

SECRETARY OF THE STATE
CONNECTICUT

For Immediate Release: July 13, 2015

For more information: Av Harris: (860) 509-6255 Cell: (860) 463-5939

- PRESS RELEASE -

SECRETARY MERRILL ELECTED PRESIDENT-ELECT OF NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF SECRETARIES OF STATE

 $\frac{\text{SECRETARY OF THE STATE WILL ASSUME PRESIDENCY OF NASS STARTING IN JULY}{2016}$

HARTFORD: Connecticut Secretary of the State Denise Merrill announced today that she has been elected President-elect of the National Association of Secretaries of State (NASS), the highest second ranking leadership position within the national organization that places her in line to be named President of NASS in July of 2016. Secretary Merrill was named to the national leadership position of NASS yesterday, during the organization's annual summer



conference that took place in Portland, Maine. She was chosen for the position by newly named NASS President and Louisiana Secretary of State Tom Schedler. Secretary Merrill had served previously as NASS Treasurer, chair of the NASS voter participation committee, and led a national panel on emergency preparedness for elections together with Secretary Schedler. Leadership of NASS – a bipartisan organization among all 50 Secretaries of State – alternates annually between Democratic and Republican members.

"I am so honored to be named as President-elect of NASS, and I am excited to work together with my friend and colleague Tom Schedler to advance a national agenda of better elections, more voting, stronger civic education, and improved services to the business community and the public," said Secretary Merrill. "I look forward to working with all my colleagues across the country to help give more citizens a voice in government and streamline and improve the way government works with business."

The national officers elected in 2015 to serve on the NASS Executive Board include:

President: Hon. Tom Schedler, Louisiana

Immediate Past President: Hon. Elaine Marshall, North Carolina

President-elect: Hon. Denise Merrill, Connecticut

Treasurer: Hon. Kim Wyman, Washington Secretary: Hon. Mark Martin, Arkansas

Eastern Region Vice-President: Hon. Jim Condos, Vermont Southern Region Vice-President: Hon. Brian Kemp, Georgia

Midwestern Region Vice-President: Hon. Connie Lawson, Indiana Western Region Vice-President: Hon. Linda McCulloch, Montana Member-at-Large (ACR Section): Hon. Matt Dunlap, Maine Member-at-Large (NPA Section): Hon. Al Jaeger, North Dakota

NASS is the oldest, nonpartisan professional organization of public officials in the U.S. Members include the 50 states, the District of Columbia, American Samoa and Puerto Rico. NASS serves as a medium for the exchange of information between states and fosters cooperation in the development of public policy. The association has key initiatives in the areas of elections and voting, state business services and digital archiving, international relations and state securities regulation, as well as several well-established awards programs