Laws/RegulationsIn 1996, federal law put special work requirements in place for Able-Bodied Adults Without Dependents (ABAWDs) receiving SNAP benefits. An ABAWD is a person who is aged 18 up to 50 years old who is fit for employment and has no dependents under the age of 18 living with him or her. An ABAWD can only receive SNAP benefits for 3 months out of a 36 month period if he or she does not meet special ABAWD work requirements.
Like many states, Connecticut was able to waive (be excused from) the ABAWD time limit for the entire state, beginning in 2009, due to the unemployment rates at the time.
With better unemployment rates now, Connecticut is no longer able to be excused from the federal time limit for the entire state. Beginning January 1, 2016, residents of only 82 cities and towns will be excused from the federal time limit, based on a review of their unemployment rates.