Fire Official Exam Schedules, Applications, Study Materials, and Testing Policies


For Fire Officials

There are three criteria that you must meet in order to become a certified Fire Marshal in Connecticut:

  1. You must be certified as a Fire Code Inspector
  2. You must be certified as a Fire Investigator
  3. You must meet one of the minimum standards of qualification Opens in a new window for local fire marshals as established in C.G.S. 29-298(a) Opens in a new window Opens in a new window Opens in a new window Opens in a new window

To be approved to take the challenge exam for Fire Code Inspector or Fire Investigator, you must first demonstrate that you meet the following criteria:

  1. Candidate must be at least 18 years of age
  2. Candidate must have a high school diploma or equivalent

Because of the length of the written Fire Code Inspector exam (five hours) and the written Fire Investigator exam (four hours), you can only take one exam per quarter.  The practical Fire Investigator exam (two hours) is offered twice a year. 

To pass either fire examination, you must achieve a minimum overall score of 70%. Once you have passed the exam, you will be certified.