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STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
 

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
 

Application for Optical Selling Permit 

 
Documentation Requirements: 
 
An applicant for an optical selling permit shall submit the following documents directly to this office: 
 
1. A complete, notarized application with fee in the amount of $315.00 in the form of a certified bank check or money 

order payable to, Treasurer, State of Connecticut”.  The application must also indicate the owner’s Federal Employer 
Identification Number (FEIN); 
 

2. Verification of compliance with the workers’ compensation insurance coverage requirements of Section 31-
284, Connecticut General Statutes.  Sufficient verification includes one of the following: 

 
I. A certificate of self-insurance issued by a workers’ compensation commissioner pursuant to Section 31-284, 

Connecticut General Statutes; 
 

II. A certificate of compliance issued by the Commissioner of the Connecticut Department of Insurance 
pursuant to Section 31-286, Connecticut General Statutes; or 

 
III. A certificate of insurance issued by any stock or mutual insurance company or mutual association authorized 

to write workers’ compensation insurance in this state or its agent. 
 
Inspection Information: 
 
Please indicate on the application a date on which the optical selling establishment will be ready for inspection by 
Department of Public Health staff.  Every effort will be made to accommodate your request.  Upon receipt of a 
completed application, Department staff will contact the appropriate individual to schedule and inspection. 
 
Inspection of an establishment seeking an optical selling permit does not authorize the establishment to begin operation.  
An establishment may not begin to provide optical services until authorization is received from this office.  To inquire on 
the status of the shop permit, contact this office via email at oplc.dph@ct.us. 
 
Applications will not be processed nor will an inspection be scheduled until the workers’ compensation insurance 
requirements have been received in this office. 
 
Optical selling permits expire annually on September 1st.   An optical selling permit may not be issued to 
establishments not under the direct supervision of a licensed optician. 
 
A separate application and fee is required for each establishment at a separate physical location which is operated 
under the responsible licensed optician in charge. 
 
The regulations pertaining to optical selling permits provide that such permit shall terminate upon disassociation 
of the licensed optician of record from an establishment holding an optical selling permit.  A new optical selling 
permit application must be filed with the Department of Public Health.  No inspection will be required if the only 
change is a change of the licensed optician of record. 
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Application for Optical Selling Permit        FEE $315.00 
 
This application is for (please check one): 
 

 New Shop    Change of Location  Change in Optician of Record    Reinstatement. Shop License No.: _________  
 
Optical Shop Information: 
 
Name of Establishment (d/b/a): ___________________________________________________________________ 
 
Address:   ___________________________________________________________________ 
 
City/State/Zip  ___________________________________________________________________ 
                                      
Phone Number: (______) ___________________________________ 
 
 
Ownership Information:    
 
Legal form of Organization:  Individual/Sole Proprietor  Limited Liability Corporation, 
     Limited Partnership    Profit Corporation 
     Other:  _______________________ 
      
 
Name of Owner: ______________________________________   CT Optician License No.:_____________ 
 
Address:   _________________________________________________________________________ 
 
City/State/Zip  _________________________________________________________________________ 
 
Federal Employer Identification Number: ________-_______________________  
                                      
Phone Number: (______) ___________________________________  Email:  _______________________ 
 
 
Signature of Owner: ____________________________________________ 
 
Partner or Corporate Officer  ______________________________________   CT Optician License No.:_____________ 
       Print Name 
 
Partner or Corporate Officer  _____________________________________________ 
                                        Signature 
 
Optician o f Record Information: 
 
Licensed Optician of Record: _______________________________________ CT Optician License No.:_____________ 
       Print Name 
 
Signature of Optician of Record:  _______________________________________ CT Optician License No.:_____________ 
       Signature 
 
                                   
 Other Optician in charge of Optical Dept.  (please print)  ______________________________ CT Optician License No.:_____________ 
         Print Name 
                    
Other Optician in charge of Optical Dept. Signature:  ________________________________________________________ 
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Optical services performed (please check all that apply): 
  
     Producing or reproducing ophthalmic lenses. 
     Mounting ophthalmic lenses to supporting material. 
     Fitting (adjust) optical glasses to the eyes. 
     Repairing optical frames and mountings and supplying repair parts. 
 
          CONTACT LENSES:  Check equipment on premises 
   
     Keratometer 
     Slit Lamp 
     Burton Magnifier 
     Black Light 

   
     Thickness Gauge 
     Reticule Measuring Device 
     Radiuscope 
     Other (Specify) _________________________ 
 

 
Staff: 
 
Please list below the names, other than the licensed optician designated as owner or manager of each licensed optician or apprentice, 
together with their respective certificate numbers, employed by this establishment: 
 

Name Type of License License or Certificate Number 
   
   
   
   

 
Requested date for inspection:     ________________________________________________________________ 
 
Notarization:   
 
State of  _______________________________ County of ______________________________ 
 
On this _________ day of ___________________ 20______,  _________________________________________  
         Owner’s Name.                              
 
personally appeared before me, who being duly sworn says that she/he is the person referred to in the foregoing 
application and that the statements, made herein are true and correct in every respect, to the best of his/her knowledge and 
belief. 
 
______________________________________ 
Signature of Applicant 
 
 
Sworn to before me this _________________ day of ________________________ 20 _______.  
 
 
______________________________________    My Commission expires _________________________. 
                  Signature of Notary Public 
 
 
Please return this application along with a certified bank check or money order in the amount of $315.00 to: 
 

Connecticut Department of Public Health 
Remittance Unit 

410 Capitol Ave., MS # 12 MQA 
P.O. Box 340308 

Hartford, CT 06134 
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Provisions of Connecticut General Statutes 

Optical Shops 
 

Section 20-150.  Where optical goods may be sold.  (a) No optical glasses or kindred products or other instruments to aid vision that are 
produced or reproduced to personalized given formulas, or plano cosmetic contact lenses shall be sold at retail except under the 
supervision of a licensed optician and in a registered optical establishment, office or store. An optical establishment, office or store is 
defined as meaning one the owner of which has had issued to him an optical license selling permit.  
 
(b) Nothing in subsection (a) of this section shall be construed to limit the ability of a physician, licensed under chapter 370, who is 
trained and specializes in diseases of the eye or an optometrist, licensed under chapter 380, to dispense contact lenses. 
 
(c) A violation of the provisions of subsection (a) of this section constitutes an unfair trade practice under subsection (a) of section 42-
110b. 
 
Section 20-151.  Optical selling permits.  Any licensed optician and any optical department in any establishment, office or store may 
apply to said department for a registration certificate to sell at retail optical glasses and instruments from given formulas and to make 
and dispense reproductions of the same, in a shop, store, optical establishment or office owned and managed by a licensed optician as 
defined in section 20-145 or where the optical department thereof is under the supervision of such a licensed optician, and said 
registration shall be designated as an optical selling permit.  Said department shall grant such permits for a period not exceeding one 
year, upon the payment of a fee of three hundred fifteen dollars, and upon satisfactory evidence to said department that such optical 
establishment, office or store is being conducted in accordance with the regulations adopted under this chapter.  Such permit shall be 
conspicuously posted within such optical establishment, office or store.  All permits issued under the provisions of this chapter shall 
expire on September first in each year. 
 
Section 20-153.  Optical permit.  Product; standards of quality.  The department may grant annually, upon the filing of an application as 
required by it, an optical permit to any optical establishment, office, department or store conducted under the personal and direct 
supervision of a licensed optician, for permission to sell, dispense or supply to the ultimate wearer optical aids to vision, instruments, 
appliances, eyeglasses, spectacles and other kindred products.  Holders of such an optical permit shall be permitted to use the term 
"optician" or any of its synonyms.  No optical permit shall be issued to any person, firm or corporation owning, managing or 
conducting any optical establishment, department, store, office or place of business and employing any person lawfully licensed to 
prescribe optical glasses from given prescription formulas, unless such person is also licensed as a licensed optician, except as provided 
in section 20-162.  The quality of optical lenses, spectacles, eyeglasses, optical appliances or instruments and other aids to vision and 
kindred products of optical glasses shall meet whichever of the following standards may be applicable:  (1) American National 
Standards Institute Z.80, as amended, "Requirements for First Quality Prescription Ophthalmic Lenses" which standard shall reflect 
current standards for first-quality prescription ophthalmic lenses in edged or assembled form, white, colorless or tinted, single vision or 
multifocal, plastic or laminated, impact-resistance-treated or untreated glass lenses, or any other ophthalmic lenses, prescription or 
otherwise, as may be designed and covered under such adopted standards; or (2) American National Standards Institute Z.87, as 
amended, "Practice for Occupational and Educational Eye and Face Protection"; or, (3) such other standard as may be established in 
regulations adopted pursuant to section 20-141.  The commissioner of public health, with advice and assistance from the board shall 
make reasonable regulations so that the public may not be misled in the purchase or acquisition of the same.   
 
Section 20-153a.  Lens and frame requirements.  (a) No person shall sell, distribute or deliver any eyeglasses or sunglasses unless they 
are fitted with impact resistant lenses that fully meet the definitions, specifications, test procedures and tolerances for impact resistance 
and any exceptions provided for in the statement of policy of the federal Food and Drug Administration and whichever of the following 
standards may be applicable: (1) American National Standards Institute Z.80.1, as amended, "requirements for first quality prescription 
ophthalmic lenses", or such other standard as may be established in regulations adopted pursuant to section 20-141, which standard 
shall apply to first-quality prescription ophthalmic lenses in edged or assembled form, white, colorless or tinted, single-vision or 
multifocal, plastic, laminated, impact-resistance-treated or untreated glass lenses, or (2) American National Standards Institute Z.87.1, 
as amended, "practice for occupational and educational eye and face protection", or such other standard as may be established in 
regulations adopted pursuant to section 20-141, which standard shall apply to all occupational and educational operations and 
processes, excluding those relating to x-rays, gamma rays, high-energy particulate radiations, lasers, or masers; except in those cases 
where in his professional judgment the physician or optometrist finds that such lenses will not fulfill the visual requirements of the 
particular patient and directs in writing the use of other lenses. 
 
(b) No person shall fabricate, sell, offer to sell or have in his possession with intent to sell or offer to sell eyeglasses or sunglasses 
having frames manufactured from cellulose nitrate or materials having flammable characteristics approximately those of cellulose 
nitrate as found and established in the American National Standards Institute standards, as amended, or such other standard as may be 
established in regulations adopted pursuant to section 20-141. 
 
(c) Any person who violates this section shall be fined not more than one hundred dollars.   
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Section 20-154.  Regulations concerning licenses and permits.  Disciplinary action; grounds.  The commissioner of public health, with 
advice and assistance from said board, may make regulations concerning the licensing of any optician, the granting of any permit to any 
optical department or the certification of any licensed optician, and the suspension or revocation of any such license or permit, or with 
reference to the conduct of any such licensee or permittee and the manner in which any such licensed optical department is conducted.  
Any license to practice as a licensed optician or to conduct any optical department may be suspended or revoked or reissued by said 
board.  The certificate of registration, permit or license of any optician or of any optical permittee may be revoked, suspended or 
annulled or any action taken under section 19a-17 upon decision after notice and hearing by the board for any of the following reasons: 
Fraudulent, dishonest, illegal or incompetent or negligent conduct of his business as such licensee or permittee; aiding or abetting any 
unlicensed person whose license has been suspended or revoked, or any optical permittee whose permit has been suspended or revoked 
in the conduct of an optician's establishment, office or store; violation of any provision of this chapter or any regulation adopted 
hereunder; presentation to the department of any diploma, license or certificate, irregularly or fraudulently obtained or from any 
unrecognized or irregular college or state commission, or obtained by the practice of any fraud or deception; physical or mental illness, 
emotional disorder or loss of motor skill, including but not limited to, deterioration through the aging process; abuse or excessive use of 
drugs, including alcohol, narcotics or chemicals.  The commissioner of public health may order a license holder to submit to a 
reasonable physical or mental examination if his physical or mental capacity to practice safely is the subject of an investigation.  Said 
commissioner may petition the superior court for the judicial district of Hartford to enforce such order or any action taken pursuant to 
section 19a-17.  The violation of any of the provisions of this chapter by any unlicensed employee in the employ of any of its licensees 
or permittees, with the knowledge of his employer, shall be deemed to be a violation thereof by his employer; and continued violation 
thereof by such an unlicensed employee shall be deemed to be, prima facie, with the knowledge of such employer. 
 
Section 20-156.  Appeal.  Any licensee or permittee aggrieved by the action of the board under section 19a-17 may appeal therefrom as 
provided in section 4-183, except such appeal shall be made returnable to the judicial district of Hartford at Hartford.   
 
Section 20-157.  License and permit to be conspicuously displayed.  Each person practicing as a licensed optician and each holder of an 
optical permit shall, at all times, conspicuously display his license or permit in the place in which he practices under such license or 
permit.   
 
Section 20-158.  Restricted use of license or permit.  Each licensee or permittee licensed under the provisions of this chapter who rents, 
loans or allows the use of his permit or license to an unlicensed person for unlawful use shall be fined one hundred dollars and shall 
forfeit his license as such licensee or permittee. 
 
Section 20-159.  Apprentices to register; certification by employer.  Each person entering into employment in an optical office, store or 
establishment for the purpose of obtaining practical experience and skill required under the provisions of this chapter shall register as an 
apprentice with the department and the computation of any period of apprenticeship shall commence at the date of such registration.  
Such application for registration shall be certified to, under oath, by the employer and by such applicant, and the department may issue 
to such applicant an apprentice's certificate.  A renewal of each certification of such apprenticeship shall be filed with the department 
annually.  A fee of fifty dollars shall accompany the original application and any renewals of same.  Any person who served part of his 
apprenticeship in any other state or country not requiring such registration shall be obliged to give proof of such service satisfactory to 
the department.   
 
Section 20-160.  Deceptive ownership or management of optical establishments.  Misuse of designations.  Any person, firm or 
corporation, owning, managing or conducting any store, shop or place of business, not holding an optical permit or an optician's license, 
or not having in his or its employ a licensed optician for the supervision of such store, office, place of business or optical establishment, 
or including in any advertisement, whether in a newspaper, book, magazine or other printed matter, or by radio, the term "optician", 
"licensed optician", "optical establishment", "optical office", "opticians" or any combination of such terms, within or without such store, 
in such manner as to mislead the public to the belief that the same is a legally established optical place of business, licensed as such, or 
owned, managed or conducted by a person holding an optician's license, or that such person, firm or corporation is the holder of an 
optical permit, when, in fact, it is not, shall be fined not more than two hundred dollars or imprisoned not more than six months or both.   
 
Section 20-161.  Penalty.  Any person who violates any provision of this chapter, for the violation of which no other penalty has been 
provided, shall be fined not more than five hundred dollars or imprisoned not more than five years or both.  For purposes of this section 
each instance of patient contact or consultation which is in violation of any provision of this section shall constitute a separate offense.  
Failure to renew a license in a timely manner shall not constitute a violation for the purposes of this section.   
 
Section 20-162.  Exceptions for certified optometrists and physicians and surgeons.  The provisions of this chapter shall not be 
construed to apply to certified optometrists licensed to practice under the provisions of chapter 380 nor to deny to physicians or 
surgeons particularly trained and specializing in diseases of the eye and licensed under the provisions of chapter 370 from the same 
right to fit, apply and dispense contact lenses or other ophthalmic materials to their patients in the course of their practice as is accorded 
licensed optometrists.  The provisions of this section shall not be construed to permit such physicians or surgeons to engage in the 
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business of either grinding lenses or filling prescriptions for optical glasses, lenses or ophthalmic materials unless they are licensed or 
certified under the provisions of this chapter or chapter 380. 

 
 

Regulations of Connecticut State Agencies 
Optical Selling Permits 

 
Section 20-141-4.  Equipment for opticians.  In order to protect the public health and safety, each applicant being issued an optical 
license shall have in this place of business and at his disposal the following equipment in order to complete the requirements for such 
license:  (1)  A complete set of neutralizing lenses or mechanical instrument for the measurement of focus power, in which case such 
instrument should bear a maximum tolerance of accuracy of .06;  (2) lens-centering device;  (3)  lens measure:  (4) thickness caliper;  
(5) equipment for accurately measuring pupillary distance. 
 
Section 20-141-18.  Disassociation of licensed optician from establishment.  Immediately upon disassociation or severance of the 
recorded licensed optician in charge from any establishment for which an optical license permit has been granted, the optical license 
permit is terminated.  A new optical license permit shall be applied for. 
 
Section 20-141-19.  Establishment, office, department, store, shop or laboratory.   Each individual retail or service unit located at a 
recorded address is a separate establishment requiring a separate permit; and this is true although such a store or unit is part of an 
interstate or intrastate chain. 
 
Section 20-141-20.  Licensed optician responsible for all establishments for which he is granted an optical license permit.  Every 
licensed optician is required to have an optical license permit for the declared establishment, location or premises where he proposes to 
act as such licensed optician.  A licensed optician is responsible for any optical department, firm or establishment of which he is in 
charge, being deemed to be in charge of the same only when he is the owner or manager or equal in authority with another similarly 
licensed optician, and from which he receives his complete or major means or livelihood and to which he gives the major part of his 
time.  Such an optical license permit shall be issued for more than one such optical establishment or location if such licensed optician 
assumes supervision of other locations or establishments; but in all instances such permits shall include the name of the responsible 
licensed optician in charge and under whose supervision such establishment or location is being operated, and shall be subject to the 
provision that such licensed optician transfer such individual license to the location or establishment at which he is functioning and that 
he is personally responsible for all acts or omissions (by himself or by others under such location ) pertaining to the opticians' law and 
its regulations, under which such establishment or location holds itself open as an optical establishment or department.  Both the license 
of the licensed optician and the optical license permit shall at all times be conspicuously displayed in the place in which such licensed 
optician practices as an optician. 
 
 
 
   
 
 


