Well Driller Type Apprentice/Trainee Informational Document

PLEASE NOTE: Connecticut Occupational Licensing Regulations require a minimum number of **On-the-Job-Training** (O.J.T) hours and **classroom related instruction**, as expressed below.

For the <u>W2 type</u>, an apprenticeship program is required with the Department of Labor apprenticeship training division:

https://www.ctdol.state.ct.us/progsupt/appren/WorkSchedules/apptoc1.htm#tech

For <u>W4, W8 & W10</u> types, a trainee program is required with the Department of Consumer Protection.

The trainee is to receive sufficient experience to become fully competent and use good workmanship in all work processes that are a part of the trade.

1.) Register the trainee with the Department of Consumer Protection utilizing the trainee application https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/DCP/pdf/applications_added_2016/APPLICATIONATRAINEEREGISTRATIONDCPFINALREV10012013pdf.pdf

2.) Employer training program shall include the following:

- On the job training hours (2,000 minimum)
 NOTE: Credit shall be based on a 40-hour work week and will not exceed 2000 hours per calendar year.
- In addition to on the job training hours, related instruction consisting of:
 - OSHA 10 course
 - OSHA Lockout/Tag out (Control of Hazardous Energy) Training (2 Hour)
 - Higher level OSHA certification in construction industry or equivalent trade safety course.
 - A trade related instruction course, not less than 40-hours relative to the scope of work for trainee type.

Upon submitting your trainee application:

- Attach your in-house employer training program outline including content and hours for related instruction training which shall be followed by such employee trainee.
- Attach reference material used for related instruction.
- Attach list of all licensed persons, license numbers and credential type(s) that are available to supervise and train such trainee applicant.

Sec. 25-129-11. Driller trainee

- (a) Driller trainees and/or apprentices may perform the work for which they are being trained, but only when in the presence and under the supervision of a properly registered contractor driller. Nothing in chapter 482 of the Connecticut General Statutes shall be construed to prohibit the employment of one driller trainee and/or apprentice by a registered contractor (W1, W3, W7, W9) and an additional driller trainee and/or apprentice for each person employed by a contractor who holds a driller registration for such work (W2, W4, W8, W10).
- (b) Driller trainees and/or apprentices, under the supervision of a registered contractor or the holder of a driller registration, may do minimal cleaning work not in the presence of such supervising contractor or driller.