
Connecticut Changes in Elder Abuse Reporting Laws 

 
The Department of Social Services (Department) administers the Protective Services for the Elderly (PSE) 
Program.  PSE works to help adults aged 60 years or older to live with dignity and respect by 
investigating maltreatment allegations of abuse, neglect, self-neglect, and exploitation.  
 
The Department first becomes involved with elders alleged to have been abused, neglected or exploited 
when we receive a report. Any concerned person can report suspicions of maltreatment. Most reports 
are made by individuals who, by their profession, are required by State law to report suspected 
maltreatment of Connecticut elders. These mandated reporters typically have frequent contact with 
elders and are in a unique position to see or hear about abuse, neglect or exploitation concerns.  Some 
of these “mandated reporters” include: 
 

Social Workers Nurses 
Licensed Physicians/Surgeons Dentists 
Police Officers Psychologists  
Clergy Homemakers and Companions 
Pharmacists Emergency Medical Services Providers 

 
Mandated reporters, together with PSE, play an important role in helping elders live free of abuse, 
neglect and exploitation. For that reason, these professionals are required to report incidents to PSE. 
There may be legal repercussions for mandated reporters who fail to report suspected incidents of elder 
maltreatment. 
 
Reports are extremely important to the safety and welfare of some of Connecticut’s most vulnerable 
residents.  Expedited reports are critical because they trigger investigations that lead to interventions 
aimed at halting the maltreatment and securing needed supports.  The sooner the Department becomes 
aware of a concerning situation, the sooner we can respond. 
 
 
LEGISLATIVE CHANGE 
On July 1, 2022, Public Act No. 22-145 went into effect.  This law reduces the timeframe by when 
mandated professionals must report suspected elder maltreatment.  The law requires that if such 
individuals have reasonable cause to suspect or believe that any elderly person has been abused, 
neglected, exploited or abandoned, or is in a condition that is the result of such maltreatment, or needs 
protective services, must report those concerns to the PSE Program within 24 hours. This is a change 
from the previous timeframe of 72 hours.  This law also changes the penalty for failure to report, by 
requiring a mandated reporter to retake the elder abuse training upon their first offense.  Any 
mandatory reporter who subsequently fails to make such report within the prescribed time period shall 
be fined not more than five hundred dollars and shall retake the mandatory training.  
 
In addition, Public Act No. 22-58 requires that a mandatory reporter complete the educational training 
program developed by the Department, or an alternate program approved by the Department, not later 
than June 30, 2023, or not later than ninety days after becoming a mandatory reporter. 
 
 

https://www.cga.ct.gov/2022/ACT/PA/PDF/2022PA-00145-R00SB-00286-PA.PDF
https://portaldir.ct.gov/dss/learncenter/elderabuse/mand/story_html5.html


HOW TO REPORT: 
During business hours, a report of suspected elder maltreatment can be made by calling the Protective 
Services for the Elderly program at the Connecticut Department of Social Services the toll-free line: 1-
888-385-4225. 
 
After business hours or on weekends or state holidays, please call Infoline at 2-1-1.  If you are calling 
from outside Connecticut, call Infoline 24/7 at 1-800-203-1234. An optional Report Form (W-675) is also 
available.  Please FAX the W-675 form to 860-424-5091. Telephone reports, however, are preferred. 
 
UNSURE OF WHETHER TO REPORT: 
If you are unsure about a possible elder abuse situation, you may consult with PSE social workers during 
normal business hours by calling 1-888-385-4225.  They will triage your concern and determine the 
appropriate response based on the information you provide. 

https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/Departments-and-Agencies/DSS/Social-Work-Services/W-675.pdf

