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STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
 

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 

 
 
 
Dear Applicant: 
 
Please be advised, pursuant to Section 17a-101 of the Connecticut General Statutes (see reverse side), certain health professions regulated 
by the Department of Public Health are mandated to report suspected child abuse or neglect to the Department of Children and Families 
(DCF) Child Abuse and Neglect Hotline or a law enforcement agency. 
 
Reports must be made within twelve hours of the moment you suspect the abuse/neglect has occurred.  Suspected child maltreatment of 
any kind, regardless of the identity of the alleged perpetrator must be reported.  The Hotline number is 1-800-842-2288 and is available 
on a 24 hour 7 day a week basis.  A copy of the child abuse reporting laws is enclosed. The Hotline can answer questions you may have 
regarding these laws. 
 
It is important that you become familiar with Connecticut’s reporting laws as failure to meet reporting responsibilities may subject you to 
criminal prosecution and possible action against your license or certificate. 
 
Should you have any questions regarding your licensure or certification, please contact the Department of Public Health at the number in 
this application. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

Phone:  (860) 509-7603 
Telephone Device for the Deaf (860) 509-7191 

410 Capitol Avenue – MS # 12APP 
P.O. Box 340308 Hartford, CT  06134 

An  Equal  Opportunity  Employer 
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Connecticut General Statutes, Chapter 319a 

Child Welfare 

Child Abuse Reporting Laws 

 

Sec.17a-101. (Formerly Sec. 17-38a). Protection of children from abuse. Mandated reporters. Educational and training programs. (a) The public policy of this state 
is: To protect children whose health and welfare may be adversely affected through injury and neglect; to strengthen the family and to make the home safe for 
children by enhancing the parental capacity for good child care; to provide a temporary or permanent nurturing and safe environment for children when 
necessary; and for these purposes to require the reporting of suspected child abuse, investigation of such reports by a social agency, and provision of services, 
where needed, to such child and family.  (b) The following persons shall be mandated reporters: Any physician or surgeon licensed under the provisions of chapter 
370, any resident physician or intern in any hospital in this state, whether or not so licensed, any registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, medical examiner, 
dentist, dental hygienist, psychologist, coach of intramural or interscholastic athletics, school teacher, school principal, school guidance counselor, school 
paraprofessional, school coach, social worker, police officer, juvenile or adult probation officer, juvenile or adult parole officer, member of the clergy, pharmacist, 
physical therapist, optometrist, chiropractor, podiatrist, mental health professional or physician assistant, any person who is a licensed or certified emergency 
medical services provider, any person who is a licensed or certified alcohol and drug counselor, any person who is a licensed marital and family therapist, any 
person who is a sexual assault counselor or a battered women's counselor as defined in section 52-146k, any person who is a licensed professional counselor, any 
person paid to care for a child in any public or private facility, child day care center, group day care home or family day care home licensed by the state, any 
employee of the Department of Children and Families, any employee of the Department of Public Health who is responsible for the licensing of child day care 
centers, group day care homes, family day care homes or youth camps, the Child Advocate and any employee of the Office of Child Advocate.  (c) The 
Commissioner of Children and Families shall develop an educational training program for the accurate and prompt identification and reporting of child abuse 
and neglect. Such training program shall be made available to all persons mandated to report child abuse and neglect at various times and locations throughout 
the state as determined by the Commissioner of Children and Families.  (d) Any mandated reporter, as defined in subsection (b) of this section, who fails to report 
to the Commissioner of Children and Families pursuant to section 17a-101a shall be required to participate in an educational and training program established by 
the commissioner. The program may be provided by one or more private organizations approved by the commissioner, provided the entire costs of the program 
shall be paid from fees charged to the participants, the amount of which shall be subject to the approval of the commissioner. 

 
Sec.17a-101a. Report of abuse, neglect or injury of child or imminent risk of serious harm to child. Penalty for failure to report. Any mandated reporter, as 
defined in section 17a-101, who in the ordinary course of such person's employment or profession has reasonable cause to suspect or believe that any child under 
the age of eighteen years (1) has been abused or neglected, as defined in section 46b-120, (2) has had nonaccidental physical injury, or injury which is at variance 
with the history given of such injury, inflicted upon such child, or (3) is placed at imminent risk of serious harm, shall report or cause a report to be made in 
accordance with the provisions of sections 17a-101b to 17a-101d, inclusive. Any person required to report under the provisions of this section who fails to make 
such report shall be fined not less than five hundred dollars nor more than two thousand five hundred dollars and shall be required to participate in an 
educational and training program pursuant to subsection (d) of section 17a-101. 
 
Sec.17a-101b. Oral report by mandated reporter. Notification of law enforcement agency when allegation of sexual abuse or serious physical abuse. Notification of 
person in charge of institution, facility or school when staff member suspected of abuse or neglect. (a) An oral report shall be made by a mandated reporter as soon 
as practicable but not later than twelve hours after the mandated reporter has reasonable cause to suspect or believe that a child has been abused or neglected or 
placed in imminent risk of serious harm, by telephone or in person to the Commissioner of Children and Families or a law enforcement agency. If a law 
enforcement agency receives an oral report, it shall immediately notify the Commissioner of Children and Families. 
 
(b) If the commissioner or the commissioner's designee suspects or knows that such person has knowingly made a false report, the identity of such person shall be 
disclosed to the appropriate law enforcement agency and to the perpetrator of the alleged abuse. 
(c) If the Commissioner of Children and Families, or the commissioner's designee, receives a report alleging sexual abuse or serious physical abuse, including, but 
not limited to, a report that: (1) A child has died; (2) a child has been sexually assaulted; (3) a child has suffered brain damage or loss or serious impairment of a 
bodily function or organ; (4) a child has been sexually exploited; or (5) a child has suffered serious nonaccidental physical injury, the commissioner shall, within 
twelve hours of receipt of such report, notify the appropriate law enforcement agency. 
(d) Whenever a mandated reporter, as defined in section 17a-101, has reasonable cause to suspect or believe that any child has been abused or neglected by a 
member of the staff of a public or private institution or facility that provides care for such child or a public or private school, the mandated reporter shall report 
as required in subsection (a) of this section. The Commissioner of Children and Families or the commissioner's designee shall notify the person in charge of such 
institution, facility or school or the person's designee, unless such person is the alleged perpetrator of the abuse or neglect of such child. Such person in charge, or 
such person's designee, shall then immediately notify the child's parent or other person responsible for the child's care that a report has been made.  
 
17a-101c. Written report by mandated reporter. Within forty-eight hours of making an oral report, a mandated reporter shall submit a written report to the 
Commissioner of Children and Families or his representative. When a mandated reporter is a member of the staff of a public or private institution or facility that 
provides care for such child or public or private school he shall also submit a copy of the written report to the person in charge of such institution, school or 
facility or the person's designee. In the case of a report concerning a certified school employee, a copy of the written report shall also be sent by the person in 
charge of such institution, school or facility to the Commissioner of Education or his representative. In the case of an employee of a facility or institution that 
provides care for a child which is licensed by the state, a copy of the written report shall also be sent by the mandated reporter to the executive head of the state 
licensing agency. 
 
Sec.17a-101d. Contents of oral and written reports. All oral and written reports required in sections 17a-101a to 17a-101c, inclusive, and section 17a-103, shall 
contain, if known: (1) The names and addresses of the child and his parents or other person responsible for his care; (2) the age of the child; (3) the gender of the 
child; (4) the nature and extent of the child's injury or injuries, maltreatment or neglect; (5) the approximate date and time the injury or injuries, maltreatment or 
neglect occurred; (6) information concerning any previous injury or injuries to, or maltreatment or neglect of, the child or his siblings; (7) the circumstances in 
which the injury or injuries, maltreatment or neglect came to be known to the reporter; (8) the name of the person or persons suspected to be responsible for 
causing such injury or injuries, maltreatment or neglect; and (9) whatever action, if any, was taken to treat, provide shelter or otherwise assist the child. 
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STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
 

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 

HEARING INSTRUMENT SPECIALIST 
 

AN APPLICATION WILL NOT BE REVIEWED BY PROFESSIONAL STAFF OF THE DEPARTMENT UNTIL ALL REQUIRED 
DOCUMENTS HAVE BEEN RECEIVED. 
 
 The fee for initial licensure covers the cost of eligibility determination and related administrative functions.  At such time as an 

applicant is determined eligible for licensure, the process of licensure issuance will proceed immediately.  The licensure renewal fee 
is separate and distinct from the application fee.  Licenses are renewed biennially during the licensee’s month of birth.  Renewal will 
be required in the second birth month which immediately follows the issuance of licensure.  The full renewal fee will be required 
regardless of the date of initial licensure. 

 
 It is the responsibility of the applicant to arrange for submission of all required documentation for timely completion of the 

application.  The Department does NOT notify applicants of incomplete documentation.  It is recommended that applicants who are 
interested in expediting licensure contact the Department periodically to monitor the status of their file with regard to the receipt of 
supporting documents. 

 
 Educational credentials earned in a country other than the United States (or Canada in some instances) must be evaluated by a 

credential evaluation service approved by the Department.  Documents in a language other than English MUST be translated by a 
certified translation service in accordance with instructions from this office.  Applicants to whom these provisions apply should 
request additional information from this office. 

 
 No personal checks are accepted.  Please remit the application fee, by CERTIFIED CHECK or MONEY ORDER ONLY, payable 

to "TREASURER, STATE OF CONNECTICUT", in United States dollars.  All fees are non-refundable and non-transferable.  
The fee which accompanies an application covers the cost of reviewing and processing that specific application, IT CANNOT BE 
REFUNDED, EVEN IF THE APPLICANT IS FOUND INELIGIBLE FOR LICENSURE. 

 
 Any incomplete application which has remained inactive for one year will be destroyed in accordance with the agency’s record 

retention plan.  To reactivate the application process, a completely new application and fee will be required. 
 
 Licensure requirements are subject to change as a result of new legislation, new Rules and Regulations, or from new policies and 

procedures adopted by the Department of Public Health working, where appropriate, in cooperation with various Boards of 
Examiners.  Applicants must meet current licensure requirements. 

 
 Licensing examination questions are NOT included in the Freedom of Information Act as documents available for review.  

Whenever possible, however, this division will provide whatever feedback possible with regard to examination performance. 
 

 The Privacy Act of 1974 requires any federal, state or local government agency that requires individuals to disclose their social 
security numbers to inform those individuals whether the disclosure is mandatory or voluntary, by what statutory or other authority 
the number is requested and how it will be used.   Pursuant to Connecticut General Statutes, Section 17b-137a(a)(1), disclosure of the 
social security number is mandatory.  The social security number is used in the administration and collection of taxes and is also used 
for child support collection.  Please note that the Department will ONLY disclose social security numbers to government entities.  
Your social security number will NOT be released to the general public. 

 
 

 

 

Phone:  (860) 509-7603 
Telephone Device for the Deaf (860) 509-7191 

410 Capitol Avenue – MS # 12APP 
P.O. Box 340308 Hartford, CT  06134 

An  Equal  Opportunity  Employer 
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REQUIREMENTS FOR CONNECTICUT HEARING INSTRUMENT SPECIALIST LICENSURE 
 

In order to apply for a Hearing instrument specialist's license, the applicant must: 
 

 Be a high school graduate or have successfully completed a high school equivalency examination, and 
 have successfully completed approved education/training in hearing aid fitting and dispensing which included 

the core content areas of: 
a) the basic physics of sound; 
b) anatomy and physiology of the ear; 
c) the function of hearing aids; 
d) practical knowledge of fitting and dispensing of hearing aids; 
e) taking of ear mold impressions; 
f) use of equipment employed in the fitting and dispensing of hearing aids; and 
g) state and federal laws and regulations governing hearing instrument specialists and hearing aid devices. 

 

Qualifying education/training includes the following: 
 

A) A minimum of twenty weeks supervised training by a Connecticut-licensed hearing aid dealer, which training 
shall consist of not less than thirty hours per week of directly supervised work experience and a practical 
course of study of not less than forty hours of instruction covering the core content areas specified above; or 

B) the International Hearing Society (formerly the National Hearing Aid Society) home study course and final 
examination, in conjunction with forty (40) hours of direct practical training by a Connecticut licensed hearing 
aid dealer, or 

C) Master's degree in audiology from a regionally accredited institution of higher education, which included 
coursework covering the core content areas specified above; or 

D) post-secondary coursework in hearing aid dispensing at a regionally accredited institution of higher education, 
to be reviewed and approved on a case-by-case basis by the Department of Public Health as covering the core 
content areas specified above. 

 

DOCUMENTATION REQUIREMENTS 
 

Applicants must arrange for submission of the following: 
 

1. A completed, notarized application with photograph and fee of $250.00; 
2. official verification of the highest level of education attained; 

a) if you have completed four (4) years of high school education, arrange for submission of an official 
transcript to be sent directly to this office by the school attended; if you have completed a high school 
equivalency examination, arrange for submission of a certificate of completion to be sent directly to this 
office by the certifying agency; 

b) if you have earned an Associate's, Bachelor's, or Master’s Degree, arrange for submission of an official 
transcript to be sent directly to this office by the college attended. 

3.   if applicable, verification of completion of a period of training, submitted directly to this office by the licensed 
hearing instrument specialist who supervised the training on a form provided by this office; 

4.   if applicable, verification of completion of the International Hearing Society home study course and final 
examination submitted directly to this office from the International Hearing Society.  For information 
regarding the International Hearing Society home study course, contact: IHS • 16880 Middlebelt Road, Suite 4 
• Livonia, MI 48154 • Telephone 734-522-7200 • Fax 734-522-0200 • http://ihsinfo.org/ 

5.   if applicable, verification of completion of post-secondary coursework in hearing aid dispensing at a regionally 
accredited institution of higher education; and 

6.   if applicable, official verification of licenses, certifications, registrations which are now or ever have been held 
in any other states or territories on the enclosed form.  Additional forms may be reproduced if the applicant has 
been licensed in more than one state or territory.  Most states charge a fee for completion of the verification 
form; contact the jurisdiction for fee information. 
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7.   Applicants for temporary permit must also arrange for submission of the following: 
a) A completed application with photograph and fee of $60.00, notarized by both the applicant and the 

supervising hearing instrument specialist; 
b) same as number 2 above. 

8.   In addition to the documentation required as outlined by “1” and “6” above, reinstatement applicants must 
also arrange for submission of the following: 
a) A brief written summary of your activities since first licensed as a hearing instrument specialist.  Be sure to 

include information on your work experience as a licensed professional, including positions held, dates and 
major duties.  If you have had any lapses in your active practice as a hearing instrument specialist, please 
explain the reason for any such lapses.  If you are not currently working as a hearing instrument specialist, 
please explain your plans for employment and describe how you intend to refresh your hearing instrument 
specialist skills. 

b) A letter directly to this office from the appropriate authority confirming your most recent employment, 
including dates and evaluation of performance. 

 

If found eligible, the applicant will be administered the examination described below.  If the applicant successfully 
completes the examination, he/she will be licensed upon payment of a $250.00 (effective January 1, 2004) License 
Fee. 
 

 

EXAMINATION CANDIDATES 
 

Each applicant must complete a written examination and an oral/practical examination for Connecticut hearing 
instrument specialist licensure.  The written examination is the International Licensing Examination (ILE) for 
Hearing Instrument Dispensers (HID) developed by the education division of the International Hearing Society 
(IHS).  Click on the link for a copy for the HIS, ILE study guide: 
http://www.ct.gov/dph/lib/dph/practitioner_licensing_and_investigations/plis/2015_ihs_study_guide_pbt.pdf 
The practical examination consists of two components: an oral/practical section in which you will be expected to 
make an ear impression; and an oral/practical section in which you will be expected to perform a full audiometric 
examination.  In addition to the application fee, the Department of Public Health requires that all hearing 
instrument specialist licensure candidates taking the written IHS examination bring to the written examination a 
certified check or money order, in the amount of $225.00, payable to International Hearing Society.  Exams are 
generally administered in March and August.   
 
For examination dates and deadlines please contact this department or click onto this website: 
http://www.ct.gov/dph/lib/dph/practitioner_licensing_and_investigations/plis/examschedule.pdf 
 
Please be advised that you will NOT be admitted to the written examination if you do not bring the required fee to 
the examination site on the day of the written exam. 
 

 

TEMPORARY PERMIT 
 

The temporary permittee may provide hearing aid fitting and dispensing services only under the direct supervision 
of a Connecticut-licensed hearing instrument specialist or licensed audiologist authorized to fit hearing aids under 
chapter 399. 
 

Upon issuance, the temporary permittee will be required to apply for and take the licensing examination no later 
than twelve (12) months following issuance of the temporary permit.  If the applicant is unsuccessful on the 
examination, he/she must take each subsequent examination scheduled during the effective period of the temporary 
permit.  The required work experience must be completed and appropriately documented prior to the examination, 
in order for an applicant to be eligible. 
 

A temporary permit must be issued by the Department of Public Health before an applicant is eligible to fit and sell 
hearing aids under the supervision of a Connecticut licensed hearing instrument specialist or licensed audiologist 
authorized to fit hearing aids under chapter 399.  Please also note that the permit is valid only under the 
supervision of the Connecticut licensed hearing instrument specialist or licensed audiologist authorized to fit 
hearing aids under chapter 399 identified on the temporary permit form.  Should the permittee leave the 
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employment of the supervising hearing instrument specialist or licensed audiologist, the permit becomes void.  In 
order to resume employment, an application for a new temporary permit must be filed with this office.  There is no 
fee for re-issuance of a temporary permit, due to a change of supervisors, during the one-year period following 
issuance of the original permit.  A temporary permit is issued for a maximum of one (1) year and may be renewed 
for a maximum of one (1) additional year.  Please also note that audiologists engaged in Supervised Professional 
Experience who are fitting hearing aids under the supervision of a hearing instrument specialist or licensed 
audiologist authorized to fit hearing aids, are exempt from the temporary permit required for a hearing instrument 
specialist applicant.  
 

 

REINSTATEMENT OF LICENSE 
 

1. A completed, notarized application with photograph and fee of $250.00 (effective January 1, 2004).  The fee 
must be in the form of a certified bank check or money order made payable to “Treasurer, State of 
Connecticut”. 

2. Official verification of all professional licenses, certificates or registrations ever held as an hearing 
instrument specialist, sent directly from the appropriate authority to this office.  Please contact the state 
board(s) first as a fee may be required. 

3. A brief written summary of your activities since completing your education and training in hearing 
instruments.  Be sure to include information on your work experience as a licensed professional, including 
positions held, dates and major duties.  If you have had any lapses in your active practice as an hearing 
instrument specialist, please explain the reason for any such lapses.  If you are not currently working an 
hearing instrument specialist, please explain your plans for employment and describe how you intend to refresh 
your hearing instrument specialist skills. 

4. A letter sent directly to this office from the appropriate authority confirming your most recent employment, 
including dates and evaluation of clinical performance.   
 

5. A licensee whose license has become void pursuant to section 19a-88 and who applies to the department for 
reinstatement of such license, shall submit evidence documenting the successful completion of eight hours of 
continuing education within the one-year period immediately preceding application for reinstatement. 

 
 

All supporting documents must be submitted directly to: 
Department of Public Health • HIS Licensure • 410 Capitol Avenue MS# 12APP • P.O. Box 340308 • 

 Hartford, CT  06134-0308 • (860) 509-7603 • www.dph.state.ct.us 
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STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
 

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
 

HEARING INSTRUMENT SPECIALIST  
LICENSURE APPLICATION  

 

For Office Use Only 
 

License # ______________ 
 

Issue Date _____________ 
 

Exp. Date ______________

Check one: Initial licensure (examination fee $200.00 and application fee $250.00) Total $450.00 
         Endorsement     (examination fee  $200.00 and application fee $250.00) Total $450.00 
                     Reinstatement (application fee   $250.00)                                       Total $250.00 
    
First Name:  ___________________ MI: ___   Last Name:  ______________________  Maiden Name:  ________________ 
 

Social Security No.: ________-_______-________ E-mail:  _____________________________________ 
 

Name and Mailing Address:  This will be how your name and address will appear on your official license, your address of 
record for all mailings from this office and releasable pursuant to Freedom of Information requests. 
 

  Name on License: _____________________________________________ 
 

  Address:  _____________________________________________ 
 

_____________________________________________ 
 

  City, State, Zip:  _____________________________________________ 
 

Phone Number: (_____) __________________     Date of Birth: _____/_____/_______     Gender:  ____________ 
 
 

Please indicate all practical training completed in the fitting, selling and dispensing of hearing aids: 
 

NAME OF ESTABLISHMENT OR SUPERVISOR ADDRESS               DATES COMPLETED 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Have you completed the International Hearing Society home study course?  YES   NO . 
 

Have you attained a Master’s Degree in Audiology? YES   NO . 
 

At the exam, do you require accommodation for any disabling condition?  YES   NO  .  If Yes, attach a separate written 
statement to the application, briefly describing the nature of your disability and the accommodation you are seeking.  Upon review of 
your request, this office will contact you for appropriate documentation. 
 

Are you now, or have you ever been licensed or held certification in any state or territory?  Yes   No .  
If yes, list all states _________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

 
PROFESSIONAL HISTORY: Answer 1-7 by checking YES or NO.  If you answer YES, follow directions below. 

 

1. Have you ever been censured, disciplined, dismissed or expelled from, had admissions   YES  NO  
monitored  or restricted, had privileges limited, suspended or terminated, been put on probation,  
or been requested to resign or withdraw from any of the following:     
 

-Any hospital, nursing home, clinic, or similar institution;  
-Any health maintenance organization, professional partnership, corporation, or similar health practice 
 organization, either private or public; 
-Any professional school, clinical clerkship, internship, externship, preceptorship or postgraduate training program; 
-Any third party reimbursement program, whether governmental or private? 
 

2.   Have you ever had your membership in or certification by any professional society or   YES  NO  
association suspended or revoked for reasons related to professional practice?  

       

3. Has any professional licensing or disciplinary body in any state, the District of Columbia, a United  YES  NO  
States possession or territory, or a foreign jurisdiction, limited, restricted, suspended or revoked  
any professional license, certificate, or registration granted to you, or imposed a fine or reprimand,  
or taken any other disciplinary action against you? 
     

4. Have you ever, in anticipation or during the pendency of an investigation or other disciplinary YES  NO  
 proceeding, voluntarily surrendered any professional license, certificate or registration issued to you 
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 by any state, the District of Columbia, a United States possession or territory, or a foreign jurisdiction? 
 
5. Have you ever been subject to, or do you currently have pending, any complaint, investigation,  YES  NO  
 charge, or disciplinary action by any professional licensing or disciplinary body in any state, the  
 District of Columbia, a United States possession or territory, or a foreign jurisdiction or any disciplinary board/committee 

of any branch of the armed services?  You need not report any complaints dismissed 
 as without merit.    
 

If your answer is "yes" to any of the above questions (1-5), please give full details, names, addresses, etc. on a 
separate NOTARIZED statement. 
 

6. Have you ever entered into, or do you currently have pending, a consent agreement of any kind,  YES  NO  
 whetheroral or written, with any professional licensing or disciplinary body in any state, the District  
 of Columbia, a United States possession or territory, any branch of the armed services or a foreign  
 jurisdiction?  
 

If "yes", give full details, names, addresses, etc. on a separate, NOTARIZED statement.  Also submit a 
NOTARIZED copy of the agreement. 
 

7.  Have you ever been found guilty or convicted as a result of an act which constitutes a felony  YES  NO  
under the laws of this state, federal law or the laws of another jurisdiction and which, if committed 
within this state, would have constituted a felony under the laws of this state?      
 

If "yes", give full details, dates, etc. on a separate NOTARIZED statement and furnish a Certified Court Copy 
(with court seal affixed) of the original complaint, the answer, the judgment, the settlement, and/or the disposition. 
 

  
 

 On this _____ day of ______________________ 20 __, 
 ________________________________  (applicant's 
 name) personally appeared before me,  who being duly 
 sworn says that she/he is the person referred to in the 
 foregoing application and that the photograph attached 
 hereto is a true picture of self and that the statements 
 made herein are true in every respect. 
 
 
                   _______________________________________ 
 SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT 
  

 
 
Sworn to before me this _________ day of ________________________________ 20 ___. 
 
____________________________________________    My commission expires _______________________________ 
  SIGNATURE OF NOTARY PUBLIC     
 

 
Please return this application and fee for $200.00 or $250.00 (certified check or money order) made payable to, “Treasurer, 
State of Connecticut” to: 

Department of Public Health 
Hearing Instrument Specialist Licensure- Remittance Unit 

410 Capitol Avenue MS# 12MQA 
P.O. Box 340308 

Hartford, CT  06134-0308 
 

 
 

Tape a recent 
photograph of 

applicant 
here. 

 
DO NOT STAPLE 
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STATE  OF  CONNECTICUT 
 

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
 

HEARING INSTRUMENT SPECIALIST  
TEMPORARY PERMIT APPLICATION

 

For Office Use Only 
 

License # ______________ 
 

Issue Date _____________ 
 

Exp. Date ______________

 
 

First Name:  ___________________  LastName:  ______________________  MI: ____  Maiden Name:  ______________ 
 

 
Social Security No.: ________-_______-_______ E-mail:  ________________________________________ 
 

Name and Mailing Address:  This will be how your name and address will appear on your official license, your address of 
record for all mailings from this office and releasable pursuant to Freedom of Information requests. 
 

 Name on License: _____________________________________________ 
 

 Address:  _____________________________________________ 
 

_____________________________________________ 
 

 City, State, Zip:  _____________________________________________ 
 

 
Phone Number: (_____) __________________     Date of Birth: _____/_____/_______    Gender:  ____________ 
 

 
Please indicate all practical training completed in the fitting, selling and dispensing of hearing aids: 
NAME OF ESTABLISHMENT OR SUPERVISOR ADDRESS               DATES COMPLETED 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
_________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

Are you now, or have you ever been licensed or held certification in any state or territory?  Yes   No .  
If yes, list all states _________________________________________________________________________________ 
 

PROFESSIONAL HISTORY: Answer 1-7 by checking YES or NO.  If you answer YES, follow directions below. 
 
1. Have you ever been censured, disciplined, dismissed or expelled from, had admissions   YES  NO  

monitored  or restricted, had privileges limited, suspended or terminated, been put on probation,  
or been requested to resign or withdraw from any of the following:     
-Any hospital, nursing home, clinic, or similar institution;  
-Any health maintenance organization, professional partnership, corporation, or similar health practice 
 organization, either private or public; 
-Any professional school, clinical clerkship, internship, externship, preceptorship or postgraduate training program; 
-Any third party reimbursement program, whether governmental or private? 
 

2.   Have you ever had your membership in or certification by any professional society or   YES  NO  
association suspended or revoked for reasons related to professional practice?  

       

3. Has any professional licensing or disciplinary body in any state, the District of Columbia, a United  YES  NO  
States possession or territory, or a foreign jurisdiction, limited, restricted, suspended or revoked  
any professional license, certificate, or registration granted to you, or imposed a fine or reprimand,  
or taken any other disciplinary action against you? 
     

4. Have you ever, in anticipation or during the pendency of an investigation or other disciplinary YES  NO  
 proceeding, voluntarily surrendered any professional license, certificate or registration issued to you 
 by any state, the District of Columbia, a United States possession or territory, or a foreign jurisdiction? 
 

5. Have you ever been subject to, or do you currently have pending, any complaint, investigation,  YES  NO  
 charge, or disciplinary action by any professional licensing or disciplinary body in any state, the  
 District of Columbia, a United States possession or territory, or a foreign jurisdiction or any disciplinary board/committee 

of any branch of the armed services?  You need not report any complaints dismissed 
 as without merit.  
If your answer is "yes" to any of the above questions (1-5), please give full details, names, addresses, etc. on a separate 
NOTARIZED statement. 
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6. Have you ever entered into, or do you currently have pending, a consent agreement of any kind,  YES  NO  
 whetheroral or written, with any professional licensing or disciplinary body in any state, the District  
 of Columbia, a United States possession or territory, any branch of the armed services or a foreign  
 jurisdiction?  
If "yes", give full details, names, addresses, etc. on a separate, NOTARIZED statement.  Also submit a NOTARIZED copy of the 
agreement. 
 

7.  Have you ever been found guilty or convicted as a result of an act which constitutes a felony  YES  NO  
under the laws of this state, federal law or the laws of another jurisdiction and which, if committed 
within this state, would have constituted a felony under the laws of this state?      
 

If "yes", give full details, dates, etc. on a separate NOTARIZED statement and furnish a Certified Court Copy(with court seal affixed) 
of the original complaint, the answer, the judgment, the settlement, and/or the disposition. 
 

 

 
On this _____ day of _____________________________ 20 ____, 
__________________________________ (applicant's  name) personally appeared 
before me, who being duly sworn says that she/he is the person referred to in the 
foregoing application and that the photograph attached hereto is a true picture of 
self and that the statements made herein are true in every respect. 
 
                    _______________________________________ 
                 SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT 
  
Sworn to before me this _____ day of ___________________________ 20_____. 
 

                  ______________________________    My 
commission expires ____________          
        SIGNATURE OF NOTARY PUBLIC     
 

TO BE COMPLETED BY SUPERVISOR 
 

I ________________________________ (full name of supervisor) am a currently licensed Connecticut Hearing Instrument 
Specialist or licensed audiologist authorized to fit hearing aids under chapter 399, licensure number ____________.  I certify 
that, if granted a temporary permit, ________________________________ (full name of permit applicant), will train under my 
direct supervision pursuant to Sections 20-406-4 and 20-406-5, and 20-406-13 and 20-406-14 of the Regulations of Connecticut 
State Agencies.  My office address is _____________________________________________________________ 
and day time telephone number  _______________________. 
 

 
I will immediately notify the Department of Public Health in writing within thirty (30) days should this supervision 
agreement be terminated. 
   _______________________________________ 
        SIGNATURE OF LICENSED SUPERVISOR 
 

On this _____ day of __________________________ 20 ____,  __________________________________ (supervisor's 
name) personally appeared before me, who being duly sworn says that she/he is the person referred to in the foregoing 
document and that the statements made herein are true in every respect. 
 

Sworn to before me this _______ day of ______________________________ 20 ____. 
 

_______________________________________   My commission expires ______________________________ 
    SIGNATURE OF NOTARY PUBLIC     
 
Please return this application and fee for $60.00 (certified check or money order) made payable to, “Treasurer, State of 
Connecticut” to:  

Department of Public Health 
Hearing Instrument Specialist Licensure- Remittance Unit 

410 Capitol Avenue MS# 12MQA 
P.O. Box 340308 

Hartford, CT  06134-0308

 
 
 
 

Tape a recent 
photograph of 

applicant 
here. 

 
DO NOT STAPLE 
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STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
 

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
 

VERIFICATION OF HEARING INSTRUMENT SPECIALIST 
LICENSURE/CERTIFICATION/REGISTRATION

 

TO BE COMPLETED BY APPLICANT 
 

Applicant - Complete the top portion of this form and forward it to each state where you have been licensed as a 
Hearing Instrument Specialist (make copies as necessary). 
 

Name: ___________________________________________________________________________________ 
             Last                                               First                                 Middle                   Maiden 
 
Address:_________________________________________________________________________________ 
                 No. & Street                                                  City                         State         Zip Code 
 
Original License number ______________________________________  Date Issued ____________________ 
                                    (in the state to which the form is being forwarded) 
 
I hereby authorize the ______________________________________________________ to furnish the 
Connecticut Department of Public Health the information requested below. 
 
Signature  _______________________________________    Date: ________________________________ 
 

TO BE COMPLETED BY LICENSING AGENCY ONLY 
 

This is to certify that the above named individual was issued license number _________________ to practice as a 
Hearing Instrument Specialist effective ___________________________________. 
 

Basis for licensure in your state:  Endorsement  Examination  
 

Current Status:  Active        Inactive  Lapsed  
 

Date license expires:  ________________________________________ 
 

Has this individual ever been subjected to disciplinary action of any type or is this individual currently the subject 
of a pending disciplinary action or unresolved complaint?  YES  NO .  If yes, please forward all publicly 
disclosable information regarding the individual’s status and the basis for same. 
 

SEAL                Signed: __________________________________  Title:  __________________________ 
 

                        State:   ___________________________________  Date: __________________________ 
 

Telephone Number: ____________________________________ 
 

Please return to: 
 

Department of Public Health 
HIS Licensure 

410 Capitol Avenue MS# 12APP 
P.O. Box 340308 

Hartford, CT  06134-0308 
(860) 509-7603 

www.dph.state.ct.us 
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CONNECTICUT GENERAL STATUTES 
CHAPTER 398 

HEARING INSTRUMENT SPECIALISTS 
 
Section 20-396.  Definitions. 
As used in this chapter, except as the context may require otherwise: 
(1) "Department" means the department of public health; 
(2) "Commissioner" means the commissioner of public health; 
(3) "Hearing aid" means any wearable instrument or device designed for or offered for the purpose of aiding or 

compensating for impaired human hearing, and any parts, attachments or accessories, excluding batteries, 
earmolds and cords; 

(4) "Practice of fitting hearing aids" means the comprehensive measurement of human hearing and determination 
and use of appropriate amplification related to hearing disorders, including, but not limited to, screening for the 
preexisting otological disorders listed in section 20-403, the making of impressions for earmolds, the making 
of selections and adaptation of hearing aids and the instruction and counseling in their use; 

(5) "Licensed hearing instrument specialist" means a person, other than an audiologist, or physician, licensed to 
engage in the practice of fitting or selling hearing aids; 

(6) "Sell" or "sale" means any transfer of title or of the right to use by lease, or any other contract, for a 
consideration, excluding wholesale transactions with distributors or hearing instrument specialists; 

(7) "Otolaryngologist" means a physician licensed under chapter 370 who is certified by the American Board of 
Otolaryngology and includes physicians in training programs approved by the American Board of 
Otolaryngology; 

(8) "Audiologist" means a person who is licensed under chapter 399 as an audiologist; 
(9) "Used hearing aid" means a hearing aid that has been previously sold, leased or rented to a hearing aid user. 
 
Section 20-398.  License required; qualifications; examination; fees. 
(a) No person may engage in the practice of fitting or selling hearing aids, or display a sign or in any other way 

advertise or claim to be a person who sells or engages in the practice of fitting or selling hearing aids unless 
such person has obtained a license under this chapter or as an audiologist under chapter 399.  No person 
may receive a license, except as provided in subsection (b), of this subsection unless such person has 
submitted proof satisfactory to the department that such person has completed a four-year course at an 
approved high school or has an equivalent education as determined by the department; has satisfactorily 
completed a course of study in the fitting and selling of hearing aids or a period of training approved by the 
department; and has satisfactorily passed a written, oral and practical examination given by the department.  
Application for the examination shall be on forms prescribed and furnished by the department.  Examinations 
shall be given at least twice yearly.  The fee for the examination shall be two hundred dollars; and for the 
initial license and each renewal thereof shall be two hundred and fifty dollars. 

(b) Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit a corporation, partnership, trust, association or other like organization 
maintaining an established business address from engaging in the business of selling or offering for sale 
hearing aids at retail, provided such organization employs only persons licensed, in accordance with the 
provisions of this chapter or as audiologists under chapter 399, in the direct sale and fitting of such products. 

(c) Nothing in this chapter shall prohibit a hearing instrument specialist licensed under this chapter from making 
impressions for ear molds or a physician licensed in this state or an audiologist licensed under the provisions 
of chapter 399, from making impressions for ear molds in the course of such person’s clinical practice. 

 
 
Section 20-399.  Licensure of out-of-state licensees. 
Whenever the department determines that another state or jurisdiction has requirements equivalent to or higher 
than those established pursuant to this chapter and that such state or jurisdiction has a program equivalent to or 
stricter than the program for determining whether applicants pursuant to this chapter are qualified to fit or sell 
hearing aids, the department may issue licenses, on payment of the license fee provided in section 20-398, to 
applicants who hold current, unsuspended and unrevoked certificates or licenses to fit and sell hearing aids in 
such other state or jurisdiction.  No such applicants for licensure shall be required to submit to or undergo a 
qualifying examination.  No license shall be issued without examination under this section to any applicant against 
whom professional disciplinary action is pending or who is the subject of an unresolved complaint. 
 
Section 20-400.  Temporary Permit. 
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(a) A temporary permit may be issued to a person who has submitted proof satisfactory to the department that the 
applicant has completed a four-year course at an approved high school or has an equivalent education as 
determined by the department, upon application on forms prescribed and furnished by the department, 
accompanied by a fee of sixty dollars.  A temporary permit shall entitle the applicant to engage in the fitting or 
sale of hearing aids for a period of one year under the direct supervision and training of a person holding a 
valid hearing instrument dispenser’s license or a license as an audiologist under chapter 399 or while enrolled 
in a course of study approved by the department, except that a person who holds a temporary permit shall be 
excluded from making selections of hearing aids. 

 
(b) If a person who holds a temporary permit under this section has not successfully passed the licensing 

examination within one year from the date of its issuance, the temporary permit may be renewed once upon a 
payment of a sixty dollar fee for such renewal. 

 
Section 20-401.  Business address to be furnished department.  Posting of license.  Notices to licensees.   
(a) A person who holds a license under this chapter or as an audiologist under chapter 399 shall notify the 

department in writing of the regular address of the place or places where such person engages or intends to 
engage in the fitting or sale of hearing aids and shall notify the department in writing of any change in such 
person’s regular place of business and of the new address or addresses of the place or places where such 
person intends to engage in the fitting or sale of hearing aids at least ten days prior to such change. 

(b) The department shall keep a record of the places of business of licensees. 
(c) The licensee shall conspicuously post the license in the licensee’s office or place of business.  Duplicate 

licenses shall be issued by the Commissioner to valid license holders operating more than one office, without 
additional payment. 

(d) Any notice required to be given by the Commissioner under this chapter to a person who holds a license shall 
be mailed to the person by certified mail to the address of the last place of business shown in the department 
records. 

 
Section 20-402.  Renewal of license. 
Continuing education requirements. Reinstatement of void licenses. (a) Licenses issued under this chapter shall 
be renewed once every two years, in accordance with the provisions of section 19a-88, on payment of the 
renewal fee of two hundred dollars to the department and on production of evidence of satisfactory completion of 
continuing education requirements established by the Commissioner of Public Health, in accordance with 
subsection (b) of this section. 
 
(b) (1) Except as provided in subsection (c) of this section, for registration periods beginning on and after October 
1, 2014, a licensee applying for license renewal shall earn not less than sixteen hours of continuing education 
within the preceding twenty-four-month period. Such continuing education shall consist of courses offered or 
approved by the International Hearing Society, the American Academy of Audiology or the American Speech-
Language Hearing Association or such successor organizations as may be approved by the Commissioner of 
Public Health. 
 
(2) Each licensee applying for license renewal pursuant to section 19a-88, except a licensee applying for a 
license renewal for the first time, shall sign a statement attesting that he or she has satisfied the continuing 
education requirements described in subdivision (1) of this subsection on a form prescribed by the department. 
Each licensee shall retain records of attendance or certificates of completion that demonstrate compliance with 
the continuing education requirements described in subdivision (1) of this subsection for not less than three years 
following the date on which the continuing education was completed. Each licensee shall submit such records to 
the department for inspection not later than forty-five days after a request by the department for such records. 
 
(3) In individual cases involving medical disability or illness, the commissioner may grant a waiver of the 
continuing education requirements or an extension of time within which to fulfill such requirements of this 
subsection to any licensee, provided the licensee submits to the department an application for waiver or extension 
of time on a form prescribed by the commissioner, along with a certification by a licensed physician of the 
disability or illness and such other documentation as may be required by the department. The commissioner may 
grant a waiver or extension for a period not to exceed one registration period, except that the commissioner may 
grant additional waivers or extensions if the medical disability or illness upon which a waiver or extension is 
granted continues beyond the period of the waiver or extension and the licensee applies for an additional waiver 
or extension. 
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(c) A licensee applying for the first time for license renewal pursuant to section 19a-88 is exempt from the 
continuing education requirements of this section. 
 
(d) A licensee whose license has become void pursuant to section 19a-88 and who applies to the department for 
reinstatement of such license, shall submit evidence documenting the successful completion of eight hours of 
continuing education within the one-year period immediately preceding application for reinstatement. 
 
Section 20-402a.  Thirty-day trial period.  Buyer's right to cancel. 
(a) No hearing aid shall be sold to any purchaser unless accompanied in writing by a thirty-day trial period 

providing that if such purchaser returns the hearing aid in the same condition as when purchased, ordinary 
wear and tear excepted, within thirty days of the date of receipt of such hearing aid by such purchaser, such 
purchaser shall be entitled to free adjustment of such hearing aid or the return of the full purchase price of the 
hearing aid and accessories as itemized on the receipt therefore pursuant to subdivision (9) of section 20-404, 
as amended by Public Act 99-111, whichever the purchaser desires; provided, a hearing instrument specialist 
and audiologist may retain as a cancellation fee for return of the hearing aid a charge not in excess of twelve 
percent of the purchase price, excluding charges for any custom earmold and batteries.  The charge for any 
custom earmold and any supply of batteries shall not exceed the seller's regular selling price for such earmold 
and batteries.  In computing the actual cost, all rebates, discounts, and other similar allowances provided to 
the seller shall be considered. 

 
(b) Every hearing instrument specialist and audiologist shall include in every receipt and contract pertaining to a 

sale, in reasonable proximity to the space reserved for the signature of the buyer, or on the first page if there 
is no space reserved for the signature of the buyer, a clear and conspicuous disclosure of the following 
specific statement in all capital letters of no less than twelve point boldface type of uniform font and in an 
easily readable style: THE BUYER HAS THE RIGHT TO CANCEL THIS PURCHASE OR RENTAL FOR ANY 
REASON AT ANY TIME PRIOR TO MIDNIGHT OF THE THIRTIETH CALENDAR DAY AFTER RECEIPT OF 
THE HEARING AID.  A CANCELLATION FEE OF TWELVE PERCENT OF THE PURCHASE PRICE MAY BE 
IMPOSED. 

 
(c) Every hearing aid dealer, audiologist, corporation, partnership, trust, association or like organization that 

engages in the sale of hearing aids at retail shall include in every receipt, contract or order pertaining to the 
sale of a hearing aid, in reasonable proximity to the space reserved for the signature of the buyer, or on the 
first page if there is no space reserved for the signature of the buyer, a clear and conspicuous disclosure of 
the following specific statement in all capital letters of no less than twelve point boldface type of uniform font 
and in an easily readable style:  ANY BUYER WHO ORDERS A HEARING AID AND LEAVES A DEPOSIT 
OF ONE HUNDRED DOLLARS OR MORE WITH THE SELLER SHALL BE ENTITLED TO CANCEL SUCH 
ORDER AND DEMAND A FULL REFUND OF SUCH DEPOSIT, LESS ANY EXAMINATION COSTS, IF THE 
BUYER IS UNABLE TO INSPECT THE HEARING AID AT THE SELLER’S PLACE OF BUSINESS WITHIN 
FORTY-FIVE DAYS AFTER THE DATE THE SELLER RECEIVES THE DEPOSIT. 

 
Section 20-403.  Consumer to be advised to seek medical care, when. 
Anyone who has a history of: (1) Visible congenital or traumatic deformity of the ear; (2) active drainage from the 
ear within the previous ninety days; (3) sudden, or rapidly progressive, hearing loss within the previous ninety 
days; (4) acute or chronic dizziness; (5) unilateral hearing loss of sudden or recent onset within the previous 
ninety days; (6) audiometric air-bone gap equal to, or greater than, fifteen decibels at five hundred hertz (Hz), one 
thousand Hz, and two thousand Hz; (7) visible evidence of cerumen accumulation, or a foreign body in the ear 
canal; and (8) pain or discomfort in the ear within the previous sixty days shall be advised by the hearing 
instrument specialist to consult a physician or an otolaryngologist, prior to fitting of the hearing aid.  A written 
statement, stating the consumer has been advised of such, shall accompany any sale of a hearing aid. 
 
Section 20-404.  Disciplinary action; grounds. 
(a) The department may suspend or revoke the license of a hearing instrument specialist, after notice and 

hearing as provided in the regulations adopted by the Commissioner, or may reprimand or take any of the 
actions set forth in section 19a-17, for any of the following causes: 
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(1) The conviction of a crime in the course of professional activities.  The record of conviction, or a certified 
copy thereof, certified by the clerk of the court or by the judge in whose court the conviction is had, shall 
be conclusive evidence of such conviction; 

(2) Procuring of a license by fraud or deceit practiced upon the department; 
(3) Unethical conduct, including: (A) The obtaining of any fee or the making of any sale by fraud or 

misrepresentation; (B) knowingly employing directly or indirectly any unlicensed person or any person 
whose license has been suspended to perform any work covered by this chapter; (C) engaging in fraud or 
material deception in the course of professional activities; 

(4) Incompetence or negligence in fitting or selling hearing aids; 
(5) Selling a hearing aid to a person under the age of eighteen without a prior ear examination by an 

otolaryngologist and an audiological examination performed or supervised by an audiologist; 
(6) Fitting or selling a hearing aid to anyone who has a history of ear infection within the previous ninety days 

without requiring an examination by an otolaryngologist; 
(7) Failure to comply with the examination procedures and tests prescribed in the regulations adopted under 

this chapter; 
(8) Failure to properly supervise an individual holding a temporary permit under section 20-400 as amended 

by Public Act 99-111; 
(9) Failure to furnish to a person supplied a hearing aid a receipt containing the date of delivery of the hearing 

aid to such person, the licensee's signature, business address, license number, serial number of the 
hearing aid, the model name and model number of the hearing aid, the full terms of sale, including terms 
of a manufacturer's and licensee's warranties and trial period, provided in section 20-402a, as amended 
by Public Act 99-111, and a statement of whether the hearing aid sold is new, used or reconditioned; 

(10) Failure to retain for three years from the date of delivery of the hearing aid to the purchaser records 
containing the name and address of each purchaser of a hearing aid under a sale made by such hearing 
instrument specialist, a copy of such purchaser's audiogram and all information required on a receipt 
under subdivision (9) of this subsection; 

(11) Violating any provision of this chapter or of the regulations promulgated thereunder; 
(12) Violating any provision of the Food and Drug Administration regulations pertaining to hearing instrument 

specialists adopted under Title 21, professional and patent labeling and conditions for sale, or any 
provision of any regulation pertaining to hearing instrument specialists adopted by the Federal Trade 
Commission; 

(13) Physical or mental illness, emotional disorder or loss of motor skill, including but not limited to, 
deterioration through the aging process, of the license holder; or 

(14) Abuse or excessive use of drugs, including alcohol, narcotics or chemicals. 
 
(b) The Commissioner may order a license holder to submit to a reasonable physical or mental examination if the 

license holder’s physical or mental capacity to practice safely is the subject of an investigation.  The 
Commissioner may petition the superior court for the judicial district of Hartford to enforce such order or any 
action taken pursuant to section 19a-17. 

 
(c) The Attorney General shall represent the Commissioner at all formal hearings held under this chapter. 
 
(d) The Department may reissue any license that has been revoked and may modify the suspension of any 

license that has been suspended. 
 
Section 20-406.  Regulations. 
The Commissioner of Public Health shall adopt regulations in accordance with the provisions of chapter 54, for 
the administration of this chapter and for the conduct of the practice of fitting or selling hearing aids. 
 
Section 20-407.  Penalty. 
Any person who violates any provision of this chapter shall for each offense be fined not more than five hundred 
dollars or be imprisoned for not more than ninety days or both. 

 
 
 
 

REGULATIONS OF CONNECTICUT STATE AGENCIES 
HEARING AID DEALERS 
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Sec. 20-406-1.  Definitions 
(a)  "Department" means the department of health services. 
(b)  "Regular place of business" means that location at which a licensee engaging in the fitting and sale of 

hearing aids holds himself out to be physically available to the public. 
 
Sec. 20-406-4.  Course of Study 
(a) The course of study, as required by section 20-398(a) of the Connecticut General Statutes, shall consist of 

two parts: a formal course of instruction approved by the department of health services and a practical course 
of study of not less than forty (40) hours of instruction administered by a Connecticut-licensed hearing aid 
dealer.  Both parts of the course of study shall include the following areas of study: 

 
(1)  the basic physics of sound; 
(2)  anatomy and physiology of the ear; 
(3)  the function of hearing aids; 
(4)  practical knowledge of fitting and dispensing hearing aids; 
(5)  the taking of ear mold impressions; and  
(6)  use of equipment employed in the fitting and dispensing of hearing aids. 

 
 The practical course of study shall also include instruction in the provisions of the Connecticut General 
Statutes, sections 20-396 through 20-407, inclusive, as most recently amended, these regulations, and any 
federal laws and regulations governing the sale and fitting of hearing aid devices. 
 The hearing aid dealer providing the practical course of study shall document in writing to the department of 
health services the dates and successful completion of the forty hours of practical instruction. 
 In lieu of the course of study described in subsection (a) of this section, an applicant may substitute 
successful completion of either a master's degree in audiology from a regionally accredited institution of higher 
education or a post-secondary course in hearing aid dispensing at a regionally accredited institution of higher 
education.  In either case, the program shall contain the content areas described in subdivisions (1) through (6), 
inclusive, of subsection (a) of this section.  Candidates shall provide such documentation as the department may 
request to verify that the master's degree program or post-secondary course contained the required content 
areas. 
 A person engaged in a course of study and holding a temporary permit may engage in activities authorized by 
Chapter 398 of the Connecticut General Statutes, as amended, only under the supervision of a Connecticut-
licensed hearing aid dealer.  Such person shall cause to be documented in writing to the department of health 
services the dates and successful completion of the course of study. 
 
Sec. 20-406-5.  Period of training 
(a) Each applicant who has not completed a course of study, as described in Section 20-406-4, as amended by 

section 2 of these regulations, shall complete a period of training as required by Section 20-398(a) of the 
Connecticut General Statutes.  The period of training shall be supervised by a Connecticut-licensed hearing 
aid dealer in good standing and shall consist of at least twenty weeks of training, each week to include not 
less than 30 hours of supervised work experience.  A practical course of study of not less than forty hours of 
instruction covering the content areas specified in subsections (a) and (b) of Section 20-406-4, as amended, 
by these regulations, shall be completed as part of the twenty-week period of training.  Any person engaged in 
a period of training and holding a temporary permit may engage in activities authorized by Chapter 398 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes, as amended, only under the supervision of a Connecticut-licensed hearing aid 
dealer. 

(b) The supervising hearing aid dealer shall document in writing to the department of health services the 
successful completion of the training period specified in subsection (a) of this section, specifying the dates of 
training, content areas of training, evaluation of knowledge and skills learned, and the fitting and dispensing 
activities completed.  The supervisor shall certify that the applicant has, in his opinion, satisfactorily completed 
the period of training. 

 
Sec. 20-406-9.  Equipment and procedures 
(a) Each licensed hearing aid dealer and each person holding a temporary permit shall comply with the following 

while testing for the fitting or sale of any hearing aid: 
(1)  test in a room which shall have a maximum ambient noise level of fifty-five (55) dBA slow scale; and 
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(2)  within six (6) months after the adoption of these regulations, employ audiometers which conform to the 
standards of the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) approved by the department. 
 

(b) Each licensed hearing aid dealer and each person holding a temporary permit shall maintain a copy of the 
calibration certificate of each audiometer used during the preceding year.  For the purposes of this provision 
the term "the preceding year" shall mean the twelve month period ending on the thirty-first day of August 
immediately prior to said September first.  The calibration certificate shall bear the name and address of the 
calibrator and shall state that the calibration was done according to the requirements of the standards of ANSI 
approved by the department.  Said certificate shall be available to the department for review. 

(c) Biological checks of audiometers shall be accomplished at least once a month and records of such checks 
shall be maintained for at least three (3) years. 

(d) The department may make random unannounced examinations or inspections of any audiometric facility. 
(e) Prospective hearing aid purchasers who, during testing, fitting and taking of history evince any of the 

following, shall be advised to consult a physician or an otolaryngologist (ear, nose and throat specialist), and a 
written statement regarding such advice shall accompany the sale of a hearing aid and proof of receipt by the 
purchaser shall be maintained on file: 
(1)  visible congenital or traumatic deformity or injury to the ear; 
(2)  a history of, or active drainage from the ear within the previous ninety (90) days, or complaint of ear pain 

or discomfort within the previous sixty (60) days; 
(3)  a history of sudden or rapidly progressive hearing loss within the previous ninety (90) days; 
(4)  complaint of acute or chronic dizziness; 
(5)  unilateral hearing loss of sudden or recent onset within the previous ninety (90) days; 
(6)  an audiometric air-bone gap of 15 dB or greater at 500, 1000, or 2000 Hz; 
(7)  visible evidence of cerumen accumulation or a foreign body in the ear canal; 
(8)  a history of, or onset of, or changes in tinnitus within the previous sixty (60) days. 

(f)  (1)  Testing by a licensed hearing aid dealer or each person holding a temporary permit for the purpose of 
fitting and selling hearing aids shall be conducted as follows: 

(a) pure tone testing for air conduction from 250 through 8000 Hz, with masking where appropriate; 
(b) pure tone testing for bone conduction from 250 through 4000 Hz, with masking where appropriate; 
(c) speech testing to determine the feasibility of the use of a hearing aid by means of formalized 

audiometry or by the use of a master or live hearing aid. 
 (2)  The tests described in subsection (f) (1) of this regulation may be omitted, in whole or in part when 
prohibited or expressly not required, by a licensed physician or an otolaryngologist in writing, or when an 
audiological examination incorporating at least the requirements of section 20-406 (f) (1) of these regulations 
performed by a licensed audiologist or a licensed physician has been performed upon the prospective 
hearing aid purchaser within the ninety (90) days preceding, and a copy of the results furnished to the 
licensed hearing aid dealer or the person holding a temporary permit. 

 
Sec. 20-406-10.  Sales to person under the age of eighteen 
No licensed hearing aid dealer or person holding a temporary permit shall sell a hearing aid to a person under the 
age of eighteen (18) unless no more than ninety (90) days shall have elapsed since the later to occur of (a) the 
otolaryngological examination, or (b) the audiological examination, which are required by section 20-404 (a) (6) of 
the Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Sec. 20-406-13.  Temporary Permit 
(a) A temporary permittee may engage in activities authorized by Chapter 398 of the Connecticut General 

Statutes, as amended, only under the supervision of a Connecticut-licensed hearing aid dealer.  Supervision 
requires the supervisor to review and approve all work, and sign and date all records, except that, while a 
temporary permittee engaged in a course of study or a period of training is completing the initial eight weeks 
of activity under a temporary permit, he may engage in activities authorized by Chapter 398 of the Connecticut 
General Statutes, as amended, only in the presence of a licensed hearing aid dealer.  The supervisor is 
responsible for all activities of the temporary permittee, in so far as these activities are regulated by Chapter 
398 of the Connecticut General Statutes.  Any violation by a temporary permittee of any state or federal 
statute or regulation pertaining to hearing aid devices or the fitting or dispensing of hearing aid devices shall 
be deemed a violation by the supervising hearing aid dealer as well as the temporary permittee.  A temporary 
permittee shall apply for and take the licensure examination prescribed pursuant to subsection (a) of section 
20-398 no later than 12 months following issuance of the temporary permit, and, if unsuccessful on such 
examination, shall take each subsequent licensure examination scheduled during the effective period of his 
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temporary permit.  A temporary permittee who fails to take an examination required by this subsection or who 
fails an examination shall, for a period of four weeks from the date of receipt of failing examination results by 
the temporary permittee or from the date of an examination not taken, engage in activities authorized by 
Chapter 398 of the Connecticut General Statutes, as amended, only in the presence and under the training of 
a licensed hearing aid dealer. 

(b) The department shall issue a temporary permit to a qualified applicant only upon receipt of certification from a 
Connecticut-licensed hearing aid dealer that supervision shall be provided by the licensee.  The temporary 
permit shall be valid for a one year period, limited to employment under the supervision of the specified 
licensed hearing aid dealer.  In the event that a temporary permittee discontinues employment with the 
supervising hearing aid dealer, the temporary permit shall become void.  The department shall re-issue the 
temporary permit without a fee, for any unused portion of the one year period, upon receipt of certification 
from a Connecticut-licensed hearing aid dealer that supervision shall be provided by the licensee.  When 
engaging in the fitting or selling of hearing aids, a temporary permittee shall represent himself at all times as a 
person holding a temporary permit pursuant to Chapter 398 of the Connecticut General Statutes. 

(c) A temporary permittee shall not independently own or operate a hearing aid establishment or branch office 
nor in any other way shall he independently provide services in the fitting or selling of hearing aids. 

(d) No more than four permittees may be under the supervision of a single licensed hearing aid dealer at any 
time. 

(e) The supervising licensee shall immediately notify the department in writing if the supervisory relationship 
specified in section 20-400(a) of the Connecticut General Statutes is terminated. 

(f) The supervising licensee is responsible for ensuring that an unlicensed individual employed under his training 
and supervision holds a current, valid temporary permit at all times that such individual engages in any 
commercial activity in hearing aid fitting and dispensing. 

 
 
Sec. 20-406-14.  License or Permit Required 
Any person evaluating customers for the fitting of a hearing aid device or fitting or dispensing such devices shall 
either be licensed to perform such functions or shall hold a temporary permit pursuant to Chapter 398 of the 
Connecticut General Statutes. 
 
Sec. 20-406-15.  Time Limit for Refund 
Any purchaser of a hearing aid entitled to a refund pursuant to Connecticut General Statutes, subsection (a) of 
section 20-402a, shall be given such refund within 60 days of his request. 


