STATE OF CONNECTCUT DEPARTMENT OF CONSUMER PROTECTION FOOD & STANDARDS DIVISION 450 Columbus Blvd, Ste 801 Hartford, CT 06103 Telephone: (860) 713-6160 Email: dcp.foodandstandards@ct.gov



For Official Use Only					

APPLICATION FOR REGISTRATION OF ITEM PRICE EXEMPTION

INSTRUCTIONS

All spaces must be completed - please print in ink or type. This application must be accompanied by a check or money order for each location made payable to: "Treasurer, State of Connecticut." Return your completed application and fee to the above address.

\$315.00 , if the premises consists of less than twenty thousand (20,000) square feetof retail space, or,

\$625.00, if the premises consists of or is greater than twenty thousand (20,000)square feet of retail space.

Name of Business (DBA)					
Street Address		City		State	Zip Code
Name of Parent Company (Corporation,	Partnership, LLC, etc.)				1
Telephone Number (w/area code)	Federal ID Number		Name of Principal Officer in Charge		er in Charge
Street Address & Town Where Exemptic	on is being sought				

(1) The retailer understands that for each location for which an exemption from individually pricing of each consumer commodity issought, the retailer must demonstrate to the satisfaction of the Commissioner that the retailer has achieved price scanner accuracy of atleast ninety-eight per cent, as determined by the latest version of the National Institute of Standards and Technology Handbook 130, "Examination Procedures for Price Verification, as adopted by The National Conference on Weights and Measures,"(2) The retailer pays an application fee, to be used to offset annual inspection costs, of two hundred fifty dollars if the premises consists of less than twenty thousand square feet of retail space and five hundred dollars if the premises consists of twenty thousand square feet ormore of retail space,(3) The retailer makes available a consumer price test scanner approved by the commissioner and located prominently in an easilyaccessible location for each twelve thousand square feet of retail floor space, or fraction thereof, and,(4) Price accuracy inspections resulting in less than ninety-eight per cent price scanner accuracy are reinspected **once** without penalty andthe retailer pays a two hundred dollar reinspection fee.(5) A conspicuous sign shall adequately disclose to the consumer that in the event the electronic price is higher than the posted retailprice, one item of such consumer commodity up to a value of \$20.00 shall be given to the customer at no cost.

I certify that I am duly authorized to exercise principal authority in the State of Connecticut on behalf of the above applicant.I also subscribe and affirm under penalties of perjury, that the statements made in this application have been examined byme and to the best of my knowledge and belief are true and correct. I have been advised that any statement(s) made hereinwhich I do not believe to be true and which is intended to mislead a public servant acting in an official manner is a crimeunder C.G.S. Section 53a-157.

Additional Instructions:

1. Please submit a plan for implementation including copies of shelf labels, indicating item and unit price and specifications for the consumer price test scanner, see item #3 above, with this application for review and approval.

2. Conspicuous sign means a sign attached to the cash register/checkout terminal which shall be at least six inches by nine inches in size, easily readable by a consumer making a purchase at such cash register/checkout terminal, and shall not contain any additional text. As an alternative to such cash register/checkout terminal signs, the retailer may display a conspicuous sign, with minimum dimensions of 22 inches by 28 inches, at each public entrance within the store which sign shall not contain any store or promotional slogans, names, or advertising and which shall read as follows: "In the event that a consumer commodity, scans at an incorrect higher price, you will be given one item of that consumer commodity free of charge up to a value of \$20.00, credit will be given for items of higher value."

FOR OFF	ICIAL USE ON	LY		
INSPECTION	DATE:	INSPECTED BY:	APPROVED BY:	APPROVAL DATE:
FEE DUE:		LATE FEE:	FEE COLLECTED:	CHECK OR MONEY ORDER #:
NEW LICENSE	RENEWAL APPLICATION	CURRENT REGISTRATION #		EXPIRATION DATE: ONE TIME FEE