Living Services for Persons with Disabilities

12 of 12 Results

  • Autism Spectrum Disorder - ASD

    Effective January 1, 2015, the Department of Social Services expanded its coverage of Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) evaluation and treatment services for Medicaid enrolled members (HUSKY A, C, or D) under the age of 21 for whom ASD services are medically necessary.

    Agency: Department of Social Services
  • Community Living Arrangements (CLAs)

    Community Living Arrangements (CLA) also known as group homes, are operated by the Department of Developmental Services (DDS) or private agencies that offer individuals the opportunity to live in typical community housing. Homes are small in size and generally serve six or fewer individuals.

    Agency: Department of Social Services
  • Community Options

    The State of Connecticut offers a variety of services to help eligible individuals who need support to live at home or to return to community living. Many of the programs are administered under a Medicaid ‘waiver,’ meaning that Connecticut has received federal approval to waive certain Medicaid requirements to meet the service needs of older adults and adults with disabilities in the community.

    Agency: Department of Social Services
  • Connecticut Home Care Program for Elders (CHCPE)

    This program provides services to help eligible residents live in the community. Eligible applicants must be 65 years of age or older, be at risk of nursing home placement and meet the program’s financial eligibility criteria. To be at risk of nursing home placement means that the applicant needs assistance with critical needs such as bathing, dressing, eating, taking medications and toileting. CHCPE helps clients continue living at home instead of going to a nursing home. Each applicant’s needs are reviewed to determine if he/she may remain at home with the help of home care services.

    Agency: Department of Social Services
  • Connecticut Tech Act Program

    Helps individuals with disabilities of all ages and all disabilities, as well as family members, employers, educators and other professionals have access to Assistive Technology devices and services.

    Agency: Department of Rehabilitation Services
  • Driver Training Program for Persons with Disabilities

    Driver training program for persons with disabilities can help any qualified permanent Connecticut resident who requires special equipment in order to operate a motor vehicle. This is the only state-operated program of this type in the U.S. There is no charge for this training.

    Agency: Department of Rehabilitation Services
  • Independent Living Services

    Adult and children services who are legally blind or visually impaired. BESB can provide information, education, and training in all areas of independent living to promote full community participation.

    Agency: Department of Rehabilitation Services
  • Judicial Branch ADA Information

    Members of the public with questions about the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) can read about the law, find resources and contact people and get information about filing complaints and accessibility requests.

    Agency: Judicial Branch
  • Library Services for Persons with Disabilities

    An outline of some of the resources, programs and technology available to libraries to help people with disabilities access library collections and services.   Library Services for People with Disabilities

    Agency: Connecticut State Library
  • Long-Term Care

    Governor Dannel P. Malloy, joined by Department of Social Services Commissioner Roderick L. Bremby and Office of Policy and Management Undersecretary Anne Foley, announced the release of Connecticut’s Strategic Plan to Rebalance Long-Term Services and Supports, including a town-by-town projection of Connecticut’s long-term care needs and strategies to meet those needs, on January 29, 2013.

    Agency: Department of Social Services
  • Residential Care Homes (RCH)

    Beginning in November 2015, staff from the DSS Home and Community Based Services Unit will be visiting all Residential Care Homes that house persons receiving services under the Home Care Program for Elders. The purpose of the visit is to assess the homes' compliance with the settings requirements issued by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) in January of 2014.

    Agency: Department of Social Services
  • Traumatic Brain Injury Implementation Project

    More than 5.3 million Americans live with a disability as a result of a traumatic brain injury (TBI). Many of these individuals and their families are confronted with inadequate or unavailable services and supports that specifically address the health, behavioral, psychological, and cognitive issues created by traumatic brain injury (TBI).

    Agency: Department of Social Services