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Revised July 15, 2023 

Pursuant to CT Public Act 23-131 

 

CLAIMS COMMISSIONER’S OFFICE  

 

CLAIM FORM FOR AN INMATE IN A CONNECTICUT CORRECTIONAL FACILITY 

 

Most claims must be filed within one year after the claim accrues. Claims for injury to person or damage to 

property shall be deemed to accrue on the date when the damage or injury is sustained or discovered or in the 

exercise of reasonable care should have been discovered, provided no claim shall be presented more than three 

years from the date of the act or event complained of.  Connecticut General Statutes Section 4-148.   

 

An inmate must file a claim not later than one year after the date on which the inmate exhausted all 

administrative remedies provided by the Department of Correction.  The legal representative of the estate of an 

inmate may present to the Office of the Claims Commissioner a claim against the state prior to having 

exhausted any administrative remedy.  Connecticut General Statutes Section 5-165b(b).   

 

 

 

Today’s Date ______________________           Claimant  Inmate Number:  ___________________________ 

 

 

Claimant Name ___________________________________________________________________________                    

 

 

Claimant/Attorney Signature_________________________________________________________________ 

 

 

Claimant/Attorney Address___________________________________________________________________   

 

 

Claimant/Attorney Email address______________________________________________________________ 

 

 

1.a. Please provide a concise statement of the basis of your claim, including the date, time, place and 

circumstances of the act or event complained of, as well as information to clarify the nature of the waiver 

sought and the claims asserted.   

 

b. Please explain why you believe that you have a just claim and why the State of Connecticut may be  

liable for your damage or injury.  

 

c. Please indicate the state agency involved.  

 

d. Please indicate whether you are pursuing an action in any Court or before any other agency relating to 

the act of event that is the subject of this claim.  

 

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 
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(please attach additional pages if necessary) 

 

 

2. a. Connecticut General Statutes section 4-165b requires an inmate to exhaust all administrative 

remedies provided by the Department of Correction prior to filing a claim with the Claims 

Commissioner’s Office. Please include below a description of the administrative remedies that have been 

exhausted.  

 

b. Also, please attach any documents which demonstrate that the administrative remedies have been 

exhausted: 

 

_______________________________________________________________________________________ 
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(please attach additional pages if necessary) 

 

 

3. Please state the amount of monetary damages requested.  Pursuant to Connecticut Public Act 23-131, 

section 11, please minimally state whether the amount is less than $35,000 or equal to or in excess of 

$35,000. 

 

 

Amount:    $__________________________ 

 

 

 

4.  Are you requesting permission to sue the State in Superior Court?   YES ________    NO __________. 

If YES, is this the exclusive remedy you seek, or do you seek a monetary award or recommendation of 

damages in the alternative?    Exclusive ________  Alternative ________  

 

  

  

5. If your claim is for $10,000 or less, you may execute this affidavit below so that your claim may be 

decided without a hearing pursuant to Connecticut General Statutes Section 4-151a. 

 

 

Claimant Signature _____________________________________________ 

 

 

Subscribed and sworn to before me on this ___________________ day of _________________, 202__ 

 

 

Notary Public/Commissioner the Superior Court___________________________________________ 

 

 

Date Commission Expires ____________________ 

 

 

 

➢ No fee is required with the filing of this claim. 

 

 

➢ Two copies of this Claim Form with any attachments should be 

mailed/delivered to the Claims Commissioner’s Office, 450 Columbus Blvd., 

Suite 203, Hartford, CT 06103. 
 


