Naloxone is an opioid antagonist that blocks the effects of opioids such as heroin, oxycodone, hydrocodone, fentanyl, codeine, and methadone. In response to the increasing number of opioid-related fatal overdoses in Connecticut, the Department of Public Health is sponsoring a pilot program that is distributing intra-nasal naloxone (NarcanĀ©), along with opioid overdose prevention education, to opioid users and to trusted people in their lives such as family, friends, and staff of human services programs.  Please visit the Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services  website for additional information about Opioid Overdose Prevention and Naloxone.

Emergency responders including paramedics and emergency room physicians have been using naloxone since the 1970's to revive people who are experiencing an opioid overdose. Many programs nationally, and now here in Connecticut have been making this life-saving medication available to people who are most likely to witness an overdose. For more information, about the resources available through this pilot program, please contact one of our overdose education and naloxone distribution programs:

 

 

 

 

CONTACT NAME

 

 

AGENCY

 

 

TELEPHONE NUMBER

 

 

EMAIL

 

 

REGION

 

 

 

DISTRIBUTES NALOXONE?

 

 

PROVIDES OD TRAINING?

 

Julia Telfer  /

Shawn Lang

AIDS CT

860-247-2437

jtelfer@aids-ct.org /

slang@aids-ct.org

Hartford

YES

YES

Mark Jenkins /

Chris Heneghan

Greater Hartford Harm Reduction Coalition

860-250-4146

markj@ghhrc.org /

cheneghan0@gmail.com

Hartford

YES

YES

Brooke Logan /

Desiree White

New Haven Health Department

203-901-7687

blogan@newhavenct.gov/

dwhite@newhavenct.gov 

New Haven

YES

YES

Nancy Kingwood

GBAPP Harm Reduction Recovery Network of Programs

203-366-8255

nkingwood@gbapp.org

Bridgeport

YES

NO

Joanne Montgomery

AIDS Project Greater Danbury

203-797-1483

Joanne.mntgmry@yahoo.com

Danbury

YES

YES

Kelly Thompson

Alliance for Living

860-447-0884

kthompson@allianceforliving.org

New London

YES

NO

Susan Clark-Levin

Community Member

860-287-2527

sueclarklevin@yahoo.com

Middletown

YES

YES

Jordan Levin

Community Member

860-800-4871

Jlev87@gmail.com

New London

YES

YES

Sarah Butterfield

Perception Programs

860-450-7248

Sarah.butterfield@perceptionprograms.org

Willimantic

YES

YES

 

Contact:

Marianne Buchelli, MPH, MBA

860-509-8053