TO: Freedom of Information Commission

FROM: Russell Blair

RE: Minutes of the Commission's regular meeting of April 24, 2024

A regular meeting of the Freedom of Information Commission was held on April 24, 2024. The Commission meeting of April 24, 2024 was conducted in person. The meeting convened at 2:07 p.m. with the following Commissioners present:

Commissioner Owen P. Eagan, presiding

Commissioner Jonathan J. Einhorn

Commissioner Kate Farrish (participated by speakerphone)

Commissioner Judith Ganswindt

Commissioner Aigné Goldsby Wells

Commissioner Christopher P. Hankins

Commissioner Matthew Streeter

Also present were staff members Colleen M. Murphy, Paula S. Pearlman, Valicia D. Harmon, Nicholas Smarra, Mary-Kate Smith, Kevin W. Munn, Jennifer Mayo, Molly Steffes and Russell Blair.

The Commissioners unanimously voted to approve the Commission's regular meeting minutes of April 10, 2024.

Those in attendance were informed that the April 24, 2024 regular meeting of the Commission was being recorded.

Docket #FIC 2023-0220 Robert Cushman v. Jason Thody, Chief, Police Department,

City of Hartford; Police Department, City of Hartford; and City

of Hartford

The Commissioners unanimously voted to adopt the Hearing Officer's Report. The proceedings were digitally recorded.

Docket #FIC 2023-0227 Nathaniel Clark v. Commissioner, State of Connecticut,

Department of Revenue Services; and State of Connecticut,

Department of Revenue Services

The Commissioners unanimously voted to adopt the Hearing Officer's Report. The proceedings were digitally recorded.

Docket #FIC 2023-0246 Joao Campos v. Keith White, Chief, Police Department, Town

of Monroe; Police Department, Town of Monroe; and Town of

Monroe

Minutes, Regular Meeting, April 10, 2024 Page 2

The Commissioners unanimously voted to adopt the Hearing Officer's Report. The proceedings were digitally recorded.

Docket #FIC 2023-0256 Joao Campos v. Chief, Police Department, Town of Monroe; Police Department, Town of Monroe and Town of Monroe

The Commissioners unanimously voted to adopt the Hearing Officer's Report. The proceedings were digitally recorded.

Docket #FIC 2023-0259 Jean Farricielli v. Commissioner, State of Connecticut,

Department of Energy and Environmental Protection; and State of Connecticut, Department of Energy and Environmental

Protection

Attorney Thomas Lengyel appeared on behalf of the complainant. Assistant Attorney General Michael Lynch and Assistant Attorney General Aza Mosley appeared on behalf of the respondents. The Commissioners voted 4-2 to adopt the Hearing Officer's Report, with Commissioners Einhorn and Hankins opposed. Commissioner Goldsby Wells abstained. The proceedings were digitally recorded.

Docket #FIC 2023-0484 Stacy Gravino v. Town Clerk, Town of East Haven; and Town of East Haven

The Commissioners unanimously voted to adopt the Hearing Officer's Report. The proceedings were digitally recorded.

Docket #FIC 2023-0502 Christina Jannetty v. Chief, Police Department, City of Ansonia; Police Department, City of Ansonia; and City of Ansonia

The Commissioners unanimously voted to adopt the Hearing Officer's Report. The proceedings were digitally recorded.

Executive Director Colleen M. Murphy and Attorney Valicia D. Harmon reported that the Supreme Court had denied the appellants' Petition for Certification in *Town of Avon et al.* v. *Joseph Sastre et al.*, AC 45885.

Director of Education and Communications Russell Blair updated Commissioners on the status of FOI-related legislation under consideration by the General Assembly.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:08 p.m.

/s/ Russell Blair Russell Blair