STATE OF CONNECTICUT
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLICHEALTH

Subsurface Sewage Disposal System
INSTALLER License Application

General Policies and Procedures

IMPORTANT: THE DEPARTMENT WILL NOT REVIEW HAND-DELIVERED APPLICATIONS AT THE TIME OF RECEIPT.
PROFESSIONAL STAFF SHALL EVALUATE EACH APPLICATION IN THE ORDER IT WAS RECEIVED. STAFF IS NOT AVAILABLE
FOR UNSCHEDULED “WALK-IN" MEETINGS. FOR QUESTIONS, PLEASE EMAIL dph.ehlicensing@ct.gov

1. Fees
The fee for an initial license covers the cost of eligibility determination and related administrative functions.
The licensure renewal fee is separate and distinct from the application fee. Personal licenses are renewed in the
first birth month immediately following the issuance of licensure, (even if it is in the same year) and annually
thereafter. The full renewal fee will be required regardless of the date of initial licensure.

No personal checks are accepted. Please remit the application fee, by CERTIFIED CHECK or MONEY
ORDER ONLY, payable to, “TREASURER, STATE OF CONNECTICUT” in United States dollars. The
application fee is non-refundable and non-transferable. It covers the cost of reviewing and processing the
specific application. Application fees cannot be refunded, even if the applicant is found ineligible.
Incomplete applications shall remain on file for five years, however the application fee is good for ONLY one
year.

2. Status Checks
It is the responsibility of the applicant to arrange for the submission of all required documentation for timely
completion of the application. The Department shall notify the applicants of incomplete documentation.
Applicants can check the status of their application and submission of supporting documentation at:
https://www.elicense.ct.gov/ or email: dph.ehlicensing@ct.gov

3. License Issuance
After all documents have been received, the professional staff will evaluate each application in the order it was
received. Upon approval, the licensee shall receive written verification of the license number and the effective
date. The three part licensing documents shall be sent to the licensee's address of record within 4-6 weeks after
approval.

4. Requirements
License requirements are subject to change due to new legislation, regulations, or policies adopted by the
Department. Applicants shall meet current licensing requirements.

5. Examinations

Licensing examination questions are not included in the Freedom of Information Act as documents available for
review. Whenever possible, the Department shall provide feedback regarding examination performance.

6. Social Security Numbers
The Privacy Act of 1974 requires any federal, state or local government agency to inform persons of the
disclosure requirements for social security numbers. In accordance with Connecticut General Statutes, Section
17b-137a(A)(1), disclosure of the social security number is mandatory. The social security number is used in
the administration and collection of taxes and child support. The Department shall only disclose social security
numbers to government entities. The Department shall not release social security numbers to the general public.




Subsurface Sewage Disposal System
INSTALLER Licensure Exam Requirements

Applicant must submit the following information in order to take the Connecticut Department of
Public Health (CT DPH) Subsurface Sewage Disposal System (SSDS) Installer licensure exam.
Please note: There will be a separate $65 fee to take the exam at a PSI test center.

1. A completed, notarized application with photograph, and fee of $50.00 in the form of a certified

bank check or money order made payable to “Treasurer, State of Connecticut”; AND

Four (4) Verification of Experience Forms completed and signed by CT Local Health Department
authorized agent; OR

For an individual currently credentialed as a Subsurface Sewage Disposal System or Septic
System Installer in a jurisdiction other than CT for a period of no less than 4 years, a completed
and signed Verification of Subsurface Sewage System Installer Licensure Form, must be
completed by the other jurisdiction's licensing body and submitted directly to CT DPH. Not
applicable for a business or corporation. The other jurisdiction's licensing standards must be
equal to or higher than those of Connecticut.

Please note that credit may not be given for Verification of Experience Forms citing any of the
following:

Applicant was not present during Local Health Department (LHD)inspections (unless previously
agreed upon between all parties).

Licensed installer did not confirm applicant’s participation in subsurface sewage disposal system
(SSDS) installation.

LHD was not notified that applicant would be participating in SSDS installation.
LHD could not verify applicant’s participation in SSDSinstallation.

SSDS was not installed in accordance with approved plan, or construction deficiencies have been
identified.

SSDS installation was completed more than 5 years from exam date.

SSDS installation only involved minor septic system repair work, such as tank, manhole cover,
pipe or distribution box replacement. Credit shall only be given on sites that included a leaching
system installation.

Mail completed applications to:

CT Department of Public Health
Environmental Licensing

410 Capitol Avenue MS #12MQA
P.O. Box 340308

Hartford, CT 06134-0308


https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/Departments-and-Agencies/DPH/dph/environmental_health/Env-Prac/SubSurface-Sewage/SubSurface_Seawge_Verification_of_Experience_Form.pdf?la=en

Subsurface Sewage Disposal System (SSDS)
INSTALLER Licensure Reinstatement Policy

If SSDS Installer license has been lapsed for less than two (2) years, then the following
documentation must be submitted for reinstatement:

1. A completed, notarized application with photograph, and fee of $50.00 in the form of acertified
bank check or money order made payable to “Treasurer, State of Connecticut”; AND

2. Please affirm by signing page 3 of the application, in the presence of a notary, that you have not
worked in CT in the discipline for which you are applying during the time your credential was
expired.

If SSDS Installer license has been lapsed for more than two (2) years, but less than ten (10) years,
then the applicant must perform the following for reinstatement:

1. Submit a completed, notarized application with photograph, and fee of $50.00 in the form ofa
certified bank check or money order made payable to “Treasurer, State of Connecticut”; AND

2. Please affirm by signing page 3 of the application, in the presence of a notary, that you have not
worked in CT in the discipline for which you are applying during the time your credential was
expired; AND

3. Take and pass the CT DPH SSDS Installer exam.

If SSDS Installer license has been lapsed for more than ten (10) years, then the applicant must
perform the following for reinstatement:

1. Submit a completed, notarized application with photograph, and fee of $50.00 in the form ofa
certified bank check or money order made payable to “Treasurer, State of Connecticut”; AND

2. Affirm by signing page 3 of the application, in the presence of a notary, that you have not
worked in CT in the discipline for which you are applying during the time your credential was
expired; AND

3. Submit four (4) completed Verification of Experience Forms OR

If you have been licensed in other states, submit a Verification of Subsurface Sewage System
Installer Licensure Form AND

4. Take and pass the CT DPH SSDS Installer exam.

Completed applications shall be mailed to:

CT Department of Public Health
Environmental Licensing

410 Capitol Avenue - MS#12MQA
P.O. Box 340308

Hartford, CT 06134-0308


https://portal.ct.gov/-/media/Departments-and-Agencies/DPH/dph/environmental_health/Env-Prac/SubSurface-Sewage/SubSurface_Seawge_Verification_of_Experience_Form.pdf?la=en
https://authoring.ct.gov/-/media/Departments-and-Agencies/DPH/dph/environmental_health/Licensing/Verification-of-SSSI-Licensure-Form.pdf

STATE OF CONNECTICUT

DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Subsurface Sewage Disposal System
INSTALLER License Application

CHECK ONE: INITIAL APPLICATION REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION
APPLICATION FEE: $50.00 CT Installer License No:
Applicant Legal Name!:
First Middle (if applicable) Last
1. This information will be submitted to the exam test center. It must match the photo ID you present to the exam test center.
Date of birth: / / Social Security No.: - - Gender:
mm dd yyyy

Mailing Address: This will be how your address will appear on your official license, your address of record for all

mailings from this office, and releasable information pursuant to Freedom of Information requests.

Address :

City, State, Zip:

Phone number: Email:

Do you require accommaodations for any disability? YES NO

If YES, attach a written statement briefly describing the nature of the disability and the accommodation you are
seeking. Upon review of your request, this office will contact you for appropriate documentation.

RACE/ETHNIC DATA: This section is voluntary. Information gathered will be used solely for demographic purposes.
This data will not be used for discriminatory purposes and will not be considered in the evaluation of your application.

AMERICAN INDIAN OR ALASKAN NATIVE: Persons having origins in any of the original peoples of
North America, and who maintain cultural identification through tribal affiliation or community
recognition.

ASIAN OR PACIFIC ISLANDER: Persons having origins in any of the original peoples of the Far East,
Southeast Asia the Indian Subcontinent of the Pacific Islands. This area includes, China, Japan, Korea, the
Philippine Islands, and Samoa.

BLACK: Persons having origins in any of the black racial groups of Africa.

HISPANIC: Persons of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Central or South American or other Spanish culture or
origin, regardless of race.

WHITE (not of Hispanic Origin): Persons having origins in any of the original peoples of Europe, North
Africa, or the Middle East.
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CREDENTIALS IN OTHER STATES: List all states (other than Connecticut) where you have or have had a
credential as a subsurface sewage disposal system installer. Submit copies of other states' credentials.

STATE | CREDENTIAL | NUMBER | EXPIRATION DATE

STATEMENT OF PROFESSIONAL HISTORY:

A.

Have you ever been censured, disciplined, dismissed, or expelled from, or been requested to resign from
employment involving any type of environmental remediation work? YES :lNO

Have you ever had your membership in or certification by any professional society or association suspended or
revoked for reasons related to professional practice? YES NO

Has any professional licensing or disciplinary body in any state, the District of Columbia, a United States
possession or territory, or a foreign jurisdiction, limited, restricted, suspended or revoked any professional license,
certificate, or registration granted to you, or imposed a fine or reprimand, or taken any disciplinary action against
you? YES NO

Have you ever, in anticipation or during the pendency of an investigation or other disciplinary proceeding,
voluntarily surrendered any professional license, certificate, or registration issued to you by any state, the District
of Columbia, a United States possession or territory, or a foreign jurisdiction? YES NO

Have you ever been subject to, or do you currently have pending, any complaint, investigation, charge, or
disciplinary action by any professional licensing or disciplinary body in any state, the District of Columbia, a
United States possession or territory, or a foreign jurisdiction or any disciplinary board/committee of any branch of
the armed services? YES NO

If you answer “yes” to Questions A-E, please provide all related records including proof of settlement of fine, on a
separate, NOTARIZED statement.

Have you ever entered into, or do you currently have pending, a consent agreement of any kind, whether oral or
written, with any professional licensing or disciplinary body in any state, the District of Columbia, a United States
possession or territory, any branch of the armed services or a foreign jurisdiction? YES NO
If “yes” to Question F, give full details, names, addresses, on a separate, NOTARIZED statement. Also submit a
NOTARIZED copy of the agreement.

Have you ever been found guilty or convicted as a result of an act which constitutes a felony under the laws of this
state, federal law, or the laws of another jurisdiction and which, if committed within_this state, Wﬁ have

constituted a felony under the laws of this state? YES NO
If “yes” to Question G, give full details including, but not limited to, names and dates on a separate NOTARIZED
statement and furnish a Certified Court Copy (with court seal affixed) of the original complaint, the answer, the
judgment, the settlement, and/or the disposition of the case (including conditions of release), and if you are
currently on parole or probation, a statement from the officer that you are compliant with the conditions of
release.
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PHOTOGRAPH:

Affix (glue or tape) a recent
passport-type, glossy,
color, photo here.

NOTARIZATION:

On this day of in the year 20___, personally appeared before me,
Applicant’s name

who being duly sworn says that she/he is the person referred to in the foregoing application and that the photograph
attached hereto is a true picture of self and that the statements made herein are true in every respect.

Signature of Applicant

Sworn to before me this day of in the year 20 .

Signature of Notary Public My Commission Expires
REINSTATEMENT APPLICATIONS ONLY:

| certify that since my State Certification expired, | have not worked in Connecticut in the discipline for which |
am applying for reinstatement with this application.

Signature of Applicant

B o o o L R R R R R R e R R R R R R e S R R R R R R R R R S S R e e R S R

Mail application to:

CT Department of Public Health
Environmental Licensing

410 Capitol Avenue, MS# 12MQA
P.O. Box 340308

Hartford, CT 06134-0308

Rev 01/2023
Page 3 of 3



	INITIAL APPLICATION: Off
	REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION: Off
	Date of birth: 
	undefined: 
	undefined_2: 
	Social Security No: 
	undefined_3: 
	undefined_4: 
	Gender: 
	Name on License 2: 
	City State Zip: 
	Phone number: 
	Email: 
	If YES attach a written statement briefly describing the nature of the disability and the accommodation you are: Off
	On this: 
	day of: 
	Applicants name: 
	day of_2: 
	in the year 20: 
	My Commission Expires: 
	Text8: 
	undefined_8: 
	state 1: 
	credential 1: 
	number 1: 
	exp: 
	state 2: 
	cred 2: 
	numb 2: 
	exp 2: 
	state3: 
	cred 3: 
	numb3: 
	exp3: 
	bk: Off
	GroupA: Off
	Check Box2: Off
	Asia: Off
	white: Off
	his: Off
	Group b: Off
	Group c: Off
	Group d: Off
	Group f: Off
	Group g: Off
	year 20 2: 
	Group e: Off
	Legal Name: 


