

Memorandum

To: All Registrars of Voters, Town Clerks and Town Chairmen

From: Legislation and Elections Administration Division

Date: November 24, 2009 Re: Probate Redistricting

This memorandum is intended to remind you that effective January 5, 2011 the Probate Districts in the State of Connecticut will be changed in accordance with the September Special Session, Public Act No. 09-1 "An Act Concerning the Recommendations of the Probate Redistricting Commission". Judges of Probate appearing on the ballot in November, 2010 will be elected and hold office according to these new Probate Districts.

It is important to note that some districts on the attached list have changed and may now be considered a Multi-Town Probate District that may require delegate selection prior to endorsement. Of course, if your Probate District remains unchanged (single town or multi-town) you would continue to endorse candidates as you have in the past.

As such, as you prepare for upcoming Delegate Selection (March 23-March 20, 2010) you should be selecting your delegates in accordance with the new Probate Districts as detailed in the attached document. This document is an excerpt from Public Act No. 09-1 and reflects the creation of the new Probate Court Districts.

The candidates endorsed for the November, 2010 ballot will appear on the ballots according to the new Probate Districts, voters will vote for the candidates on these ballots from the new Probate Districts and when sworn, the newly elected Judges of Probate will represent constituents from these newly created Probate Districts.

Your respective State Central Committees will advise you about the number of delegates you should select to send to the respective conventions, if necessary.

We hope that this information was a useful reminder regarding the upcoming 2010 Probate elections.

Sincerely,

Legislation and Elections Administration Division

September Special Session, Public Act No. 09-1

AN ACT CONCERNING THE RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE PROBATE REDISTRICTING COMMISSION.

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives in General Assembly convened:

Section 1. Section 45a-2 of the general statutes is repealed and the following is substituted in lieu thereof (*Effective January 5, 2011*):

There shall be fifty-four probate districts in this state, for all purposes for which they are constituted, that shall comprise the towns that are set forth as follows:

- (1) The town of Hartford.
- (2) The town of West Hartford.
- (3) The towns of Bloomfield, East Granby, Suffield and Windsor Locks.
- (4) The towns of East Windsor, South Windsor and Windsor.
- (5) The town of East Hartford.
- (6) The towns of Glastonbury and Hebron.
- (7) The towns of Newington, Rocky Hill and Wethersfield.
- (8) The towns of Berlin and New Britain.
- (9) The towns of Avon, Canton, Granby and Simsbury.
- (10) The towns of Burlington and Farmington.
- (11) The towns of Enfield, Somers and Stafford.
- (12) The towns of Ellington and Vernon.
- (13) The towns of Andover, Bolton, Columbia and Manchester.
- (14) The towns of East Haddam, East Hampton, Marlborough and Portland.
- (15) The towns of Cromwell, Durham, Middlefield and Middletown.

September Special Session, Public Act No. 09-1 - Continued

- (16) The town of Meriden.
- (17) The town of Wallingford.
- (18) The towns of Cheshire and Southington.
- (19) The towns of Bristol, Plainville and Plymouth.
- (20) The towns of Waterbury and Wolcott.
- (21) The towns of Beacon Falls, Middlebury, Naugatuck and Prospect.
- (22) The towns of Bethlehem, Oxford, Roxbury, Southbury, Washington, Watertown and Woodbury.
- (23) The towns of Barkhamsted, Colebrook, Goshen, Hartland, New Hartford, Torrington and Winchester.
- (24) The towns of Canaan, Cornwall, Harwinton, Kent, Litchfield, Morris, Norfolk, North Canaan, Salisbury, Sharon, Thomaston and Warren.
- (25) The towns of Coventry, Mansfield, Tolland and Willington.
- (26) The towns of Ashford, Brooklyn, Eastford, Pomfret, Putnam, Thompson, Union and Woodstock.
- (27) The towns of Canterbury, Killingly, Plainfield and Sterling.
- (28) The towns of Chaplin, Colchester, Hampton, Lebanon, Scotland and Windham.
- (29) The towns of Bozrah, Franklin, Griswold, Lisbon, Norwich, Preston, Sprague and Voluntown.
- (30) The towns of Groton, Ledyard, North Stonington and Stonington.
- (31) The towns of New London and Waterford.
- (32) The towns of East Lyme, Montville, Old Lyme and Salem.
- (33) The towns of Chester, Clinton, Deep River, Essex, Haddam, Killingworth, Lyme, Old Saybrook and Westbrook.

September Special Session, Public Act No. 09-1 - Continued

- (34) The towns of Guilford and Madison.
- (35) The towns of Branford and North Branford.
- (36) The towns of East Haven and North Haven.
- (37) The towns of Bethany and Hamden.
- (38) The town of New Haven.
- (39) The town of West Haven.
- (40) The towns of Milford and Orange.
- (41) The towns of Ansonia, Derby, Seymour and Woodbridge.
- (42) The town of Shelton.
- (43) The town of Danbury.
- (44) The towns of Bridgewater, Brookfield, New Fairfield, New Milford and Sherman.
- (45) The towns of Bethel, Newtown, Ridgefield and Redding.
- (46) The towns of Easton, Monroe and Trumbull.
- (47) The town of Stratford.
- (48) The town of Bridgeport.
- (49) The town of Fairfield.
- (50) The towns of Weston and Westport.
- (51) The towns of Norwalk and Wilton.
- (52) The towns of Darien and New Canaan.
- (53) The town of Stamford.
- (54) The town of Greenwich.