

For Immediate Release: December 19, 2016

For more information:

Patrick Gallahue: (860) 509-6255

Cell: (860) 463-5939

- PRESS RELEASE -

SECRETARY MERRILL PRESIDES OVER CONNECTICUT'S 2016 ELECTORAL COLLEGE VOTE

HARTFORD: Today Secretary of the State Denise Merrill presided over the vote of the Electoral College. As the winner of Connecticut, the state's seven electors cast ballots for Hillary Clinton for president and Tim Kaine for vice president. It is the 19th time that Connecticut's electors were pledged to the unsuccessful candidates.

Secretary Merrill said, "In 2016 we had record numbers of people who registered and cast votes. I do hope we see that level of engagement continue in our communities in the months and years ahead. Democracy does not begin and end on Election Day."

The vote was held in the Senate chambers at the state Capitol at noon with school children, civic activists, elected officials and others in attendance.

As set forth in the U.S. Constitution, the number of electoral votes is equal to the number of representatives in Congress. With two U.S. Senators and five members of the U.S. House of Representatives, Connecticut is awarded seven electoral votes.

A slate of seven electors were chosen by their political parties and elected on November 8, 2016.

With 897,572 votes (or 54.57 percent) for the Clinton/Kaine ticket—versus 673,215 votes (40.93 percent) for Trump/ Pence—Connecticut voters elected the Democratic Party electors. The state's seven electors are: Hon. Robert D. Godfrey (Danbury); Barbara C. Gordon (West Hartford); Steven James Jones (Tolland); Ellen S. Nurse (Hartford); Edward F. Piazza (New Haven); Hon.

Christopher Rosario (Bridgeport) and Jeanette Morrison (New Haven) who replaced Tyisha S. Walker (New Haven).

After the votes were cast, the ballots were then wax-sealed by staff of the Secretary of the State's office. They are then delivered to Congress, where a joint session of the House and Senate will take place on January 6, 2017 to officially count the ballots from all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

The midday ceremony was broadcast live on CT-N and featured the pledge of Allegiance by Connecticut's incoming and outgoing Kid Governors, Elena Tipton (2015) and Jessica Brocksom (2016); the national anthem by American Idol contestant Famecia Ward as well as the Benediction by Reverend Virginia Army, rector of St. John's Episcopal Church in Vernon. The invocation was delivered by Dr. Mohammed Qureshi, president of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community, Connecticut Chapter, which saw its Baitul Aman Mosque shot at last year. When the gunman was captured the members of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community offered forgiveness and have used the incident to promote dialogue throughout the state.