

For Immediate Release: October 23, 2015 <u>For more information:</u> Av Harris: (860) 509-6255 Cell: (860) 463-5939

- PRESS RELEASE -

SECRETARY MERRILL RELEASES LIST OF REGISTERED WRITE-IN CANDIDATES FOR NOVEMBER 3RD MUNICIPAL ELECTIONS

SECRETARY OF THE STATE REMINDS ELIGIBLE VOTERS THAT FINAL VOTER REGISTRATION DEADLINE BEFORE ELECTION DAY IS JUST FOUR DAYS AWAY

HARTFORD: Secretary of the State Denise Merrill today released the complete list of registered write-in candidates for various seats on Connecticut ballots for the November 3, 2015 municipal election (a complete list follows at the bottom of this news release). Write-in candidates must register with the Secretary of the State if they want to receive votes in the November 3rd municipal election, and the deadline to register was Tuesday October 20th. Write-in candidates do not appear on the ballot but voting machines are programmed to flag ballots marked with votes for write-ins that are later counted by hand, as long as the write-in candidates are registered with the Secretary of the State. Secretary Merrill is also reminding all eligible voters in Connecticut that the final deadline to register to vote by mail or in-person at town or city offices prior to Election Day is Tuesday October 27th.

"Barring any last-minute withdrawals, our list of candidates for the November 3^{rd} municipal elections is now set," said Secretary Merrill, Connecticut's chief election official. "I want to make sure voters are informed about every candidate eligible to receive votes on Election Day, whether their names appear on the ballot or not. I want to remind every eligible voter in Connecticut that the final day to register before the election is next Tuesday October 27th. Municipal elections have great impact on your community so don't sit this one out – we want to hear from every eligible voter on Election Day November 3^{rd} ."

The following is a complete list of registered write-in candidates for municipal office in Connecticut in 2015:

Municipality	Office	Candidate	
Beacon Falls	Selectman	Joseph Dowdell	
Bloomfield	Town Council (2-year term)	Kevin J. Connelly	
Bridgeport	Mayor	Steve Miller	
Bristol	Mayor	Robert Michalski	
Brooklyn	First Selectman	Aaron James "AJ" Puzzo Kerouac	
Chaplin	Board of Education	Amy Quimette	
Chaplin	Board of Education-TFV	Brad Caron	
Chaplin	Board of Finance Alt.	William Jenkins	
Chaplin	Library Board of Trustees	William Jenkins	
East Haddam	First Selectman	Todd H. Gelston	
Easton	Board of Assessment Appeals A. Reynolds Gordon		
East Windsor	First Selectman	James C. Richards	
East Windsor	Board of Education	Christopher D. Mickey	
Enfield	Councillor at large	Charles E. Woods	
Hamden	Councilman District 3	Peter Rumbin	
Hartford	Mayor	W. Michael Downes	
Hartford	Court of Common Council	Sharon Francis	
Kent	Board of Finance	John Mauer	
Meriden	Councilman at large	A.J. Petrucelli	
Middletown	Mayor	Brian E. Clark	
Middletown	Common Council	Hope E. Kasper	
New Haven	Mayor	Roger Uihlein	
New Milford	Mayor	Chief Iron Wolf	
North Stonington	Board of Education	Walter Mathwick	

Municipality	Office	Candidate
Old Saybrook	Board of Assessment Appeals	Michael T. O'Herlihy
Pomfret	Board of Education	Sergio Rodriguez
Salisbury	Board of Education	Natalia V. Smirnova
Salisbury	Board of Education	David Valcin
Salisbury	Board of Education	Jeffery Lloyd
Salisbury	Planning Zoning Commission	Jonathan Higgins
Shelton	Mayor	Timothy Bristol, Jr.
Somers	Board of Education	Deanise Sheworks
Stratford	Council District 3	Daniel S. Cook
Waterford	First Selectman Board of Finance Board of Education Zoning Board of Appeals Zoning Board of Appeals-TFV Zoning Board of Appeals-Alt Board of Assessment Appeals Representative Town Meeting dist. 2	Kevin M. Ziolkovski Kevin M. Ziolkovski
Windham	Board of Assessment Appeals	David M. Gardner

On Election Day November 3, 2015 polls will be open from 6:00 a.m. until 8:00 p.m. in most towns and cities in Connecticut. Voters can check their registration status online, find where their polling place is located, view the ballot from their city or town, and download voter registration forms and absentee ballot applications by visiting www.myvote.ct.gov

-30-