CONNECTICUT CLAIMS COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE

STANDING ORDER REGARDING THE PROCESS FOR DECIDING CLAIMS

Effective Date: July 15, 2023

Pursuant to Connecticut General Statutes section 4-157, in order to facilitate timely decisions on
claims as expected by the people of Connecticut, the following rules of procedure will be
implemented:

The Claims Commissioner’s Office will not be issuing any formal scheduling orders. The
scheduling will take place more informally, as described below:

1.

Within 60 days of the date that the Claims Commissioner’s Office sends notice of a claim to
the Connecticut Attorney General’s Office, the Attorney General’s Office shall file the
Attorney General’s appearance, and the Attorney General’s Position Statement or Motion to
Dismiss/Notice of Jurisdictional Defect (MTD/NOJD). The Attorney General’s Office shall
also deliver copies of these documents to the Claimant. If the Attorney General’s Office does
not file these documents within 60 days, then the Claims Commissioner’s Office will notify
the parties of the status conference date and a hearing date — allowing the parties sufficient
time to complete any necessary discovery or file any pre-hearing motions prior to the hearing
date.

If the Attorney General’s Office does file a MTD/NOJD, then within 30 days of the
Claimant’s receipt of the MTD/NOID, the Claimant shall file a response, if any. If the
Claimant does not file a response within 30 days, then the Claims Commissioner’s Office
may grant the Attorney General’s MTD/NOJD.

The Claims Commissioner’s Office will decide any MTD/NOJD as soon as possible, and if
the MTD/NOJD is denied, then the Claims Commissioner’s Office will notify the parties of
the status conference date and a hearing date — allowing the parties sufficient time to
complete any necessary discovery or file any pre-hearing motions prior to the hearing date.

If the Attorney General’s Office files a position paper and does not file any MTD/NOJD, then
the Claims Commissioner’s Office will notify the parties of the status conference date and a
hearing date — allowing the parties sufficient time to complete any necessary discovery or file
any pre-hearing motions prior to the hearing date.




5. The parties shall complete discovery, and file pre-hearing motions, responses and replies
prior to the hearing date.

6. Any party may request that the hearing take place sooner than originally scheduled by the
Claims Commissioner’s Office.

7. The parties should not expect reminders from the Claims Commissioner’s Office to file any
documents that may need to be filed pursuant to paragraphs 1 and 2, above.

8. The Claims Commissioner’s Office may consult and agree with the parties that a claim may
not require a hearing in order for the Claims Commissioner’s Office to render a final
decision. See Jakobowski v. State, 219 Conn. App. 839, 860-862 (Conn. App. 2023).

9. The Claims Commissioner’s Office may grant motions for extensions of time or
continuances, keeping in mind the necessity to issue timely decisions.
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