
 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Anthony Mastroianni  
HHC Regional VP, Finance 
William W. Backus Hospital 
326 Washington St.  
Norwich CT 06360-2742 
 
Dear Mr. Mastroianni: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for William W. Backus Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041851   007228710       

APR-DRG Base Rate $8,228.02 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $975.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $828.75 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.44654 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 
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of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Patrick McCabe  
Sr. V.P. Finance/CFO 
Bridgeport Hospital 
267 Grant St. P.O. Box 5000 
Bridgeport CT 06610-0120 
 
Dear Mr. McCabe: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Bridgeport Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041703   007228703   007228704    

APR-DRG Base Rate $10,164.87 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $1,050.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $892.50 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.29361 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 
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of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Richard Braam  
Chief Financial Officer 
Bristol Hospital, Inc. 
Brewster Rd. P.O. Box 977 
Bristol CT 06011-0977 
 
Dear Mr. Braam: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Bristol Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041901          

APR-DRG Base Rate $8,245.19 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $975.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $828.75 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.34782 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 
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of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Tom Honan  
Chief Financial Officer 
Connecticut Children's Medical Center 
282 Washington St.  
Hartford CT 06106 
 
Dear Mr. Honan: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Connecticut Children's Medical Center. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004159960          

APR-DRG Base Rate $11,459.61 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $975.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $828.75 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.35185 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 
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of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
  
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Carolyn Freiheit  
Hartford HealthCare Regional VP, Finance 
Hospital of Central CT 
100 Grand St. P.O. Box 100 
New Britain CT 06050-4000 
 
Dear Ms. Freiheit: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Hospital of Central CT. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041950   007228716       

APR-DRG Base Rate $8,796.35 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $975.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $828.75 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.40774 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 
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of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Steven H. Rosenberg  
Sr. VP & CFO 
Danbury Hospital 
24 Hospital Ave.  
Danbury CT 06810-6099 
 
Dear Mr. Rosenberg: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Danbury Hospital. 
 
           Danbury Hospital Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041935   007228714   007228715    

APR-DRG Base Rate $9,753.19 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $975.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $828.75 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.34679 

 
           Danbury Hospital dba New Milford Hospital Medicaid Provider Number(s):  008055716 

APR-DRG Base Rate $9,970.97 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $975.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $828.75 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.34679 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
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aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 
of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Paul Beaudoin  
Chief Financial Officer 
Day Kimball Hospital 
320 Pomfret St. P.O. Box 6001 
Putnam CT 06260-0901 
 
Dear Mr. Beaudoin: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Day Kimball Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041638   007228698       

APR-DRG Base Rate $8,907.56 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $1,050.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $892.50 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.48203 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 
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of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 

 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Jeffrey Geoghegan  
Chief Financial Officer 
John Dempsey Hospital 
263 Farmington Ave.  
Farmington CT 06032-2805 
 
Dear Mr. Geoghegan: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for John Dempsey Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041968   007228718       

APR-DRG Base Rate $11,877.89 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $1,125.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $956.25 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.46782 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 
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of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
 
             Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Eugene J. Colucci  
Vice President, Finance 
Greenwich Hospital Association 
5 Perryridge Rd.  
Greenwich CT 06830-4697 
 
Dear Mr. Colucci: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Greenwich Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041786          

APR-DRG Base Rate $9,550.71 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $975.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $828.75 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.31848 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 
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of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Alexander Balko  
VP/Finance/CFO 
Griffin Hospital 
130 Division St.  
Derby CT 06418-1377 
 
Dear Mr. Balko: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Griffin Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041927          

APR-DRG Base Rate $9,467.97 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $975.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $828.75 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.28835 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 
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of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Gerald Boisvert  
Chief Financial Officer 
Hartford Hospital 
80 Seymour St. P.O. Box 5037 
Hartford CT 06102-5037 
 
Dear Mr. Boisvert: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Hartford Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041869   008083214       

APR-DRG Base Rate $9,302.14 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $1,050.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $892.50 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.30386 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 



Mr. Boisvert 
December 28, 2018 
Page 2 of 2 
 

of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Susan Schapp  
Chief Financial Officer 
Charlotte Hungerford Hospital 
540 Litchfield St. P.O. Box 988 
Torrington CT 06790-0988 
 
Dear Ms. Schapp: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Charlotte Hungerford Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041711   007228705       

APR-DRG Base Rate $8,137.31 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $1,125.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $956.25 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.43386 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 



Ms. Schapp 
December 28, 2018 
Page 2 of 2 
 

of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
David M. Bittner  
Vice President & CFO 
Johnson Memorial Hospital 
201 Chestnut Hill Rd.  
Stafford Springs CT 06076-0860 
 
Dear Mr. Bittner: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Johnson Memorial Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041687          

APR-DRG Base Rate $7,921.65 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $975.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $828.75 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.48022 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 



Mr. Bittner 
December 28, 2018 
Page 2 of 2 
 

of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Stephen Allegretto  
Chief Financial Officer 
Lawrence and Memorial Hospital 
365 Montauk Ave.  
New London CT 06320-4769 
 
Dear Mr. Allegretto: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Lawrence and Memorial Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041679   007228701   007228702    

APR-DRG Base Rate $8,668.54 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $975.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $828.75 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.47535 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 



Mr. Allegretto 
December 28, 2018 
Page 2 of 2 
 

of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Michael Veillette  
Senior Vice President, Finance 
ECHN c/o Manchester Memorial Hospital 
71 Haynes St.  
Manchester CT 06040-4188 
 
Dear Mr. Veillette: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Manchester Memorial Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  008069211   008069212       

APR-DRG Base Rate $9,616.99 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $975.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $828.75 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.29516 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 



Mr. Veillette 
December 28, 2018 
Page 2 of 2 
 

of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Carolyn Freiheit  
Hartford HealthCare Regional VP, Finance 
MidState Medical Center 
435 Lewis Ave.  
Meriden CT 06451 
 
Dear Ms. Freiheit: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for MidState Medical Center. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041778   007228706       

APR-DRG Base Rate $8,437.14 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $975.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $828.75 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.44223 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 



Ms. Freiheit 
December 28, 2018 
Page 2 of 2 
 

of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Susan Martin  
Vice President/CFO 
Middlesex Hospital 
28 Crescent St.  
Middletown CT 06457-3650 
 
Dear Ms. Martin: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Middlesex Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041810   007228707       

APR-DRG Base Rate $9,000.71 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $1,125.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $956.25 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.29796 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 



Ms. Martin 
December 28, 2018 
Page 2 of 2 
 

of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Laura Smith  
Chief Financial Officer 
Milford Hospital 
300 Seaside Ave.  
Milford CT 06460-4603 
 
Dear Ms. Smith: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Milford Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041794          

APR-DRG Base Rate $7,904.86 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $975.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $828.75 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.36179 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 



Ms. Smith 
December 28, 2018 
Page 2 of 2 
 

of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Patrick Minicus  
Vice President & CFO 
Norwalk Hospital 
Maple St.  
Norwalk CT 06856-5050 
 
Dear Mr. Minicus: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Norwalk Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041943          

APR-DRG Base Rate $10,155.74 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $1,125.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $956.25 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.30684 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 



Mr. Minicus 
December 28, 2018 
Page 2 of 2 
 

of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Michael Veillette  
Senior Vice President, Finance 
ECHN c/o Rockville Hospital 
31 Union St.  
Vernon CT 06066-3160 
 
Dear Mr. Veillette: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Rockville General Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  008069217          

APR-DRG Base Rate $7,963.34 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $975.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $828.75 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.27906 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 



Mr. Veillette 
December 28, 2018 
Page 2 of 2 
 

of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
David M. Bittner  
Vice President & CFO 
St. Francis Hospital and Medical Center 
114 Woodland St.  
Hartford CT 06105-1299 
 
Dear Mr. Bittner: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for St. Francis Hospital and Medical Center. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041620   007228696       

APR-DRG Base Rate $9,694.33 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $975.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $828.75 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.29895 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 



Mr. Bittner 
December 28, 2018 
Page 2 of 2 
 

of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Chris Hayes  
Chief Financial Officer 
St. Mary's Hospital 
56 Franklin St.  
Waterbury CT 06706-1281 
 
Dear Mr. Hayes: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for St. Mary's Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041760          

APR-DRG Base Rate $9,350.48 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $975.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $828.75 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.35583 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 



Mr. Hayes 
December 28, 2018 
Page 2 of 2 
 

of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Christopher Given  
Sr. VP & CFO 
St. Vincent's Medical Center 
2800 Main St.  
Bridgeport CT 06606-4292 
 
Dear Mr. Given: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for St. Vincent's Medical Center. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041893   007228712   007228713    

APR-DRG Base Rate $8,659.50 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $975.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $828.75 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.29195 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 



Mr. Given 
December 28, 2018 
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of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Katherine Bacher  
Chief Financial Officer 
Sharon Hospital, Inc. 
50 Hospital Hill P.O. Box 789 
Sharon CT 06069-0789 
 
Dear Ms. Bacher: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Sharon Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  008074563   008074564          

APR-DRG Base Rate $8,894.81 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $975.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $828.75 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.42473 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 



Ms. Bacher 
December 28, 2018 
Page 2 of 2 
 

of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Kathleen Silard  
President & CEO 
Stamford Hospital 
Shelburne Rd. and West Broad St. P.O. Box 9317 
Stamford CT 06904-9317 
 
Dear Ms. Silard: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Stamford Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041661   007228699   007228700    

APR-DRG Base Rate $9,037.31 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $1,125.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $956.25 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.30465 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 



Ms. Silard 
December 28, 2018 
Page 2 of 2 
 

of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Paul Golino  
Chief Financial Officer 
Waterbury Hospital 
64 Robbins St. P.O. Box 1590 
Waterbury CT 06721-1590 
 
Dear Mr. Golino: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Waterbury Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  008069222          

APR-DRG Base Rate $9,109.92 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $975.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $828.75 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.19194 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 



Mr. Golino 
December 28, 2018 
Page 2 of 2 
 

of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Anthony Mastroianni  
HHC Regional VP, Finance 
Windham Community Memorial Hospital 
112 Mansfield Ave.  
Willimantic CT 06226-2040 
 
Dear Mr. Mastroianni: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Windham Community Memorial Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041828          

APR-DRG Base Rate $8,666.61 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $975.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $828.75 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.63462 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 



Mr. Mastroianni 
December 28, 2018 
Page 2 of 2 
 

of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  



 

 

December 28, 2018 
 
Vincent Tammaro  
Sr. Vice President, Finance 
Yale-New Haven Hospital 
20 York St.  
New Haven CT 06510-3202 
 
Dear Mr. Tammaro: 
 
Pursuant to and in order to comply with section 17b-239 of the Connecticut General Statutes, the 
Department is continuing the transition from hospital-specific All Patient Refined-Diagnosis Related 
Groups (APR-DRG) base rates to a state-wide rate based for the privately operated acute care 
hospital peer group.  The transition will occur over a period of four years using a methodology that 
transitions to statewide base rates in increments of 25% each calendar year.  This is the third year of 
the transition therefore the rates are 25% hospital-specific and 75% state-wide.   
 
Annual updates continue to be made for all peer groups for Indirect Medical Education (IME) and 
the original non-reclassified geographic wage index.   
 
The prospective inpatient Medicaid rates are listed below effective for admissions on or after January 
1, 2019 for Yale-New Haven Hospital. 
 
           Medicaid Provider Number(s):  004041836   007228708   007228709    

APR-DRG Base Rate $10,120.30 
Behavioral Health Per Diem Rate $1,050.00 
Behavioral Health Child Discharge Delay Per Diem Rate $892.50 
Rehabilitation Per Diem Rate $1,370.00 
Cost to Charge Ratio used in Outlier Calculations 0.27774 

 
For your reference, we have attached the rate calculations.  The rate letters and calculations for all 
hospitals will also be available at the following link: https://portal.ct.gov/DSS/Health-
And-Home-Care/Medicaid-Hospital-Reimbursement/Medicaid-Hospital-
Reimbursement/Fees.  
 
Please be advised that, pursuant to section 17b-238(b) of the Connecticut General Statutes, if you are 
aggrieved by this rate decision and you want to have a hearing, you must: 

 

(1) Send a written request to the Department of Social Services within 10 days of the 
date of this letter.  The 10 days are measured from the date of this letter to the date 
of the postmark, email or delivery of the request;  AND 
 
(2)  Send a detailed, written description of all items of aggrievement within 90 days 



Mr. Tammaro 
December 28, 2018 
Page 2 of 2 
 

of the date of this letter.  The 90 days are measured from the date of this letter to the 
date of the postmark, email or delivery of the detailed, written description of each 
specific item of aggrievement.   

 
You must comply with both of these requirements in order to have a hearing.  Please send both the 
10-day letter and the detailed items of aggrievement to Theresa Messner, Department of Social 
Services, 55 Farmington Avenue, 9th Floor, Hartford, CT 06105 or Theresa.Messner@ct.gov. 
 
Any questions or correspondence should be directed to Roberta Cecil of the Reimbursement and 
Certificate of Need unit at 860-424-5932 or Roberta.Cecil@ct.gov.   
 
  Sincerely, 
 
 
 
  Kathleen M. Brennan 
  Deputy Commissioner 
 
cc: C. LaVigne   

S. Ouellette  
M. Gilbert  
N. Holmes  

 


