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For more information about hearing screening
and congenital CMV:

 

 
For more information about services for babies

who are deaf or hard of hearing, contact:
Child Development Infoline

1-800-505-7000
www.birth23.org

 
None of the information contained herein is
intended to replace advice by a health care

professional.
 

Printing of this brochure is supported by the Health
Resources and Services Administration (HRSA) of

the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
(HHS) under Grant Number H61MC00088, entitled:
Universal Newborn Hearing Screening for $235,000.

The information or content and conclusions are
those of the author and not the official position or

policy of, nor should any endorsements be inferred
by HRSA, HHS, or the U.S. Government.                                                             
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What if my child develops a hearing loss later?
Contact the Connecticut Birth to Three System
(800-505-7000 or www.birth23.org) for free
hearing intervention services for children up to
three years old. It is recommended to enroll as
soon as possible or before six months of age.
Also, the American School for the Deaf (860-
570-2393 or www.asd-1817.org) has contracted
with the EHDI program to provide free family-
to-family and other family-focused supports.

Do not share food, utensils, drinks or straws.
Do not put a pacifier in your mouth.
Avoid contact with saliva when kissing a
child.
Do not share a toothbrush.
Wash your hands after: 

Wiping a young child’s nose or drool.
Changing diapers.
Feeding a young child.
Handling children’s toys.

*Congenital Cytomegalovirus (CMV) is an
easily transmissible and common virus that
can infect and harm an unborn fetus. It can
cause hearing loss and other extremely
serious, even fatal health issues. Connecticut
law requires all birth facilities to test babies
who fail their newborn hearing screening for
congenital CMV. Babies must be tested prior to
21 days of age to determine if it is congenital. If
your baby has congenital CMV, ask your
pediatrician for referral to an infectious
disease specialist today! Due to the high risk of
hearing loss, it is also critical to have your
baby's hearing tested regularly. To find an
audiologist near you, see the included
"Audiology Facilities" list. Please use the QR
code or visit our website to learn more.

 

Reduce the FUTURE Risk of CMV Exposure:
According to the National CMV Foundation
(www.nationalcmv.org), those who are
planning to become pregnant or are pregnant
should practice the following to reduce the risk
of contracting CMV:

Important: Daycare workers, preschool teachers,
therapists, nurses, and others who work with
children should also follow the above list due to
higher risk of CMV exposure.
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Reduce the FUTURE Risk of CMV Exposure:
According to the National CMV Foundation
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Caregiver concern regarding hearing,
speech, language, developmental delay or
developmental regression.
Family history of childhood hearing loss.
Congenital Cytomegalovirus (CMV)*.
Syndromes: There are many syndromes
associated with hearing loss, please visit:
www.hereditaryhearingloss.org.

In utero infections, such as herpes, rubella,
syphilis, toxoplasmosis, Zika, etc.
NICU stay > 5 days.
Craniofacial malformations, temporal bone
abnormalities, congenital microcephaly,
microtia, atresia, or head trauma.
Hyperbilirubinemia exchange transfusion.
Asphyxia\Hypoxic lschemic
Encephalopathy.
Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation
 (ECMO).
Chemotherapy.

Risk Factors for Hearing Loss
 

If any of the below conditions are present, have
your child's hearing monitored regularly due to
the increased risk of a hearing loss developing

later on. 
 Step 1: Before leaving the birth facility, be

sure your baby was tested for congenital
Cytomegalovirus (CMV)*, which is a virus
that may cause harm to your baby.  Your
baby must be tested before 21 days of age
to determine if it is congenital or not. 
Step 2: Schedule a diagnostic hearing test
with an audiologist that specializes in
pediatric cases today! This comprehensive
test is the only way to know if a hearing loss
is present. Your baby should complete their
hearing testing before three months of age.
To find an audiologist near you, see the
included "Audiology Facilities" list.

Why are newborns screened for hearing loss?
Two reasons: First, birth facilities are required
to screen all newborns for hearing loss under
Connecticut law (C.G.S. §19a-59). Second,
hearing loss is one of the most commonly
occurring disabilities found in newborns. The
newborn hearing screening identifies babies
who need additional testing to determine their
ability to hear. Most babies with hearing loss
don't show any symptoms, which is why it‛s
critical to have your baby‛s hearing screened by
one month of age. 

How are babies screened for hearing loss?
A quick and painless method is used to measure
your baby‛s responses to sound.

What if my baby PASSES their screening?
It is recommended to have your baby's hearing
checked again, at least once before 36 months
old, even if they passed their newborn hearing
screening. The first three years of life are the
most important for developing language and
communication skills, and an undetected
hearing loss could cause a preventable delay in
speech and language development.

What if my baby FAILS their hearing screening?

Is my baby at risk of a hearing loss?
Ask your healthcare provider if your child has
any of the risk factors in the enclosed "Risk
Factors for Hearing Loss" list. Even if your baby
passed their newborn hearing screening, these
risk factors could still cause a hearing loss later
on. If your baby has risk factors for hearing loss,
it is extremely important to discuss a follow-up
hearing test schedule with your child‛s
healthcare provider or a pediatric audiologist. 

Audiology Facilities
 

The following audiology centers have the
specialized equipment and experience to

conduct hearing testing in infants and children:
 

Connecticut Children‛s Medical Center 
Hartford, Farmington, and Glastonbury, CT.

(860) 545-9642 or (860) 837-6300
 

Lawrence & Memorial Hospital
Waterford, CT. (860) 271-4900

 
UConn Speech & Hearing Clinic

Storrs, CT. (860) 486-2629
 

Yale New Haven Children‛s Hospital
New Haven and Trumbull, CT. (877) 925-3637

 
Or, visit www.ehdi-pals.org for a list of pediatric

audiologists by location.

Reacts to loud sounds.
Calms down or smiles when spoken to.
Recognizes your voice and calms down if
crying.
When feeding, starts or stops sucking in
response to sound.
Coos and makes pleasure sounds.
Has a special way of crying for different
needs.
Smiles when he or she sees you.

Follows sounds with his or her eyes.
Responds to changes in the tone of your
voice.
Notices toys that make sounds.
Pays attention to music.
Babbles in a speech-like way and uses many
different sounds, including sounds that
begin with p, b, and m.
Laughs.
Babbles when excited or unhappy.
Makes gurgling sounds when alone or
playing with you.

Enjoys playing peek-a-boo and pat-a-cake.
Turns and looks in the direction of sounds.
Listens when spoken to.
Understands words for common items such
as “cup,” “shoe,” or “juice”.
Responds to requests (“Come here”).
Babbles using long and short groups of
sounds (“tata, upup, bibibi”).
Babbles to get and keep attention.
Communicates using gestures such as
waving or holding up arms.

Your Baby's Hearing and
Communicative Development Checklist

 

The checklist below presents the average age
by which most babies accomplish a variety of
early speech and language skills. If your child
has not accomplished all the items by end of

the age range, contact your pediatrician and an
audiologist.

Birth to 3 Months

4 to 6 Months

7 Months to 1 Year

The above is an abridged checklist from the:
National Institute on Deafness and Other
Communication Disorders (www.nidcd.nih.gov).

Caregiver concern regarding hearing,
speech, language, developmental delay or
developmental regression.
Family history of childhood hearing loss.
Congenital Cytomegalovirus (CMV)*.
Syndromes: There are many syndromes
associated with hearing loss, please visit:
www.hereditaryhearingloss.org.
Antibiotics in the Aminoglycosides family
(gentamicin or others) for more than 5 days.
In utero infections, such as herpes, rubella,
syphilis, toxoplasmosis, Zika, etc.
NICU stay > 5 days.
Craniofacial malformations, temporal bone
abnormalities, congenital microcephaly,
microtia, atresia, or head trauma.
Hyperbilirubinemia exchange transfusion.
Asphyxia\Hypoxic lschemic
Encephalopathy.
Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation
(ECMO).
Chemotherapy.

Risk Factors for Hearing Loss
If any of the below conditions are present, have
your child's hearing monitored regularly due to
the increased risk of a hearing loss developing

later on.
Step 1: Before leaving the birth facility, be
sure your baby was tested for congenital
Cytomegalovirus (CMV)*, which is a virus
that may cause harm to your baby.  Your
baby must be tested before 21 days of age
to determine if it is congenital or not. 
Step 2: Schedule a diagnostic hearing test
with an audiologist that specializes in
pediatric cases today! This comprehensive
test is the only way to know if a hearing loss
is present. Your baby should complete their
hearing testing before three months of age.
To find an audiologist near you, see the
included "Audiology Facilities" list.

Why are newborns screened for hearing loss?
Two reasons: First, birth facilities are required
to screen all newborns for hearing loss under
Connecticut law (C.G.S. §19a-59). Second,
hearing loss is one of the most commonly
occurring disabilities found in newborns. The
newborn hearing screening identifies babies
who need additional testing to determine their
ability to hear. Most babies with hearing loss
don't show any symptoms, which is why it‛s
critical to have your baby‛s hearing screened by
one month of age. 

How are babies screened for hearing loss?
A quick and painless method is used to measure
your baby‛s responses to sound.

What if my baby PASSES their screening?
It is recommended to have your baby's hearing
checked again, at least once before 36 months
old, even if they passed their newborn hearing
screening. The first three years of life are the
most important for developing language and
communication skills, and an undetected
hearing loss could cause a preventable delay in
speech and language development.

What if my baby FAILS their hearing screening?

Is my baby at risk of a hearing loss?
Ask your healthcare provider if your child has
any of the risk factors in the enclosed "Risk
Factors for Hearing Loss" list. Even if your baby
passed their newborn hearing screening, these
risk factors could still cause a hearing loss later
on. If your baby has risk factors for hearing loss,
it is extremely important to discuss a follow-up
hearing test schedule with your child‛s
healthcare provider or a pediatric audiologist. 

Audiology Facilities

The following audiology centers have the
specialized equipment and experience to

conduct hearing testing in infants and children:

Connecticut Children‛s Medical Center
Hartford, Farmington, and Glastonbury, CT.

(860) 545-9642 or (860) 837-6300
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Waterford, CT. (860) 271-4900

UConn Speech & Hearing Clinic
Storrs, CT. (860) 486-2629

Yale New Haven Children‛s Hospital
New Haven and Trumbull, CT. (877) 925-3637

Or, visit www.ehdi-pals.org for a list of pediatric
audiologists by location.
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The above is an abridged checklist from the:
National Institute on Deafness and Other
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Congenital Cytomegalovirus (CMV)*.
Syndromes: There are many syndromes
associated with hearing loss, please visit:
www.hereditaryhearingloss.org.
Antibiotics in the Aminoglycosides family
(gentamicin or others) for more than 5 days.
In utero infections, such as herpes, rubella,
syphilis, toxoplasmosis, Zika, etc.
NICU stay > 5 days.
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abnormalities, congenital microcephaly,
microtia, atresia, or head trauma.
Hyperbilirubinemia exchange transfusion.
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sure your baby was tested for congenital
Cytomegalovirus (CMV)*, which is a virus
that may cause harm to your baby. Your
baby must be tested before 21 days of age
to determine if it is congenital or not.
Step 2: Schedule a diagnostic hearing test
with an audiologist that specializes in
pediatric cases today! This comprehensive
test is the only way to know if a hearing loss
is present. Your baby should complete their
hearing testing before three months of age.
To find an audiologist near you, see the
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checked again, at least once before 36 months
old, even if they passed their newborn hearing
screening. The first three years of life are the
most important for developing language and
communication skills, and an undetected
hearing loss could cause a preventable delay in
speech and language development.
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healthcare provider or a pediatric audiologist.
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A quick and painless method is used to measure
your baby‛s responses to sound.

What if my baby PASSES their screening?
It is recommended to have your baby's hearing
checked again, at least once before 36 months
old, even if they passed their newborn hearing
screening. The first three years of life are the
most important for developing language and
communication skills, and an undetected
hearing loss could cause a preventable delay in
speech and language development.
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risk factors could still cause a hearing loss later
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Babbles using long and short groups of
sounds (“tata, upup, bibibi”).
Babbles to get and keep attention.
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waving or holding up arms.

Your Baby's Hearing and
Communicative Development Checklist

The checklist below presents the average age
by which most babies accomplish a variety of
early speech and language skills. If your child
has not accomplished all the items by end of

the age range, contact your pediatrician and an
audiologist.

Birth to 3 Months

4 to 6 Months

7 Months to 1 Year

The above is an abridged checklist from the:
National Institute on Deafness and Other
Communication Disorders (www.nidcd.nih.gov).

Caregiver concern regarding hearing,
speech, language, developmental delay or
developmental regression.
Family history of childhood hearing loss.
Congenital Cytomegalovirus (CMV)*.
Syndromes: There are many syndromes
associated with hearing loss, please visit:
www.hereditaryhearingloss.org.
Antibiotics in the Aminoglycosides family
(gentamicin or others) for more than 5 days.
In utero infections, such as herpes, rubella,
syphilis, toxoplasmosis, Zika, etc.
NICU stay > 5 days.
Craniofacial malformations, temporal bone
abnormalities, congenital microcephaly,
microtia, atresia, or head trauma.
Hyperbilirubinemia exchange transfusion.
Asphyxia\Hypoxic lschemic
Encephalopathy.
Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation
(ECMO).

Chemotherapy.

Risk Factors for Hearing Loss
If any of the below conditions are present, have
your child's hearing monitored regularly due to
the increased risk of a hearing loss developing

later on.
Step 1: Before leaving the birth facility, be
sure your baby was tested for congenital
Cytomegalovirus (CMV)*, which is a virus
that may cause harm to your baby. Your
baby must be tested before 21 days of age
to determine if it is congenital or not.
Step 2: Schedule a diagnostic hearing test
with an audiologist that specializes in
pediatric cases today! This comprehensive
test is the only way to know if a hearing loss
is present. Your baby should complete their
hearing testing before three months of age.
To find an audiologist near you, see the
included "Audiology Facilities" list.

Why are newborns screened for hearing loss?
Two reasons: First, birth facilities are required
to screen all newborns for hearing loss under
Connecticut law (C.G.S. §19a-59). Second,
hearing loss is one of the most commonly
occurring disabilities found in newborns. The
newborn hearing screening identifies babies
who need additional testing to determine their
ability to hear. Most babies with hearing loss
don't show any symptoms, which is why it‛s
critical to have your baby‛s hearing screened by
one month of age.

How are babies screened for hearing loss?
A quick and painless method is used to measure
your baby‛s responses to sound.

What if my baby PASSES their screening?
It is recommended to have your baby's hearing
checked again, at least once before 36 months
old, even if they passed their newborn hearing
screening. The first three years of life are the
most important for developing language and
communication skills, and an undetected
hearing loss could cause a preventable delay in
speech and language development.

What if my baby FAILS their hearing screening?

Is my baby at risk of a hearing loss?
Ask your healthcare provider if your child has
any of the risk factors in the enclosed "Risk
Factors for Hearing Loss" list. Even if your baby
passed their newborn hearing screening, these
risk factors could still cause a hearing loss later
on. If your baby has risk factors for hearing loss,
it is extremely important to discuss a follow-up
hearing test schedule with your child‛s
healthcare provider or a pediatric audiologist.

Audiology Facilities

The following audiology centers have the
specialized equipment and experience to

conduct hearing testing in infants and children:

Connecticut Children‛s Medical Center
Hartford, Farmington, and Glastonbury, CT.

(860) 545-9642 or (860) 837-6300

Lawrence & Memorial Hospital
Waterford, CT. (860) 271-4900

UConn Speech & Hearing Clinic
Storrs, CT. (860) 486-2629

Yale New Haven Children‛s Hospital
New Haven and Trumbull, CT. (877) 925-3637

Or, visit www.ehdi-pals.org for a list of pediatric
audiologists by location.

Reacts to loud sounds.
Calms down or smiles when spoken to.
Recognizes your voice and calms down if
crying.
When feeding, starts or stops sucking in
response to sound.
Coos and makes pleasure sounds.
Has a special way of crying for different
needs.
Smiles when he or she sees you.

Follows sounds with his or her eyes.
Responds to changes in the tone of your
voice.
Notices toys that make sounds.
Pays attention to music.
Babbles in a speech-like way and uses many
different sounds, including sounds that
begin with p, b, and m.
Laughs.
Babbles when excited or unhappy.
Makes gurgling sounds when alone or
playing with you.

Enjoys playing peek-a-boo and pat-a-cake.
Turns and looks in the direction of sounds.
Listens when spoken to.
Understands words for common items such
as “cup,” “shoe,” or “juice”.
Responds to requests (“Come here”).
Babbles using long and short groups of
sounds (“tata, upup, bibibi”).
Babbles to get and keep attention.
Communicates using gestures such as
waving or holding up arms.

Your Baby's Hearing and
Communicative Development Checklist

The checklist below presents the average age
by which most babies accomplish a variety of
early speech and language skills. If your child
has not accomplished all the items by end of

the age range, contact your pediatrician and an
audiologist.

Birth to 3 Months

4 to 6 Months

7 Months to 1 Year

The above is an abridged checklist from the:
National Institute on Deafness and Other
Communication Disorders (www.nidcd.nih.gov).

Caregiver concern regarding hearing,
speech, language, developmental delay or
developmental regression.
Family history of childhood hearing loss.
Congenital Cytomegalovirus (CMV)*.
Syndromes: There are many syndromes
associated with hearing loss, please visit:
www.hereditaryhearingloss.org.
Antibiotics in the Aminoglycosides family
(gentamicin or others) for more than 5 days.
In utero infections, such as herpes, rubella,
syphilis, toxoplasmosis, Zika, etc.
NICU stay > 5 days.
Craniofacial malformations, temporal bone
abnormalities, congenital microcephaly,
microtia, atresia, or head trauma.
Hyperbilirubinemia exchange transfusion.
Asphyxia\Hypoxic lschemic
Encephalopathy.
Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation
(ECMO).
Chemotherapy.

Risk Factors for Hearing Loss
If any of the below conditions are present, have
your child's hearing monitored regularly due to
the increased risk of a hearing loss developing

later on.
Step 1: Before leaving the birth facility, be
sure your baby was tested for congenital
Cytomegalovirus (CMV)*, which is a virus
that may cause harm to your baby. Your
baby must be tested before 21 days of age
to determine if it is congenital or not.
Step 2: Schedule a diagnostic hearing test
with an audiologist that specializes in
pediatric cases today! This comprehensive
test is the only way to know if a hearing loss
is present. Your baby should complete their
hearing testing before three months of age.
To find an audiologist near you, see the
included "Audiology Facilities" list.

Why are newborns screened for hearing loss?
Two reasons: First, birth facilities are required
to screen all newborns for hearing loss under
Connecticut law (C.G.S. §19a-59). Second,
hearing loss is one of the most commonly
occurring disabilities found in newborns. The
newborn hearing screening identifies babies
who need additional testing to determine their
ability to hear. Most babies with hearing loss
don't show any symptoms, which is why it‛s
critical to have your baby‛s hearing screened by
one month of age.

How are babies screened for hearing loss?
A quick and painless method is used to measure
your baby‛s responses to sound.

What if my baby PASSES their screening?
It is recommended to have your baby's hearing
checked again, at least once before 36 months
old, even if they passed their newborn hearing
screening. The first three years of life are the
most important for developing language and
communication skills, and an undetected
hearing loss could cause a preventable delay in
speech and language development.

What if my baby FAILS their hearing screening?

Is my baby at risk of a hearing loss?
Ask your healthcare provider if your child has
any of the risk factors in the enclosed "Risk
Factors for Hearing Loss" list. Even if your baby
passed their newborn hearing screening, these
risk factors could still cause a hearing loss later
on. If your baby has risk factors for hearing loss,
it is extremely important to discuss a follow-up
hearing test schedule with your child‛s
healthcare provider or a pediatric audiologist.

Audiology Facilities

The following audiology centers have the
specialized equipment and experience to

conduct hearing testing in infants and children:

Connecticut Children‛s Medical Center
Hartford, Farmington, and Glastonbury, CT.

(860) 545-9642 or (860) 837-6300

Lawrence & Memorial Hospital
Waterford, CT. (860) 271-4900

UConn Speech & Hearing Clinic
Storrs, CT. (860) 486-2629

Yale New Haven Children‛s Hospital
New Haven and Trumbull, CT. (877) 925-3637

Or, visit www.ehdi-pals.org for a list of pediatric
audiologists by location.

Reacts to loud sounds.
Calms down or smiles when spoken to.
Recognizes your voice and calms down if
crying.
When feeding, starts or stops sucking in
response to sound.
Coos and makes pleasure sounds.
Has a special way of crying for different
needs.
Smiles when he or she sees you.

Follows sounds with his or her eyes.
Responds to changes in the tone of your
voice.
Notices toys that make sounds.
Pays attention to music.
Babbles in a speech-like way and uses many
different sounds, including sounds that
begin with p, b, and m.
Laughs.
Babbles when excited or unhappy.
Makes gurgling sounds when alone or
playing with you.

Enjoys playing peek-a-boo and pat-a-cake.
Turns and looks in the direction of sounds.
Listens when spoken to.
Understands words for common items such
as “cup,” “shoe,” or “juice”.
Responds to requests (“Come here”).
Babbles using long and short groups of
sounds (“tata, upup, bibibi”).
Babbles to get and keep attention.
Communicates using gestures such as
waving or holding up arms.
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Communicative Development Checklist

 

The checklist below presents the average age
by which most babies accomplish a variety of
early speech and language skills. If your child
has not accomplished all the items by end of

the age range, contact your pediatrician and an
audiologist.

 

Birth to 3 Months

4 to 6 Months

7 Months to 1 Year

The above is an abridged checklist from the:
National Institute on Deafness and Other
Communication Disorders (www.nidcd.nih.gov).

Caregiver concern regarding hearing,
speech, language, developmental delay or
developmental regression.
Family history of childhood hearing loss.
Congenital Cytomegalovirus (CMV)*.
Syndromes: There are many syndromes
associated with hearing loss, please visit:
www.hereditaryhearingloss.org.
Antibiotics in the Aminoglycosides family
(gentamicin or others) for more than 5 days.
In utero infections, such as herpes, rubella,
syphilis, toxoplasmosis, Zika, etc.
NICU stay > 5 days.
Craniofacial malformations, temporal bone
abnormalities, congenital microcephaly,
microtia, atresia, or head trauma.
Hyperbilirubinemia exchange transfusion.
Asphyxia\Hypoxic lschemic
Encephalopathy.
Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation
(ECMO).

Chemotherapy.

Risk Factors for Hearing Loss
If any of the below conditions are present, have
your child's hearing monitored regularly due to
the increased risk of a hearing loss developing

later on.
Step 1: Before leaving the birth facility, be
sure your baby was tested for congenital
Cytomegalovirus (CMV)*, which is a virus
that may cause harm to your baby. Your
baby must be tested before 21 days of age
to determine if it is congenital or not.
Step 2: Schedule a diagnostic hearing test
with an audiologist that specializes in
pediatric cases today! This comprehensive
test is the only way to know if a hearing loss
is present. Your baby should complete their
hearing testing before three months of age.
To find an audiologist near you, see the
included "Audiology Facilities" list.

Why are newborns screened for hearing loss?
Two reasons: First, birth facilities are required
to screen all newborns for hearing loss under
Connecticut law (C.G.S. §19a-59). Second,
hearing loss is one of the most commonly
occurring disabilities found in newborns. The
newborn hearing screening identifies babies
who need additional testing to determine their
ability to hear. Most babies with hearing loss
don't show any symptoms, which is why it‛s
critical to have your baby‛s hearing screened by
one month of age.

How are babies screened for hearing loss?
A quick and painless method is used to measure
your baby‛s responses to sound.

What if my baby PASSES their screening?
It is recommended to have your baby's hearing
checked again, at least once before 36 months
old, even if they passed their newborn hearing
screening. The first three years of life are the
most important for developing language and
communication skills, and an undetected
hearing loss could cause a preventable delay in
speech and language development.

What if my baby FAILS their hearing screening?

Is my baby at risk of a hearing loss?
Ask your healthcare provider if your child has
any of the risk factors in the enclosed "Risk
Factors for Hearing Loss" list. Even if your baby
passed their newborn hearing screening, these
risk factors could still cause a hearing loss later
on. If your baby has risk factors for hearing loss,
it is extremely important to discuss a follow-up
hearing test schedule with your child‛s
healthcare provider or a pediatric audiologist.

Audiology Facilities

The following audiology centers have the
specialized equipment and experience to

conduct hearing testing in infants and children:

Connecticut Children‛s Medical Center
Hartford, Farmington, and Glastonbury, CT.

(860) 545-9642 or (860) 837-6300

Lawrence & Memorial Hospital
Waterford, CT. (860) 271-4900

UConn Speech & Hearing Clinic
Storrs, CT. (860) 486-2629

Yale New Haven Children‛s Hospital
New Haven and Trumbull, CT. (877) 925-3637

Or, visit www.ehdi-pals.org for a list of pediatric
audiologists by location.

Reacts to loud sounds.
Calms down or smiles when spoken to.
Recognizes your voice and calms down if
crying.
When feeding, starts or stops sucking in
response to sound.
Coos and makes pleasure sounds.
Has a special way of crying for different
needs.
Smiles when he or she sees you.

Follows sounds with his or her eyes.
Responds to changes in the tone of your
voice.
Notices toys that make sounds.
Pays attention to music.
Babbles in a speech-like way and uses many
different sounds, including sounds that
begin with p, b, and m.
Laughs.
Babbles when excited or unhappy.
Makes gurgling sounds when alone or
playing with you.

Enjoys playing peek-a-boo and pat-a-cake.
Turns and looks in the direction of sounds.
Listens when spoken to.
Understands words for common items such
as “cup,” “shoe,” or “juice”.
Responds to requests (“Come here”).
Babbles using long and short groups of
sounds (“tata, upup, bibibi”).
Babbles to get and keep attention.
Communicates using gestures such as
waving or holding up arms.

Your Baby's Hearing and
Communicative Development Checklist

The checklist below presents the average age
by which most babies accomplish a variety of
early speech and language skills. If your child
has not accomplished all the items by end of

the age range, contact your pediatrician and an
audiologist.

Birth to 3 Months

4 to 6 Months

7 Months to 1 Year

The above is an abridged checklist from the:
National Institute on Deafness and Other
Communication Disorders (www.nidcd.nih.gov).

Caregiver concern regarding hearing,
speech, language, developmental delay or
developmental regression.
Family history of childhood hearing loss.
Congenital Cytomegalovirus (CMV)*.
Syndromes: There are many syndromes
associated with hearing loss, please visit:
www.hereditaryhearingloss.org.
Antibiotics in the Aminoglycosides family
(gentamicin or others) for more than 5 days.
In utero infections, such as herpes, rubella,
syphilis, toxoplasmosis, Zika, etc.
NICU stay > 5 days.
Craniofacial malformations, temporal bone
abnormalities, congenital microcephaly,
microtia, atresia, or head trauma.
Hyperbilirubinemia exchange transfusion.
Asphyxia\Hypoxic lschemic
Encephalopathy.
Extracorporeal membrane oxygenation
(ECMO).

Chemotherapy.

Risk Factors for Hearing Loss
If any of the below conditions are present, have
your child's hearing monitored regularly due to
the increased risk of a hearing loss developing

later on.
Step 1: Before leaving the birth facility, be
sure your baby was tested for congenital
Cytomegalovirus (CMV)*, which is a virus
that may cause harm to your baby. Your
baby must be tested before 21 days of age
to determine if it is congenital or not.
Step 2: Schedule a diagnostic hearing test
with an audiologist that specializes in
pediatric cases today! This comprehensive
test is the only way to know if a hearing loss
is present. Your baby should complete their
hearing testing before three months of age.
To find an audiologist near you, see the
included "Audiology Facilities" list.

Why are newborns screened for hearing loss?
Two reasons: First, birth facilities are required
to screen all newborns for hearing loss under
Connecticut law (C.G.S. §19a-59). Second,
hearing loss is one of the most commonly
occurring disabilities found in newborns. The
newborn hearing screening identifies babies
who need additional testing to determine their
ability to hear. Most babies with hearing loss
don't show any symptoms, which is why it‛s
critical to have your baby‛s hearing screened by
one month of age.

How are babies screened for hearing loss?
A quick and painless method is used to measure
your baby‛s responses to sound.

What if my baby PASSES their screening?
It is recommended to have your baby's hearing
checked again, at least once before 36 months
old, even if they passed their newborn hearing
screening. The first three years of life are the
most important for developing language and
communication skills, and an undetected
hearing loss could cause a preventable delay in
speech and language development.

What if my baby FAILS their hearing screening?

Is my baby at risk of a hearing loss?
Ask your healthcare provider if your child has
any of the risk factors in the enclosed "Risk
Factors for Hearing Loss" list. Even if your baby
passed their newborn hearing screening, these
risk factors could still cause a hearing loss later
on. If your baby has risk factors for hearing loss,
it is extremely important to discuss a follow-up
hearing test schedule with your child‛s
healthcare provider or a pediatric audiologist.

Audiology Facilities

The following audiology centers have the
specialized equipment and experience to

conduct hearing testing in infants and children:

Connecticut Children‛s Medical Center
Hartford, Farmington, and Glastonbury, CT.

(860) 545-9642 or (860) 837-6300

Lawrence & Memorial Hospital
Waterford, CT. (860) 271-4900

UConn Speech & Hearing Clinic
Storrs, CT. (860) 486-2629

Yale New Haven Children‛s Hospital
New Haven and Trumbull, CT. (877) 925-3637

Or, visit www.ehdi-pals.org for a list of pediatric
audiologists by location.

Reacts to loud sounds.
Calms down or smiles when spoken to.
Recognizes your voice and calms down if
crying.
When feeding, starts or stops sucking in
response to sound.
Coos and makes pleasure sounds.
Has a special way of crying for different
needs.
Smiles when he or she sees you.

Follows sounds with his or her eyes.
Responds to changes in the tone of your
voice.
Notices toys that make sounds.
Pays attention to music.
Babbles in a speech-like way and uses many
different sounds, including sounds that
begin with p, b, and m.
Laughs.
Babbles when excited or unhappy.
Makes gurgling sounds when alone or
playing with you.

Enjoys playing peek-a-boo and pat-a-cake.
Turns and looks in the direction of sounds.
Listens when spoken to.
Understands words for common items such
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Babbles using long and short groups of
sounds (“tata, upup, bibibi”).
Babbles to get and keep attention.
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Your Baby's Hearing and
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The checklist below presents the average age
by which most babies accomplish a variety of
early speech and language skills. If your child
has not accomplished all the items by end of
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