STATE OF CONNECTICUT
DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION

TO: School Superintendents
Adult Education Directors
GED Registrars

FROM: John D. Frassinelli, Division Direct ‘ M
School Health, Nutrition, Family Sgev AdUIt Education

DATE: December 2, 2021

SUBJECT: Legislative Change in GED Testing

In the 2021 legislative session, Public Act No. 21-99 raised the allowable age for testing through
the GED examination from 17 to 18-years-old. This change became effective on July 1, 2021.
The Public Act states in part:

Sec. 11. (a) The Commissioner of Education shall, in accordance with this section, issue a
state high school diploma to any person (1) who successfully completes an examination
approved by the commissioner, or (2) who (A) is eighteen years of age or older and has
been officially withdrawn from school in accordance with the provisions of section 10-184,
as amended by this act, and (B) presents to the commissioner evidence demonstrating
educational qualifications which the commissioner deems equivalent to those required for
graduation from a public high school. Application for such a diploma shall be made in the
manner and form prescribed by the commissioner provided, at the time of application to
take the examination described in subdivision (1) of this subsection, the applicant has been
officially withdrawn from school, in accordance with section 10-184, as amended by this
act, for at least six months and has been advised, in such manner as may be prescribed by
the commissioner, of the other options for high school completion and other available
educational programs. For good cause shown, the commissioner may allow a person who
is seventeen years of age to apply to take the examination.

As noted, Section 11 of Public Act 21-99 authorizes the Commissioner of Education to allow an
eligible 17-year-old applicant to apply to take the GED examination for good cause. Recognizing
as good cause the fact that there are many 17-year-olds who need to successfully complete the
GED examination to apply to post-secondary education programs and/or pursue employment
opportunities, the Commissioner wishes to exercise this authority, provided the individual
making the request has been officially withdrawn from school in accordance with the provisions
of section 10-184 of the Connecticut General Statutes for at least six months and has been
advised of the other options for high school completion and other available educational
programs.

The GED testing approval process for such 17-year-olds has remained unchanged. The applicant
must provide an official withdrawal notice and proof of identity and Connecticut residency. The
applicant will then be entered into the Connecticut Adult Reporting System and be issued a
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unique student identification number. All potential GED applicants must also create an account
through GED.com. Authorized GED testing centers will approve students for testing after local
GED Registrars approve all necessary paperwork.

If you have additional questions, please contact Sabrina.mancini@ct.gov. Thank you for
everything you do to support the success of Connecticut’s adult learners.
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cc: Sabrina Mancini
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