

For Immediate Release: August 1, 2016 For more information: Patrick Gallahue: (860) 509-6255 Cell: (860) 463-5939

- PRESS RELEASE -IMPORTANT PRIMARY DEADLINES APPROACHING

HARTFORD: Connecticut Secretary of the State Denise W. Merrill is alerting voters that important deadlines for the August 9 primaries are fast approaching.

The deadline for new or unaffiliated voters to register in person with the local registrar of voters or town clerk of the town of residence is **noon on August 8**.

The deadline for new or unaffiliated voters to register for the primary **by mail or online is August 4**. The mail-in application of new or unaffiliated voters must be received by the town registrar—or a voter registration agency or the Department of Motor Vehicles—by **August 4**.

Secretary Merrill said, "Local elections are arguably when the voters have the greatest impact. If there is a primary in your town, please don't miss the opportunity to choose who will represent your party on the ballot in November."

On August 9, polls will be open for registered Democrats and Republicans from 6:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Voters can visit myvote.ct.gov to learn how to register, check their registration, find their polling locations and download absentee ballot applications.

The following primaries reported to the Office of the Secretary of the State will be on the ballot on August 9, 2016 (* denotes party endorsed candidate):

Office	Town	Party	<u>Candidates</u>
State Senate - 06	New Britain	Democrat	*Terry Bielinski Gerratana
			Sharon Beloin-Saavedra

State Senate - 22	Bridgeport	Democrat	*Thomas C. McCarthy
			Marilyn V. Moore
State Senate - 23	Bridgeport	Democrat	*Dennis Bradley
			Ed Gomes
Assembly District -	New London	Democrat	*Ernest Hewett
39			Chris Soto
Assembly District -	Winchester,	Republican	*Jay M. Case
63	Colebrook,	-	David G. LaPointe
	Goshen,		
	Torrington		
Assembly District -	Bristol	Democrat	*Laura Bartok
77			Christy Matthews
Assembly District -	Hamden	Democrat	*James Pascarella
88			Joshua Elliott
Assembly District -	Shelton	Republican	*Jason Perillo
113		_	Ruth Parkins
Assembly District -	West Haven	Democrat	*Michael A. DiMassa
116			Louis P. Esposito, Jr.
Assembly District -	Bridgeport	Democrat	*Andre F. Baker, Jr.
124			Charles J. Coviello, Jr.
Assembly District -	Bridgeport	Democrat	*Charlie Stallworth
126			Maria H. Pereira
Assembly District -	Stamford	Democrat	*Terry B. Adams
146			Dan Dauplaise
Registrar of Voters	New Britain	Democrat	*Michael W. Trueworthy
			Lucian J. Pawlak
Registrar of Voters	West Haven	Democrat	*Sherri Lepper
			Patricia Horvath
Judge of Probate to	West Hartford	Democrat	*Owen Eagan
Fill Vacancy - 02			Michael J. Croll
Judge of Probate to	Bethel/Ridgefield	Republican	Patrick J. Walsh
Fill Vacancy - 45			Daniel O'Grady

-30-