--- News Release ---

National Association of Secretaries of State Names Denise W. Merrill as President

National Officers Sworn Into Office for 2016-2017

For Immediate Release July 18, 2016

NASHVILLE, TN - The National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS) has inducted Connecticut Secretary of State Denise W. Merrill as president of the association, the nation's oldest nonpartisan professional organization for state officials. She will serve a one year-term ending in July 2017.

"I want to express deep appreciation to my state colleagues for their confidence in allowing me to lead this organization through an historic election cycle," said **Merrill**, who was sworn into office on July 17 at the NASS 2016 Summer Conference in Nashville, Tennessee. "I hope that my strong record of commitment to bipartisanship and effective governance will help guide NASS to continued success and growth."

Merrill has served as Connecticut's Secretary of State since 2011. As the state's chief elections official and business registrar, she has focused on modernizing Connecticut's elections and business services, as well as improving access to public records.

Merrill is only the second Connecticut official to lead NASS since its founding in 1904. **Julia Tashjian** held the president's post from 1989 to 1990. MORE

As a member of NASS, **Merrill** has been involved in election, civic education and voter participation issues, as well digital records management and business identity theft prevention. She has also served on the Executive Board in numerous capacities, most recently as president-elect for the 2015-2016 cycle.

In 2013, she co-chaired the <u>NASS Task Force on Emergency Preparedness for Elections</u>, a coordinated effort by states to promote adoption of sound election practices for emergency conditions.

Also elected at the annual NASS meeting are the following Executive Board members:

President: Hon. Denise W. Merrill, Connecticut

Immediate Past President: Hon. Tom Schedler, Louisiana

President-elect: Hon. Connie Lawson, Indiana Treasurer: Hon. Jim Condos, Vermont

Secretary: Hon. Elaine Marshall, North Carolina

Eastern Region Vice-President: Hon. Matt Dunlap, Maine

Southern Region Vice-President: Hon. Natalie Tennant, West Virginia

Midwestern Region Vice-President: Hon. Paul Pate, Iowa

Western Region Vice-President: Hon. Wayne Williams, Colorado

Member-at-Large (NPA Section): Hon. Alison Lundergan Grimes, Kentucky

Member-at-Large (ACR Section): Hon. Mark Martin, Arkansas

National officers will serve a one-year term, ending in July 2017.

DOWNLOAD NASS EXECUTIVE BOARD PHOTO: Click HERE.

DOWNLOAD DENISE W. MERRILL HEADSHOT: Click HERE.

FOLLOW US:

- Website www.nass.org
- Twitter @NASSorg | Hashtag: #NASScon
- Facebook https://www.facebook.com/pages/National-Association-of-Secretaries-of-State-NASS/17949954131

Having trouble viewing this content? Click **HERE** to view it online.

For media questions, contact:

Kay Stimson
NASS Director of Communications
202-624-3528 (o) | 703-869-5868 (c) kstimson@sso.org

ABOUT NASS

Founded in 1904, NASS is the oldest, nonpartisan professional organization of public officials in the U.S. Membership is open to all 50 states and U.S. territories. NASS serves as a medium for the exchange of information between states and fosters cooperation in the development of public policy. The association has key initiatives in the areas of <u>elections and voting</u> and <u>state</u> <u>business services</u>, as well as several <u>awards programs</u>.

NASS also offers two membership sections for state government professionals: <u>Administrative Codes & Registers</u> (ACR) and <u>Notary Public Administrators</u> (NPA).

Visit www.nass.org. Follow us on Twitter: @NASSorg. Get Facebook updates. Nonpartisan voting info at www.CanlVote.org.

Need to reach NASS? Call our main line at 202-624-3525.

National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS)
444 N. Capitol St., NW Suite 401 Washington, DC 20001
Click here to unsubscribe

###