families pursuant to section 17a-101a shall be required to 
participate in an educational and training program established by the commissioner. The program may be provided by one or more private organizations 
approved by the commissioner, provided the entire costs of the program shall be paid from fees charged to the participants, the amount of which shall be 
subject to the approval of the commissioner. 
 
Sec.17a-101a. Report of abuse, neglect or injury of child or imminent risk of serious harm to child. Penalty for failure to report. Any mandated reporter, as 
defined in section 17a-101, who in the ordinary course of such person's employment or profession has reasonable cause to suspect or believe that any child 
under the age of eighteen years (1) has been abused or neglected, as defined in section 46b-120, (2) has had nonaccidental physical injury, or injury which is at 
variance with the history given of such injury, inflicted upon such child, or (3) is placed at imminent risk of serious harm, shall report or cause a report to be 
made in accordance with the provisions of sections 17a-101b to 17a-101d, inclusive. Any person required to report under the provisions of this section who 
fails to make such report shall be fined not less than five hundred dollars nor more than two thousand five hundred dollars and shall be required to 
participate in an educational and training program pursuant to subsection (d) of section 17a-101. 
 
Sec.17a-101b. Oral report by mandated reporter. Notification of law enforcement agency when allegation of sexual abuse or serious physical abuse. 
Notification of person in charge of institution, facility or school when staff member suspected of abuse or neglect. (a) An oral report shall be made by a 
mandated reporter as soon as practicable but not later than twelve hours after the mandated reporter has reasonable cause to suspect or believe that a child 
has been abused or neglected or placed in imminent risk of serious harm, by telephone or in person to the Commissioner of Children and Families or a law 
enforcement agency. If a law enforcement agency receives an oral report, it shall immediately notify the Commissioner of Children and Families. 
 
(b) If the commissioner or the commissioner's designee suspects or knows that such person has knowingly made a false report, the identity of such person shall 
be disclosed to the appropriate law enforcement agency and to the perpetrator of the alleged abuse. 
(c) If the Commissioner of Children and Families, or the commissioner's designee, receives a report alleging sexual abuse or serious physical abuse, including, 
but not limited to, a report that: (1) A child has died; (2) a child has been sexually assaulted; (3) a child has suffered brain damage or loss or serious 
impairment of a bodily function or organ; (4) a child has been sexually exploited; or (5) a child has suffered serious nonaccidental physical injury, the 
commissioner shall, within twelve hours of receipt of such report, notify the appropriate law enforcement agency. 
(d) Whenever a mandated reporter, as defined in section 17a-101, has reasonable cause to suspect or believe that any child has been abused or neglected by a 
member of the staff of a public or private institution or facility that provides care for such child or a public or private school, the mandated reporter shall 
report as required in subsection (a) of this section. The Commissioner of Children and Families or the commissioner's designee shall notify the person in 
charge of such institution, facility or school or the person's designee, unless such person is the alleged perpetrator of the abuse or neglect of such child. Such 
person in charge, or such person's designee, shall then immediately notify the child's parent or other person responsible for the child's care that a report has 
been made.  
 
17a-101c. Written report by mandated reporter. Within forty-eight hours of making an oral report, a mandated reporter shall submit a written report to the 
Commissioner of Children and Families or his representative. When a mandated reporter is a member of the staff of a public or private institution or facility 
that provides care for such child or public or private school he shall also submit a copy of the written report to the person in charge of such institution, school 
or facility or the person's designee. In the case of a report concerning a certified school employee, a copy of the written report shall also be sent by the person 
in charge of such institution, school or facility to the Commissioner of Education or his representative. In the case of an employee of a facility or institution 
that provides care for a child which is licensed by the state, a copy of the written report shall also be sent by the mandated reporter to the executive head of the 
state licensing agency. 
 
Sec.17a-101d. Contents of oral and written reports. All oral and written reports required in sections 17a-101a to 17a-101c, inclusive, and section 17a-103, shall 
contain, if known: (1) The names and addresses of the child and his parents or other person responsible for his care; (2) the age of the child; (3) the gender of 
the child; (4) the nature and extent of the child's injury or injuries, maltreatment or neglect; (5) the approximate date and time the injury or injuries, 
maltreatment or neglect occurred; (6) information concerning any previous injury or injuries to, or maltreatment or neglect of, the child or his siblings; (7) the 
circumstances in which the injury or injuries, maltreatment or neglect came to be known to the reporter; (8) the name of the person or persons suspected to be 
responsible for causing such injury or injuries, maltreatment or neglect; and (9) whatever action, if any, was taken to treat, provide shelter or otherwise assist 
the child. 
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STATE  OF  CONNECTICUT 
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 

              CONSCIOUS SEDATION PERMIT APPLICATION 
 

AN APPLICATION WILL NOT BE REVIEWED BY PROFESSIONAL STAFF OF THE DEPARTMENT UNTIL 
ALL REQUIRED DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED. 
 
• The fee for initial licensure covers the cost of eligibility determination and related administrative functions.  

At such time as an applicant is determined eligible for licensure, the process of licensure issuance will 
proceed immediately.  The licensure renewal fee is separate and distinct from the application fee.  
Licenses are renewed annually during the licensee’s month of birth.  Renewal will be required in the FIRST 
birth month which immediately follows the issuance of licensure.  The full renewal fee will be required 
regardless of the date of initial licensure. 

 
• It is the responsibility of the applicant to arrange for submission of all required documentation for timely 

completion of the application.  The Department does NOT notify applicants of incomplete documentation.  
It is recommended that applicants who are interested in expediting licensure contact the Department 
periodically to monitor the status of their file with regard to the receipt of supporting documents. 

 
• Educational credentials earned in a country other than the United States (or Canada in some instances) 

must be evaluated by a credential evaluation service approved by the Department.  Documents in a 
language other than English must be translated by a certified translation service in accordance with 
instructions from this office.  Applicants to whom these provisions apply should request additional 
information from this office. 

 
• No personal checks are accepted.  Please remit the application fee, by CERTIFIED CHECK or MONEY 

ORDER ONLY, payable to "TREASURER, STATE OF CONNECTICUT", in United States dollars.  All fees 
are non-refundable and non-transferable.  The fee which accompanies an application covers the cost of 
reviewing and processing that specific application, IT CANNOT BE REFUNDED, EVEN IF THE 
APPLICANT IS FOUND INELIGIBLE FOR LICENSURE. 

 
• Any incomplete application which has remained inactive for one year will be destroyed in accordance with 

the agency’s record retention plan.  To reactivate the application process, a completely new application 
and fee will be required. 

 
• Licensure requirements are subject to change as a result of new legislation, new rules and regulations, or 

from new policies and procedures adopted by the Department of Public Health working, where appropriate, 
in cooperation with various Boards of Examiners.  Applicants must meet current licensure requirements. 

 
• Licensing examination questions are not included in the Freedom of Information Act as documents 

available for review.  Whenever possible, however, this division will provide whatever feedback possible 
with regard to examination performance. 

 
 

 
 

Phone: (860) 509-7603  
Telephone Device for the Deaf  (860) 509-7191 
         410 Capitol Avenue - MS # 12APP 
      P.O. Box  340308  Hartford, CT  06134 
            An  Equal  Opportunity  Employer 
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CONSCIOUS SEDATION PERMIT REQUIREMENTS AND PROCEDURES 
 

Pursuant to Section 20-123b, Chapter 379, Connecticut General Statutes, no licensed dentist may use general 
anesthesia or conscious sedation by intravenous injection on any patient unless such dentist has a permit.  
Two types of permits are available to applicants who can document fulfillment of requisite qualifications: Permit 
for the Administration of General Anesthesia and Conscious Sedation and Permit for the Administration of 
Parenteral Conscious Sedation.  This is a permit application for the Administration of Parenteral Conscious 
Sedation. 
 
ELIGIBILITY 
In order to obtain a permit for conscious sedation, an applicant must satisfy the following requirements: 
 

I.  EITHER A, B, C, D, E, F OR G, below. 
 
A) Graduate, within the two years prior to applying for the permit, from a dental school or post-doctorate 

dental residency program accredited by the ADA Commission on Dental Accreditation, which included: 
 

(1) a didactic course in conscious sedation in dentistry with a curriculum that fulfills the minimum 
requirements set out in the ADA Council on Dental Education, "Guidelines for Teaching the 
Comprehensive Control of Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry" AND WHICH ALSO INCLUDED 
EITHER 2 OR 3 BELOW; 

(2) at least four weeks active participation in full-time rotation in hospital operating room anesthesia; 
(3) ten documented clinical cases utilizing parenterally administered conscious sedation in the dental 

operatory. 
      OR 

B) complete an "Intensive Course" or a "Supplemental or Refresher Course" in a post-doctoral continuing 
education program, structured in accordance with Part Three of the ADA Council on Dental Education 
"Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of Pain and Anxiety;" 

OR 
C) document by patient anesthesia or sedation records the completion of a minimum of 12 parenterally 

administered  conscious sedation procedures per year performed in the office, for each of the 3 one-
year periods immediately preceding the date of application; and submit certification of completion of at 
least 24 hours of continuing education in one of the following areas within the 3 year period 
immediately preceding the issuance of the permit:  anesthesia, parenterally administered conscious 
sedation, or emergency medicine. 

OR 
D) completion of a full course in a post-doctorate training program in Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery, 

approved by the ADA Commission on Dental Accreditation;  
OR 

E) completion of a minimum of one-year full-time training in a post-doctoral program in Anesthesiology, 
structured in accordance with Part Two of the ADA Council on Dental Education "Guidelines for 
Teaching the Comprehensive Control of Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry"; 

OR 
F) hold current certification as a Diplomate of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and 

have graduated from dental school or a post-doctoral dental residency training program no later than 
1966; 

OR 
G) have been limiting practice to oral and maxillofacial surgery for a period of at least the ten years 

immediately preceding the date of application for a conscious sedation permit. 
 

II.  Applicant must hold current certification in Advanced Cardiac Life Support and Basic Cardiac Life Support; 
entire staff must hold current certification in Basic Cardiac Life Support. 
 

III.  Successfully complete an on-site evaluation.  The on-site evaluation includes: 
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A) Observation of the parental conscious sedation technique employed by the practitioner during a 

minimum of two operative cases, the total time for both cases not to exceed two hours; 
B) an exact simulation of the method of management of medical emergencies demonstrated by the 

practitioner with full participation of the office staff.  For a listing of some of the medical emergencies 
which may be included in the simulation, please refer to Department of Public Health Regulations, 
Section 20-123-6(b); 

C) review of the practitioner's office equipment, emergency drugs and anesthesia records to determine full 
compliance with the requirements established in Section 20-123b-9 of the Department of Public Health 
Regulations; 

D) an exit interview between the practitioner and evaluation team for the purpose of reviewing deficiencies 
and making positive suggestions for improvement of the office facility and patient emergency 
management; 

E) verification that the practitioner and his/her entire staff are currently certified in Basic or Advanced 
Cardiac Life Support.  It is recommended that the practitioner be certified in Advanced Cardiac Life 
Support.  Please enclose notarized copies of your and your staff member's certificates. 

 

DOCUMENTATION REQUIRED 
Individuals must arrange for submission of the following: 
 

1) A completed application form and fee of $200.00, payable by certified check or money order to 
"Treasurer, State of Connecticut". 

2) Supporting documents, verifying that all requirements have been met, must be submitted to this 
Department as outlined on the application. 

3) In addition to the documentation required as outlined by “1” above, reinstatement applicants must ensure 
that the following documents be forwarded directly to this office: 
a) A brief written summary of your credentials to have your conscious sedation permit reinstated.  Be sure 

to include information on your work experience as a licensed professional, including positions held, 
dates and major duties.  If you have had any lapses in your active practice as a dentist, please explain 
the reason for any such lapses.  If you are not currently working as a dentist, please explain your plans 
for employment and describe how you intend to bring your dental skills up-to-date. 

b) A letter directly from the appropriate authority confirming your most recent employment; including dates 
and evaluation of performance. 

 

4) Once the initial review of the application is conducted and it has been determined that the preliminary 
requirements have been met, an on-site evaluation will be conducted.  Further information about the on-
site evaluation will be forwarded to applicants who qualify for this procedure. 

 

All supporting documents must be submitted to: 
 

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
DENTAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION PERMIT 

410 CAPITOL AVE., MS# 12APP 
P.O. BOX 340308 

HARTFORD, CT  06134-0308 
(860) 509-7603  

www.ct.gov/dph 
 

Privacy Act:  The Privacy Act of 1974 requires any federal, state or local government agency that requires 
individuals to disclose their social security numbers to inform those individuals whether the disclosure is 
mandatory or voluntary, by what statutory or other authority the number is requested and how it will be used.  
The following information is provided to comply with these requirements. 
 

Disclosure of the social security number is mandatory, pursuant to Public Law 104-193 and Sections 29-252a 
(b) and 4a-18, Connecticut General Statutes.  The social security number is used in the administration and 
collection of taxes and is also used for child support collection. 
 

Please note that the Department will ONLY disclose social security numbers to government entities.  Your 
social security number will NOT be released to the general public. 
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                                                       STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
                                               DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
 
 
   

                           APPLICATION FOR DENTAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION PERMIT 
 

First Name:  __________________ MI: ____ Last Name:  ___________________ Maiden Name:  ___________ 
 

 
Social Security No.: _______-_______-________   E-mail: ________________________________________ 
 

Name and Mailing Address:  This will be how your name and address will appear on your official license, your 
address of record for all mailings from this office and releasable pursuant to Freedom of Information requests. 
 

 Name on License: _____________________________________________ 
 

 Address:  _____________________________________________ 
 

_____________________________________________ 
 

 City, State, Zip: _____________________________________________ 
 

 
Phone Number: (____) _________________   Date of Birth: ______/______/_______  Gender: _________ 

 

 
Connecticut dental license number: ________________ 
 
 

I am applying for this permit based on:  Check the appropriate category below (i.e., A through G) and 
follow the applicable instructions. 
 

A.     Graduation from a dental school or post-doctoral dental residency program accredited by the 
ADA Commission on Dental Accreditation within the last two years, satisfying the 
requirements of Section 20-123B-4 (a) of the Regulations for State Agencies.  If checked, 
forward the enclosed Dental School Verification Form or Residency Curriculum Report 
Form to the institution for completion. 

 

Name of dental school: _______________________________________________________ 
 

Name of post-doctoral residency program: ________________________________________ 
 

Location:  __________________________________________________________________ 
 

Dates of attendance: from: _______________________  to: _________________________ 
 

B.   Completion of an “Intensive Course” or “Supplemental or Refresher Course” in a post-doctoral 
continuing education program, structured in accordance with part three of the ADA Council on 
Dental Education “Guidelines for Teaching The Comprehensive Control of Pain & Anxiety.”  If 
checked, forward the enclosed Intensive, Supplemental, or Refresher Course Verification 
Form to the program for completion. 

 

C. 
(1)   Completion of at least twelve parenterally administered conscious sedation procedures per 

year for each of the last three years.  If checked, please attach List of Procedures 
Performed on enclosed forms, to verify that this requirement has been met, and 

 

(2)   Completion of at least 24 hours of continuing education in the last three years in one of the 
following areas: anesthesia; parenterally administered conscious sedation, or emergency 
medicine.  If checked, list courses completed, attaching additional sheets of course list if 
necessary, and submit notarized certificates of completion. 

 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
PERMIT NO.:  ___________ 
DATE ISSUED: __________ 
INITIAL       REINST  
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Course Title:  ______________________________________________________________ 
 

Offered By:  _______________________________________________________________ 
 

Location:  _________________________________________________________________ 
 

Date(s) ________________________________  hours completed: ____________________ 
 

Course Title:  ______________________________________________________________ 
 

Offered By:  _______________________________________________________________ 
 

Location:  _________________________________________________________________ 
 

Date(s) _________________________________  hours completed: ___________________ 
 
Course Title:  ______________________________________________________________ 
 

Offered By:  _______________________________________________________________ 
 

Location:  _________________________________________________________________ 
 

Date(s) _____________________________  hours completed: _______________________ 
 

D.    Completion of a post-doctoral training program in Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery approved by the ADA 
Commission on Dental Accreditation.  If checked, forward the enclosed Postdoctoral Training 
Verification Form to your institution for completion. 

 
Name of Program: ___________________________________________________________ 
 
Address:  __________________________________________________________________ 
    NO. & STREET    CITY   STATE     ZIP CODE 
 
Dates of attendance. From:   _____________________  to: __________________________ 

 
E.   Completion of one year of full-time training in a post-doctoral program in Anesthesiology.  If checked, 

forward the enclosed Postdoctoral Training Verification Form to your institution for completion. 
 

Name of Program: ___________________________________________________________ 
 
Address:  __________________________________________________________________ 
    NO. & STREET    CITY   STATE     ZIP CODE 
 
Dates of attendance. From:  _________________________  to: _______________________ 

 
F.   Current status as a Diplomate of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery and graduation 

from dental school or completion of a post-graduate training program no later than 1966.  If checked, 
forward notarized copies of your current certificate and dental school diploma to this Department. 

 
G.   Limitation of practice to Oral and Maxillofacial surgery for at least the immediately preceding ten years.  

If checked, forward a notarized letter, on professional letterhead, to this office including the inclusive 
dates of such limitation of practice. 

 
Are you currently certified in the following: 
Certificate Type 
 

YES NO Expiration Date 

Advanced Cardiac Life Support    
 
Complete the attached list, indicating all staff members' names and their current Basic or Advanced Cardiac 
Life Support status.  Please enclose notarized copies of your and your staff member's certificates. 
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PROFESSIONAL HISTORY:  Answer 1-7 by checking YES or NO.  If you answer Yes, follow directions below. 
  
                              YES NO 
1.   Have you ever been censured, disciplined, dismissed or expelled from, had admissions monitored or 

restricted, had privileges limited, suspended or terminated, been put on probation, or been requested to 
resign or withdraw from any of the following:      

 
-Any hospital, nursing home, clinic, or similar institution;  
-Any health maintenance organization, professional partnership, corporation, or similar health 
  practice organization, either private or public; 
-Any professional school, clinical clerkship, internship, externship, preceptorship or postgraduate 
  training program; 
-Any third party reimbursement program, whether governmental or private? 

 
2.   Have you ever had your membership in or certification by any professional society or association 

suspended or revoked for reasons related to professional practice?       
 
3.   Has any professional licensing or disciplinary body in any state, the District of Columbia, a   United 

States possession or territory, or a foreign jurisdiction, limited, restricted, suspended or revoked any 
professional license, certificate, or registration granted to you, or imposed a fine or reprimand, or taken any 
other disciplinary action against you?       

 
4.   Have you ever, in anticipation or during the pendency of an investigation or other disciplinary proceeding, 

voluntarily surrendered any professional license, certificate or registration issued to you by any state, the 
District of Columbia, a United States possession or territory, or a foreign jurisdiction?              
       

 
5.   Have you ever been subject to, or do you currently have pending, any complaint, investigation, charge, or 

disciplinary action by any professional licensing or disciplinary body in any state, the District of Columbia, a 
United States possession or territory, or a foreign jurisdiction or any disciplinary board/committee of any 
branch of the armed services?  You need not report any complaints dismissed as without merit.       

 
6.   Have you ever been denied or surrendered a state or federal controlled substance registration, had it 

revoked or restricted in any way, or been warned, reprimanded, or fined by the responsible agency?  
      

If your answer is "yes" to any of the above questions (1-6), please give full details, names, addresses, 
etc. on a separate NOTARIZED statement. 
 
7.   Have you ever entered into, or do you currently have pending, a consent agreement of any kind, whether 

oral or written, with any professional licensing or disciplinary body in any state, the District of Columbia, a 
United States possession or territory, any branch of the armed services or a foreign jurisdiction?        

If "yes", give full details, names, addresses, etc. on a separate, NOTARIZED statement.  Also submit a 
NOTARIZED copy of the agreement. 
 
8.   Have you ever been found guilty or convicted as a result of an act which constitutes a felony under the 

laws of this state, federal law or the laws of another jurisdiction and which, if committed within this state, 
would have constituted a felony under the laws of this state?      

If "yes", give full details, dates, etc. on a separate NOTARIZED statement and furnish a Certified Court 
Copy (with court seal affixed) of the original complaint, the answer, the judgment, the settlement, 
and/or the disposition. 
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PHOTOGRAPH:     NOTARIZATION: 
 

 
 On this _____ day of _____________________ 20 ____, 
  

__________________________________ (applicant's 
name)  personally appeared before me, who being duly 
sworn says that she/he is the person referred to in the 
foregoing application and that the photograph attached 
hereto is a true picture of self and that the statements 
made herein are true in every respect. 

 
 
 _______________________________________ 
  SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT 
 

 
 
Sworn to before me this _________ day of ________________________________ 20 ___. 
 
 
 
________________________________________    My commission expires __________________________ 
 SIGNATURE OF NOTARY PUBLIC     
 
PLEASE RETURN THIS APPLICATION AND THE FEE FOR $200.00 (CERTIFIED CHECK OR MONEY 
ORDER) MADE PAYABLE TO, “TREASURER, STATE OF CONNECTICUT” TO: 
 

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH  
DENTAL CS PERMIT  

410 CAPITOL AVE., MS# 12MQA  
P.O. BOX 340308  

HARTFORD, CT  06134-0308  
(860) 509-7603  
www.ct.gov/dph 

 
 
 

IMPORTANT:  The application packet for this profession consist of 24 pages, including instructions and 
eligibility requirements.  Do not send this form and fee unless you have read and understood all pertinent 
information.  No fees are refundable should you not be eligible for licensure. 

 
 

 
 
 

Tape a recent 
photograph of 

applicant 
here. 

 
DO NOT STAPLE 
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                                                       STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
                                           DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
 
 
 

                        STAFF MEMBERS ACLS/BCLS VERIFICATION FORM 
 
STAFF MEMBER              BCLS CERTIFICATION   EXPIRATION DATE 
       
 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Please enclose notarized copies of your and your staff member's certificates. 
 

Please return to: 
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 

DENTAL CONSCIOUS SEDATION PERMIT 
410 CAPITOL AVE., MS# 12APP 

P.O. BOX 340308 
HARTFORD, CT  06134-0308 

(860) 509-7603  
www.ct.gov/dph 

 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
PERMIT NO.:  ___________ 
DATE ISSUED: __________ 
INITIAL       REINST  
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                                                        STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
                                               DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
 

                               DENTAL SCHOOL VERIFICATION FORM 
 

TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT 
 
Applicant: Enter your full name and birthdate on this form and forward it to the Program Director for completion.  
This form must be completed by the Director and returned directly to this office. 
 
Applicant's Name __________________________________  Date of Birth ____________________________ 
 

TO BE COMPLETED BY PROGRAM DIRECTOR ONLY 
 
DEAR DIRECTOR: Please provide the following verification of education for the above-named Connecticut 
dentist. 
 
Name and location of institution where dental education was completed: ______________________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Dates of Education: from _______________________________ to __________________________________ 
 
Degree _________________________________  Date Degree Awarded _____________________________ 
 
Did this individual complete, as part of his/her dental degree program, a minimum of four weeks active 
participation in full-time rotation in hospital operating room anesthesia?  YES   NO . 
 
Did this individual complete, as part of his/her dental degree program, the administration of conscious sedation 
in at least ten clinical cases in the dental operatory?  YES   NO . 
 
Did this individual complete, as part of his/her dental degree program, a didactic course in conscious sedation 
in dentistry with a curriculum that fulfills the minimum requirements set forth in the ADA Council on Dental 
Education, "Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry"?  YES  
NO  
 
I, ____________________________________________, do certify that I am the program director at  
 
___________________________________________________________, and that the information provided 
herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. 
 
_______________________________________  Date:  __________________________ 
Signature of Program Director 
 
Daytime telephone number:  _________________________________________  SEAL 
 
Please return to: 
 
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH • DENTAL CS PERMIT • 410 CAPITOL AVE., MS# 12APP • P.O. BOX 

340308 • HARTFORD, CT 06134-0308 • (860) 509-7603  • www.ct.gov/dph 
 

 
 
 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
PERMIT NO.:  ___________ 
DATE ISSUED: __________ 
INITIAL       REINST  

  



 

dentalcspermit       page 12 of 30      1/2010 

                                                      STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
                                          DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
 
 

                              RESIDENCY CURRICULUM REPORT FORM 
 

TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT 
 
Applicant:  Enter your full name and birthdate on this form and forward it to the Program Director for 
completion.  This form must be completed by the Director and returned directly to this office. 
 
Applicant's Name ___________________________________  Date of Birth __________________ 
 

TO BE COMPLETED BY PROGRAM DIRECTOR ONLY 
 
DEAR DIRECTOR: Please provide the following verification of post-doctoral dental residency training 
for the above-named Connecticut dentist. 
 
Name and location of facility/institution where residency training was completed: 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Dates of Training: from ____________________________  to  ______________________________ 
 
In what specialty was residency training completed?  ______________________________________ 
 
Did the residency program include a minimum of four weeks active participation in full-time rotation in 
hospital operating room anesthesia?  YES   NO  
 
Did the residency program include the administration of conscious sedation in at least ten clinical 
cases in the dental operatory?  YES   NO  
 
Did the residency program include a didactic course in conscious sedation in dentistry with a 
curriculum that fulfills the minimum requirements set forth in the ADA Council on Dental Education, 
"Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry"? YES  NO  
 
Did the applicant satisfactorily complete this period of residency training?  YES   NO  
 
I, ____________________________________________, do certify that I am the program director at  
 
_______________________________________________, and that the information provided herein 
is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. 
 
_______________________________________    Date: ______________________ 
Signature of Program Administrator 
 

_________________________   SEAL 
Day time telephone number 
 
Please return to: 

 
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH • DENTAL CS PERMIT • 410 CAPITOL AVE., MS# 12APP • P.O. BOX 

340308 • HARTFORD, CT 06134-0308 • (860) 509-7603  • www.ct.gov/dph 
  

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
PERMIT NO.:  ___________ 
DATE ISSUED: __________ 
INITIAL       REINST  
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                                                               STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
                                                   DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
 
 

CONSCIOUS SEDATION INTENSIVE, SUPPLEMENTAL OR REFRESHER COURSE 
VERIFICATION FORM 

 
TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT 

 
Applicant: Enter your full name and birthdate on this form and forward it to the Program Administrator 
for completion.  THIS FORM MUST BE COMPLETED AND RETURNED BY THE PROGRAM 
ADMINISTRATOR DIRECTLY TO THIS OFFICE. 
 
Applicant's Name ___________________________________  Date of Birth ___________________ 
 

TO BE COMPLETED BY PROGRAM ADMINISTRATOR ONLY 
 
DEAR ADMINISTRATOR: Please provide the following verification of completion of an "Intensive 
Course" or "Supplemental or Refresher Course" in Conscious Sedation for the above-named 
Connecticut dentist. 
 
Name and location of facility/institution where residency training was completed: ________________ 
 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Dates of course: from __________________________  to  _________________________________ 
 
At the time of the applicant's attendance, was the course in conscious sedation structured in 
accordance with Part Three of the ADA Council on Dental Education "Guidelines for Teaching the 
Comprehensive Control of Pain and Anxiety"?  YES   NO . 
 
Did the applicant satisfactorily complete the course?  YES   NO . 
 
I, _____________________________________________, do certify that I am the Program  
 
Administrator at _______________________________________________, and that the information 
provided herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. 
 
_________________________________________    Date: ______________________ 
Signature of Program Administrator 
 
_________________________   SEAL 
Day time telephone number 
 
Please return to: 
 
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH • DENTAL CS PERMIT • 410 CAPITOL AVE., MS# 12APP • P.O. BOX 

340308 • HARTFORD, CT 06134-0308 • (860) 509-7603  • www.ct.gov/dph 
  

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
PERMIT NO.:  ___________ 
DATE ISSUED: __________ 
INITIAL       REINST    
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                                                      STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
                                              DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
 
 
 

List of parenterally administered conscious sedation procedures performed in office. 
Year 20 _____  - 20 _____   

Name of Patient    Date of Procedure    Type of Procedure 
 

1. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
2. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
3. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
4. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
5. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
6. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
7. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
8. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
9. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
10. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
11. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
12. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Year 20 _____  - 20 _____   
Name of Patient    Date of Procedure    Type of Procedure 
 

1. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
2. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
3. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
4. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
5. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
6. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
7. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
8. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
9. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
10. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
11.  ____________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
12. _____________________________________________________________________________________ 

(OVER) 
 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
PERMIT NO.:  _____________ 
DATE ISSUED: ____________ 
INITIAL       REINST   
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Year 20 _____  - 20 _____   
Name of Patient    Date of Procedure    Type of Procedure 
 
1. _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
2. _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
3. _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
4. _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
5. _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
6. _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
7. _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
8. _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
9. _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
10. _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
11. _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
12. _____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
 
_____________________________________    __________________________ 
Signature of Applicant            Date 
 
PLEASE NOTE: The applicant must list 12 procedures performed during each of the three one year 

periods immediately preceding the date of application.  Patient records documenting 
the procedures indicated on this list must be available for review by the evaluation 
team at the time of the on-site evaluation. 

 
Please return to: 
 
 

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH • DENTAL CS PERMIT • 410 CAPITOL AVE., MS# 12APP • 
P.O. BOX 340308 • HARTFORD, CT 06134-0308 • (860) 509-7603  • www.ct.gov/dph 
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                                                           STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
                                              DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
 
 

 
POST-DOCTORAL TRAINING VERIFICATION FORM 

 

TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT 
 

Applicant:  Enter your full name and birthdate on this form and forward it to the Program 
Administrator for completion. THIS FORM MUST BE COMPLETED BY THE PROGRAM ADMINISTRATOR 
AND RETURNED DIRECTLY TO THIS OFFICE. 
 
Applicant's Name _________________________________      Date of Birth  __________________ 
 

TO BE COMPLETED BY PROGRAM ADMINISTRATOR ONLY 
 
DEAR ADMINISTRATOR PLEASE PROVIDE THE FOLLOWING VERIFICATION OF POST-
DOCTORAL TRAINING FOR THE ABOVE-NAMED CONNECTICUT DENTIST. 
 
Name and location of facility/institution where post-doctoral training was completed:  _____________ 
________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Dates of Training: From ______________________________  To ___________________________ 
 
In what specialty was residency training completed?  ______________________________________ 
 
At the time of the applicant's training, was the training program approved by the ADA Commission on 
Dental Accreditation?  YES   NO . 
 
If in anesthesiology, was the program structured in accordance with Part Two of the ADA Council on 
Dental Education "Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of Pain and Anxiety in 
Dentistry?  YES   NO . 
 
Did the applicant satisfactorily complete this period of post-doctoral training?  YES   NO . 
 
I, _____________________________________________, do certify that I am the Program  
 
Administrator at _____________________________________________, and that the information 
provided herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. 
 
_________________________________________    Date: ______________________ 
Signature of Program Administrator 
 
_________________________   SEAL 
Day time telephone number 
 
Please return to: 
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH • DENTAL CS PERMIT • 410 CAPITOL AVE., MS# 12APP • P.O. BOX 

340308 • HARTFORD, CT 06134-0308 • (860) 509-7603  • www.ct.gov/dph 
 
 

FOR OFFICE USE ONLY 
PERMIT NO.:  _____________ 
DATE ISSUED: ____________ 
INITIAL       REINST  
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                                                        STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
                                              DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
 

DENTAL GENERAL ANESTHESIA/CONSCIOUS SEDATION EVALUATION FORM 
 

Permit:  General Anesthesia/Sedation    Conscious Sedation     Date of Site Evaluation __________ 
 

Name of Applicant:  _____________________________________________________________________________ 
     Last    First     Middle  Maiden 
 
Office Address:  _________________________________________________________________________________ 
         No. & Street              City      State                Zip Code 
 

Day time telephone number: _______________ Connecticut dental license number: _____________ 
 

Examiners  (Please Print Name) 
 

1 _________________________________________  Day Time Telephone _____________________ 
 
2 _________________________________________  Day Time Telephone _____________________ 

 
 

OFFICE EQUIPMENT 
 

Except as specifically noted, all practitioners issued a permit shall demonstrate and maintain the following 
equipment.  PLEASE CHECK IF EQUIPMENT PASSES INSPECTION AND LEAVE BLANK IF NOT. 
 

 Portable gas delivery system capable of positive pressure ventilation; 
 

 Equipment capable of administering 100% oxygen in all rooms (operatory, recovery, 
examination, and reception); 

 
 Portable bag-mask ventilator (ambu-bag); 

 
 Full face mask: 

 
 adult; and 
 pediatric; 

 
 Nasal hood or cannula; 

 
 Oral airways (oropharyngeal airways): 

 
 adult; and 
 pediatric; 

 
 Nasopharyngeal airways: 

 
 adult; and 
 pediatric; 
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 Endotracheal tubes with appropriate connectors and syringe for inflation, as follows: (not 
required for conscious sedation permit) 

 
 adult endotracheal tubes; 
 child endotracheal tubes; 
 connectors; 
 syringe; and 
 stylet (pediatric and adult); 

 
 Laryngoscope (straight or curved blade), as follows: (not required for conscious sedation 

permit) 
 

 adult blade; 
 pediatric blade; 
 extra batteries; and 
 extra bulb (or blade if fiberoptic blade); 

 
 Combi tube (not required for general anesthesia permit); 

 
 Portable suctioning equipment capable of use during electrical power failure; 

 
 Equipment capable of suctioning the throat in all rooms; 

 
 Nasopharyngeal suction catheter, for pulmonary lavage via endotracheal tube (not required 

for conscious sedation permit); 
 

 Yankauer or similar suction; 
 

 McGill forceps; 
 

 Tongue grasping forceps; 
 

 Equipment for emergency crico-thyrotomy or tracheotomy and the appropriate connectors for 
administering 100% oxygen; 

 
 Blood pressure cuffs: 

 
 adult; and 
 pediatric; 

 
 ECG; 

 
 Defibrillator; 

 
 Board or rigid surface for cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR); 

 
 Light source capable of use during electrical power failure; 
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 Intravenous solutions and equipment for administration: 

 
 250 cc bags & 1000 cc bags of sterile saline; 
 Sterile water for mixing or dilution of drugs; 

 
 Appropriate intravenous needles, tubing and drips. 

 
 

EQUIPMENT AND PERSONNEL FOR MONITORING DURING ADMINISTRATION OF DEEP 
SEDATION OR GENERAL ANESTHESIA 

 
 means of monitoring heart rate: 

 
 ECG; or 
 pulsemeter; or 
 pretracheal or precordial stethoscope; or 
 direct palpation of pulse; 

 
 means of following respirations and level of oxygenation: 

 
 pretracheal or precordial stethoscope, or capnography; and 
 pulse oximeter; 

 
 means of monitoring blood pressure for child and adult. 
 

EQUIPMENT AND PERSONNEL FOR CONTINUOUS MONITORING DURING THE 
ADMINISTRATION OF CONSCIOUS SEDATION: 

 
 means of monitoring heart rate: 

 
 ECG; or 
 pulsemeter; or 
 pretracheal or precordial stethoscope; or 
 direct palpation of pulse; 

 
 means of following respirations and level of oxygenation: 

 
 pretracheal or precordial stethoscope, capnography or direct observation of 

chest; and 
 pulse oximeter; 

 
 means of monitoring blood pressure for child and adult. 
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EMERGENCY DRUGS 

 
 Anticonvulsant drugs: 

 
 midazolam; or 
 diazepam; 

 
 Antiemetic: 

 
 droperidol; or 
 odansetron; or 
 prochlorperazine; or 
 promethazine; or 
 metoclopramide; 

 
 Beta agonist: albuterol inhaler; 

 
 Cardiovascular medications: 

 
 Antiarrhythmics: 

 
 lidocaine or amiodarone; and 
 procainamide; and 
 diltiazem; 

 
 Atropine (either 0.4 mg/ml or 1.0 mg/ml); 

 
 Aspirin 160 or 325 mg dose; 

 
 Beta blocker: 

 
 esmolol; or 
 propranolol; or 
 atenolol; or 
 metoprolol; 

 
 Epinephrine 1 mg: 

 
 1:1,000 solution; and 
 1:10,000 solution; 

 
 Diuretic: furosemide 10mg/ml; 

 
 Nitroglycerin (tablet or spray); 
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 Vasodilators: 

 
 labetalol; and 
 hydrazaline or diazoxide; 

 
 Vasopressors: 

 
 ephedrine; and 
 phenylephrine; 

 
 Corticosteroids: 

 
 dexamethasone; or 
 hydrocortisone sodium succinate; or 
 methylprednisolone sodium succinate; 

 
 Dantrolene (must be in facility for offices in which agents causing malignant 

hypothermia are used); 
 

 Dextrose 50%; 
 

 Diphenhydramine; 
 

 Reversal agents: 
 

 naloxone; and 
 flumazenil; 

 
 Opioid: morphine; 

 
 Procaine 10 mg/ml; 

 
 Succinylcholine. 

 
RECORDS 

 
All practitioners who are being evaluated shall maintain anesthesia or conscious sedation records 
which include the date of procedure, nothing by mouth (NPO) status, availability of responsible adult 
escort, allergies, vital signs, drugs, and doses administered.  
 

  DATE   NPO    ESCORT    V/S   ALLERGIES   DRUGS    DOSES 
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CASE OBSERVATIONS 
 

CASE #1 
 

General Anesthesia or Deep Sedation      Conscious Sedation   
 

  Anesthetics:   _______________________________________________________ 
 

  Procedure:   _______________________________________________________ 
 

  Time:    _______________________________________________________ 
 

Pass    Fail   
 

  Basis for failure, if applicable: _______________________________________________________ 
 

  ________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

  Other remarks:  __________________________________________________________________ 
 

  ________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

CASE #2 
 

General Anesthesia or Deep Sedation      Conscious Sedation   
 

  Anesthetics:   _______________________________________________________ 
 

  Procedure:   _______________________________________________________ 
 

  Time:    _______________________________________________________ 
 

Pass    Fail   
 

  Basis for failure, if applicable: _______________________________________________________ 
 

  ________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

  Other remarks:  __________________________________________________________________ 
 

  ________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 

MEDICAL EMERGENCIES 
 
 
   PASS   FAIL      PASS   FAIL 
 
Laryngospasm           Acute M.I.            
Broncospasm           Acute Hypotension            
Emesis            Hypertensive Crisis                      
Aspiration               Convulsions                       
FB in Airway           CPR             
Angina            Allergic             
Syncope            Hyperventilation           
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EXIT INTERVIEW 

 
 
Name of Applicant: _________________________________Date of Site Evaluation: _____________ 
 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Practitioner:   BCLS   ACLS  
 

Staff:    BCLS   ACLS  
 
 
OUTCOME OF EVALUATION         PASS  FAIL  
 
 

EXAMINERS                 INITIALS 
 
1. __________________________________________License number _________________    _________ 
 
2. __________________________________________License number_________________    _________ 
 
PLEASE RETURN THIS EVALUATION FORM TO: 
 

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
DENTAL LICENSURE 

410 CAPITOL AVE., MS# 12 APP 
P.O. BOX 340308 

HARTFORD, CT  06134-0308 
www.ct.gov/dph 
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Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies 

Administration and Use of Anesthesia and Conscious Sedation in Dentistry 
 
 
Sec. 20-123b-1. Definitions 
 
(a) "OMFS" means an Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeon who has completed a full course in a post-

doctoral training program in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery approved by the American Dental 
Association Commission on Dental Accreditation. 

(b) "ADA" means American Dental Association.  
(c) "CSOMS" means Connecticut Society of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons.  
(d) "BCLS" means a course in Basic Cardiac Life Support approved by the American Red Cross or 

the American Heart Association.  
(e) "ACLS" means a course in Advanced Cardiac Life Support approved by the American Red 

Cross or the American Heart Association.  
(f) "Commissioner" means Commissioner of Public Health or his designee.  
(g) "On-Site Evaluation Team" means those individuals designated by the Commissioner to 

determine compliance with Section 20-123b-6 of the Regulations of Connecticut State 
Agencies.  

(h) "Practitioner" means a person licensed to practice dentistry pursuant to Chapter 379 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes who is applying for a permit or being evaluated pursuant to 
Sections 20-123b-1 through 20-123b-9, inclusive, of the Regulations of Connecticut State 
Agencies.  

(i) "Anesthesia Assistant" means a chairside assistant or a dentist licensed pursuant to Chapter 
379 of the Connecticut General Statutes whose sole responsibility is to monitor the patient 
undergoing general anesthesia.  

(j) "Calendar Quarter" means a period of three consecutive months beginning on January 1, April 
1, July 1, or October 1. 

(k) “Department” means the Connecticut Department of Public Health.  
 
Sec. 20-123b-2. Permit application procedures  
 
(a) A practitioner may apply to the Commissioner for one of the following:  

 
(1)  Permit for the Administration of General Anesthesia and Conscious Sedation; or  
(2)  Permit for the Administration of Parenteral Conscious Sedation.  

 
(b) An applicant shall, at the time of application, submit such documentation of credentials as the 
Commissioner may require. The application and related documents shall be reviewed by the 
Commissioner or his designee. The Commissioner or his designee may, as necessary, consult 
with the  Dental Commission concerning documentation of applicant credentials.  

 
Sec. 20-123b-3. Qualifications for general anesthesia and conscious sedation permit  
 
An applicant for a General Anesthesia and Conscious Sedation permit shall:  
 
(a) Successfully complete one of the following:  
 
(1) a full course in a post-doctoral training program in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, approved by the 

ADA Commission on Dental Accreditation, or  
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(2) a minimum of one-year full-time training in post-doctoral program in Anesthesiology, 
structured in accordance with Part Two of the ADA Council on Dental Education 
"Guidelines for Teaching the Comprehensive Control of Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry," 
or  

(3) Certification as a diplomate of the American board of oral and maxillofacial surgery, 
provided the individual holding such certification graduated from dental school or a post-
doctoral dental residency training program no later than 1966, or  

(4) Designation of practice as limited to oral and maxillofacial surgery, in accordance with 
Section 20-106a of the Connecticut General Statutes, for a period of at least ten years 
prior to application for a general anesthesia and conscious sedation permit; and  

 
(b) Demonstrate current certification in ACLS; and  
 
(c) Successfully complete an on-site evaluation pursuant to Section 20-123b-6 of the 

Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies.  
 
Sec. 20-123b-4. Qualifications for conscious sedation permit.  An applicant for a Conscious 
Sedation permit shall: 
  
(a) Comply with one of the following:  

(1) document by patient anesthesia or sedation records the completion of a minimum of 
twelve parenterally administered conscious sedation procedures per year performed in 
the office, for each of the three one-year periods immediately preceding the date of 
application; and submit certification of completion of a minimum of twenty-four hours of 
continuing education in one of the following areas within the three year period 
immediately preceding the issuance of the permit; anesthesia, parenterally administered 
conscious sedation, or emergency medicine; or  

(2) graduate from a dental school or post-doctoral dental residency program accredited by 
the ADA Commission on Dental Accreditation within two years prior to applying for the 
permit, which included either a minimum of four weeks active participation in full-time 
rotation in hospital operating room anesthesia, or ten documented clinical cases utilizing 
parenterally administered conscious sedation in the dental operatory; and which 
included a didactic course in conscious sedation in dentistry with a curriculum that fulfills 
the minimum requirements set forth in the ADA Council on Dental Education, 
"Guidelines or Teaching the Comprehensive Control of Pain and Anxiety in Dentistry"; 
or  

(3) complete an "Intensive Course" or a "Supplemental (or Refresher) Course" (as applies) 
in a post-doctoral continuing education program, structured in accordance with Part 
Three of the ADA Council on Dental Education "Guidelines for Teaching the 
Comprehensive Control of Pain and Anxiety"; or  

(5) satisfy the requirements of subsection (a) of Section 20-123b-3 of these regulations; 
and  

(b) demonstrate current certification in  ACLS; and  
(c) successfully complete an on-site evaluation pursuant to Section 20-123b-6 of the Regulations 

of Connecticut State Agencies.  
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Sec. 20-123b-5. The evaluation team.  The on-site evaluation team shall include, but not be 
limited to, the following: 
  
(a) Two members recommended to the Commissioner by the Chairperson of the Anesthesia 

Committee of the CSOMS who have fulfilled the requirements of the CSOMS to be an office 
anesthesia evaluator; or  

(b) one member who has fulfilled the requirements of the CSOMS to be an office anesthesia 
evaluator, and one member who is a fellow of the American Dental Society of Anesthesiology, 
both of whom shall be recommended to the Commissioner by the Chairperson of the 
Anesthesia Committee of the CSOMS.  

 
Sec. 20-123b-6. Site evaluation 
 
(a) In the case of a practitioner applying for the initial issuance of a permit, or the reinstatement of 

a lapsed permit, the on-site evaluation team shall observe the general anesthesia or parenteral 
conscious sedation technique (as appropriate) employed by the practitioner during a minimum 
of two operative cases, with the total time for both cases not to exceed two hours. During the 
on-site evaluation, an exact simulation of the method of management of medical emergencies 
shall be demonstrated by the practitioner with full participation of the office staff, and may 
include, but not be limited to, the management of: laryngospasm, bronchospasm, emesis, 
aspiration of vomitus, foreign body in airway, angina pectoris, acute myocardial infarction, 
acute hypotensive and hypertensive crises, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, acute allergic 
reactions, hyperventilation syndrome, syncope, and convulsions of unknown etiology.  

(b) The on-site evaluation team shall review the practitioner's office equipment, emergency drugs 
and anesthesia records to determine full compliance with the requirements established in 
Section 20-123b-9 of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies.  

(c) An exit interview between the practitioner and the evaluation team shall be conducted to 
review deficiencies and make positive suggestions for improving the office facility and patient 
emergency management. 

(d) The on-site evaluation team shall verify that the practitioner is currently certified in BCLS and 
ACLS and that the practitioner’s entire staff is currently certified in BCLS. 

 
Sec. 20-123b-7. Failure to successfully complete the site evaluation 
 
(a) A practitioner who, in the opinion of the on-site evaluation team, fails to satisfactorily complete 

the requirement of subsection (a) of Section 20-123b-6 of the Regulations of Connecticut State 
Agencies shall be denied a permit and may reapply to be re-evaluated only after documenting 
the completion of a Continuing Education Course in ambulatory general anesthesia or 
parenteral conscious sedation (as appropriate) approved by the Commissioner in consultation 
with the on-site evaluation team.  

(b) A practitioner who, in the opinion of the on-site evaluation team, fails to satisfactorily complete 
the requirements of subsection (b) of Section 20-123b-6 of the Regulations of Connecticut 
State Agencies shall be denied a permit and may reapply to be re-evaluated only after 
documenting the completion of a Continuing Education Course in the management of medical 
emergencies in the dental office approved by the Commissioner in consultation with the on-site 
evaluation team.  

(c) A practitioner who, in the opinion of the on-site evaluation team, fails to satisfactorily complete 
the requirements of subsection (c) of Section 20-123b-6 of the Regulations of Connecticut 
State Agencies shall be denied a permit and may reapply to be re-evaluated. 

(e) If any member of the on-site evaluation team has reason to believe that the practitioner being 
evaluated is unfit or incompetent or has been guilty of cruelty, incompetence, negligence or 
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indecent conduct towards a patient, such member shall file a petition with the Department of 
Public Health pursuant to Section 19a-14 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  

 
Sec.  20-123b-8. Frequency of inspection  
 
(a) Following initial issuance of the permit, the on-site evaluation specified in Section 20-123b-6 of 

the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies shall be completed for each practitioner issued 
a permit pursuant to Sections 20-123b-1 through 20-123b-9 of the Regulations of Connecticut 
State Agencies in accordance with the following schedule:  

 
(1) For each practitioner first issued a permit on or before December 31, 1989, the on-site evaluation 

shall be completed not later than December 31, 1995.  Thereafter, the on-site evaluation shall be 
completed for each such practitioner not later than five years from the last day of the calendar 
quarter in which last evaluated.  

 
(2) For each practitioner first issued a permit on or after January 1, 1990, the on-site 

evaluation shall be completed not later than five years from the last day of the calendar 
quarter in which last evaluated.  

 
(b) A practitioner may request to schedule the on-site evaluation at a time earlier than specified in 
subsection (a) of this Section.  However, in no event shall such alternative scheduling result in an 
interval longer than five years to the next on-site evaluation.  

 
Sec.  20-123b-9.  Office equipment, emergency drugs, and anesthesia records 
 
(a) Except as specifically noted, all practitioners who are being evaluated pursuant to Sections 20-

123b-1 through 20-123b-9, inclusive, of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, or who 
have been issued a permit pursuant to Section 20-123b of the Connecticut General Statutes, 
shall demonstrate and maintain the following office equipment in any and all offices where they 
administer general anesthesia or conscious sedation:  
(1) Portable gas delivery system capable of positive pressure ventilation; 
(2) Equipment capable of administering 100% oxygen in all rooms (operatory, recovery, 

examination, and reception); 
(3) Portable bag-mask ventilator (ambu-bag); 
(4) Full face mask: 

(A) adult; and 
(B) pediatric; 

(5) Nasal hood or cannula; 
(6) Oral airways (oropharyngeal airways): 

(A) adult; and 
(B) pediatric; 

(7) Nasopharyngeal airways: 
(A) adult; and 
(B) pediatric; 

(8) Endotracheal tubes with appropriate connectors and syringe for inflation, as follows: 
(not required for conscious sedation permit) 
(A) adult endotracheal tubes; 
(B) child endotracheal tubes; 
(C) connectors; 
(D) syringe; and 
(E) stylet (pediatric and adult); 
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(9) Laryngoscope (straight or curved blade), as follows: (not required for conscious 
sedation permit) 
(A) adult blade; 
(B) pediatric blade; 
(C) extra batteries; and 
(D) extra bulb (or blade if fiberoptic blade); 

(10) Combi tube (not required for general anesthesia permit); 
(11) Portable suctioning equipment capable of use during electrical power failure; 
(12) Equipment capable of suctioning the throat in all rooms; 
(13) Nasopharyngeal suction catheter, for pulmonary lavage via endotracheal tube (not 

required for conscious sedation permit); 
(14) Yankauer or similar suction; 
(15) McGill forceps; 
(16) Tongue grasping forceps; 
(17) Equipment for emergency crico-thyrotomy or tracheotomy and the appropriate 

connectors for administering 100% oxygen; 
(18) Blood pressure cuffs: 

(A) adult; and 
(B) pediatric; 

(19) ECG; 
(20) Defibrillator; 
(21) Board or rigid surface for cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR); 
(22) Light source capable of use during electrical power failure; 
(23) Intravenous solutions and equipment for administration: 

(A) 250 cc bags & 1000 cc bags of sterile saline; and 
(B) Sterile water for mixing or dilution of drugs; and 

(24) Appropriate intravenous needles, tubing and drips. 
 
(b) Except as specifically noted, all practitioners who are being evaluated pursuant to sections 20-

123b-1 to 20-123b –9, inclusive, of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, or who 
have been issued a permit pursuant to Section 20-123b of the Connecticut General Statutes, 
shall demonstrate and maintain the following equipment and personnel for continuous 
monitoring during the administration of anesthesia in any and all offices where they administer 
general anesthesia or conscious sedation: 
 
(1) Equipment and personnel for continuous monitoring during the administration of deep 

sedation or general anesthesia: 
(A) means of monitoring heart rate: 

(i) ECG; 
(ii) pulsemeter; 
(iii) pretracheal or precordial stethoscope; or 
(iv) direct palpation of pulse; 

(B) means of following respirations and level of oxygenation: 
(i) pretracheal or precordial stethoscope, or capnography; and 
(ii) pulse oximeter; 

(C) means of monitoring blood pressure for child and adult. 
(2) Equipment and personnel for continuous monitoring during the administration of 

conscious sedation: 
(A) means of monitoring heart rate: 

(i) ECG; 
(ii) pulsemeter; 
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(iii) pretracheal or precordial stethoscope; or 
(iv) direct palpation of pulse; 

(B) means of following respirations and level of oxygenation: 
(i) pretracheal or precordial stethoscope, capnography or direct observation 

of chest; and 
(ii) pulse oximeter; 

(C) means of monitoring blood pressure for child and adult. 
 

 
(c) All practitioners who are being evaluated pursuant to Sections 20-123b-1 through 20-123b-9, 

inclusive, of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, or who have been issued a permit 
pursuant to Section 20-123b of the General Statutes, shall maintain the following emergency 
drugs in any and all offices where they administer general anesthesia or conscious sedation:  
 
 (1) anticonvulsant drugs: 

(A) midazolam; or 
(B) diazepam; 

(2) antiemetic: 
(A) droperidol; 
(B) odansetron; 
(C) prochlorperazine; 
(D) promethazine; or 
(E) metoclopramide; 

(3) beta agonist: albuterol inhaler; 
(4) cardiovascular medications: 

(A) antiarrhythmics: 
(i) lidocaine or amiodarone; 
(ii) procainamide; and 
(iii) diltiazem; 

(B) atropine (either 0.4 mg/ml or 1.0 mg/ml); 
(C) aspirin 160 or 325 mg dose; 
(D) beta blocker: 

(i) esmolol; 
(ii) propranolol; 
(iii) atenolol; or 
(iv) metoprolol; 

(E) epinephrine 1 mg: 
(i) 1:1,000 solution; and 
(ii) 1:10,000 solution; 

(F) diuretic: furosemide 10mg/ml; 
(G) nitroglycerin (tablet or spray); 
(H) vasodilators: 

(i) labetalol; and 
(ii) hydrazaline or diazoxide; 

(I) vasopressors: 
(i) ephedrine; and 
(ii) phenylephrine; 

(J) corticosteroids: 
(i) dexamethasone; 
(ii) hydrocortisone sodium succinate; or 
(iii) methylprednisolone sodium succinate; 
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(K) dantrolene (must be in facility for offices in which agents causing malignant 
hypothermia are used); 

(L) dextrose 50%; 
(M) diphenhydramine; 
(N) reversal agents: 

(i) naloxone; and 
(ii) flumazenil; 

(O) opioid: morphine; 
(P) procaine 10 mg/ml; and 
(Q) succinylcholine. 

 
(d) All practitioners who are being evaluated pursuant to Sections 20-123b-1 through 20-123b-9, 

inclusive, of the Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies, or who have been issued a permit 
pursuant to Section 20-123b of the Connecticut General Statutes, shall maintain anesthesia or 
conscious sedation records which include the date of procedure, nothing by mouth (NPO) 
status, availability of responsible adult escort, allergies, vital signs, drugs, and doses 
administered.  

 
Statement of Purpose: To update standards regarding the administration of anesthesia and 
conscious sedation in dental practices. 
 
 
 
 

 
 


