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W-1 DV Cash 
(REV 06/23) 

STATE OF CONNECTICUT 
DEPARTMENT OF SOCIAL SERVICES  

REQUEST FOR CASH ASSISTANCE DUE TO 
DOMESTIC VIOLENCE

Referral Source ☐ Walk-in ☐ Phone ☐ DV Safe Connect  ☐ CCADV Member Agency 

If referral source is DV Safe Connect, it is not required for the DSS Social Worker to see a restraining order or police report. Please submit this form via email to dss.swsdvreferral@ct.gov 

Name (first, middle, last) 
 

 Legal or other name (if different)  

DSS Client ID (if known) Date of Birth Social Security Number Sex Safest phone number to 
contact you 

Preferred Language (Spoken/ASL) Do you need an interpreter? ☐ Yes ☐ No 

Home Street Address City State Zip Code 

Mailing Address (If different) 
 

City State Zip Code 

Ethnicity 
(optional) 

☐Not of Hispanic 
Origin 

  ☐Mexican  ☐Mexican American ☐Chicano/a ☐Cuban  ☐Puerto Rican   ☐Other Hispanic, 
Latino/a or Spanish 

Race 
(optional) 

☐White ☐Black or African American ☐Hispanic or Latino/a ☐Vietnamese ☐Chinese ☐Asian 
Indian 

☐Japanese 

☐Korean ☐Filipino ☐Pacific 
Islander 

☐Guamanian or 
Chamorro 

☐Other Asian ☐American Indian or 
Alaskan Native 

☐Samoan ☐Native 
Hawaiian 

Names, Dates of Birth, and relationship of dependents age 18 or younger who live with you 

Safest place for the benefit 
to be issued 

☐ Home Address ☐Mailing Address ☐ Other ☐ DSS Local Field Office 

Safest Benefit Issuance Method ☐EBT ☐ New EBT Card Needed ☐ Check 
 
I am requesting a one-time cash assistance benefit from the Department of Social Services because I am a current 
victim of domestic violence as defined in section 17b – 112a of the Connecticut General Statutes. Under section 17b – 
112a, a victim of domestic violence is a person who has been abused or subjected to extreme cruelty in one of the 
following ways: 

• Physical acts that resulted in or were threatened to result in physical injury; 
• Sexual abuse; 
• Sexual activity involving a child in your home; 
• Being forced to participate in nonconsensual sexual acts or activities; 
• Threats of or attempts at physical or sexual abuse; 
• Mental abuse; or 
• Neglect or deprivation of medical care. 

 

I am currently experiencing domestic violence as noted above: ☐ Yes ☐ No 
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Date of last incident of abuse:  

Type of Incident  Assault  Threatened  Harassed  Stalked 

 Other (please describe):   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Any type of crisis intervention or support services received for the incident identified above? 

 Domestic Violence Services 
 Community Based Agency 
 Law Enforcement  
 Other (please describe): 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Any current or pending orders of protection in place in the last 90 days?  

 Police Report issued within the last 90 days 
 Protective Order or Restraining Order issued within the last 90 days 
 Other (please describe):   

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

If approved, how will the benefit support the safety of me and/or my family: 

 Housing  Basic Needs  Medical 

 Utilities  Transportation  Education 

 Employment  Other:  

 

DSS Social Worker comments: 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Verification 
submitted: 

☐  Police Report issued within the last 90 days 
☐  Protective Order or Restraining Order issued within the last 90 days 

☐ CCADV Member Agency or DV Safe Connect
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I certify that all of the information given to DSS is true and complete to the best of my knowledge. I certify that I am currently 
experiencing domestic violence and that the information I provide above is accurate to the best of my knowledge. I also declare and 
certify that I have provided true and accurate (correct) information. I understand that when DSS has reason to believe that I am making 
a misstatement of fact or withholding information from DSS, I will be required to provide proof of what I have said.  I may be referred 
to a domestic violence services partner who will assist in determining eligibility for the DVCP benefit and to discuss what other help may 
be available to me.  If I have knowingly given incorrect information, I understand that I may be subject to penalties for false statement 
as specified in sections 53a-157b and 17b-97 of the Connecticut General Statutes; to penalties for larceny as specified in sections 53a-
122 and 53a-123 of the Connecticut General Statutes; and to other criminal and civil penalties under state law. I authorize the 
Department of Social Services to verify any information given on this form. If someone helped you complete this form or completed 
this form for you, that person must also sign this form as a Helper. 

 
 

 

The Department has a TDD/TTY hotline number for persons who are deaf or hearing impaired. If you have a TDD/TTY, you can call 1 
(800) 842-4524. The Department also has auxiliary aids for the blind or visually impaired. Please call your local Department of Social 
Services for more information at 1 (860) 424-5040. 

    
Applicant’s Name Date Applicant’s Signature Date 
    

Helper Name and relationship to applicant Date Helper Signature Date 
 
(To be completed by DSS) 

   

DV Agency 
(if applicable) 

 Contact Number Date 

Referred to DV Safe 
Connect (888) 774-2900 

☐ YES ☐ NO ☐ Already 
receiving DV 
Support Services 

DSS Social Worker Name and Office  Date 


