Adam's Story

When we were chosen to be Adam's adoptive parents, our hearts filled with joy and excitement. We felt honored to be given the opportunity to raise him as our son!

Adam came to our lives as a newborn because his birth mom believed she could not care for him. Adam's birth mother wanted to make sure that the baby would be safe, so she delivered him at the hospital and decided to use the Safe Haven's law. She knew that by doing this Adam would be placed in a home with loving parents who could care and provide for him forever.

We've since adopted Adam. He is a healthy, smart, handsome toddler with a wonderful smile! One day, when he is old enough to understand, we will tell him how we fell in love with him, and how the three of us became a family.

As lucky parents of a Safe Havens baby, we want to tell you that you don't have to be ashamed or scared of using the Safe Havens law. This law will protect your baby, and he or she will be loved, safe, and well cared for.

The Safe Havens Act for Newborns

No Blame, No Shame, No Questions Asked

This pamphlet is offered by the Department of Children & Families



505 Hudson Street Hartford, CT 06106 1-800-842-2288 https://portal.ct.gov/DCF



Connecticut has a safe haven for your newborn

No one knew I was pregnant. No one knows about my baby. What am I going to do?

If you are pregnant, or know someone who is pregnant and desperate, help is available.

An unwanted pregnancy can be a traumatic experience. You may have overwhelming feelings of isolation, fear or shame that could lead to irrational thoughts or acts such as unsafely abandoning your baby.

There have been disturbing reports of newborn babies being found in the trash or other unsafe places. Under the Connecticut Safe Havens Act for Newborns, infants 30 days or younger can be left al Safe Havens (hospital emergency departments). No questions will be asked. You don't have to give your name. The police will not be called. Your baby will get medical care, be adopted and be given a new beginning.

What does the law do?

This law saves babies. It says that parents who do not harm their baby cannot be criminally charged with abandonment if they bring their baby to a safe place. It gives a desperate parent a responsible alternative and allows a parent to bring their newborn to a hospital emergency department within the first 30 days of life.

This law will not protect parents from criminal prosecution if the baby has been abused.

What will happen when I bring my baby to the Hospital Emergency Department?

A nurse will meet you in a private area and ask you to provide information about your child's medical history.

The nurse will also ask you questions about yourself such as your name and address. You do not have to answer any questions.

The nurse will give you a packet of information about your rights and how to contact the Department of Children and Families (DCF) if you have any questions or change your mind.

What will happen if I change my mind?

You should contact DCF immediately and also apply to the court for an attorney. This is very important because the court can terminate your parental rights at the first court hearing.

CONTACT INFOLINE 211

FOR MORE INFORMATION

The Call is Free!

What will happen to my baby?

The nurse is required to contact DCF so that they can assume custody. DCF will put together a permanent plan for the baby, will go to court to terminate parental rights and will place the child with an adoptive parent or family.

What does Termination of Parental Rights mean and when does it occur?

It means that the court will declare that you are no longer the parent of the child.

You will be unable to make any decisions regarding the newborn and the newborn will be freed for adoption.

The court will schedule a hearing within 30 days of DCF's petition and termination of parental rights can be granted at the first hearing.

How long will it take for my baby to be adopted?

There are numerous steps that are needed to complete an adoption, but it usually takes no longer than one year to finalize it. Keep in mind, though, that your parental rights could have been terminated within the first 30 days of the process.