
Neon and Electric Signs are used in numerous 
applications by commercial and home-based 
businesses to advertise the sale of products 
and/or services offered.  But in order to be safe 
and effective, they must be properly installed.

The Department of Consumer Protection is 
responsible for the licensing and regulation 
of  all occupational tradespeople who work in 
Connecticut. Neon and Electric Sign work falls 
under the State’s legal defi nition of Electrical 
Work; therefore, Neon and Electric Sign install-
ers need electrical training and licensure.

What’s Involved in Neon and or 
Electrical Sign Work?

Neon transformers and power supplies, includ-
ing those intended to be connected to a Class 2 
source of supply, that provide the voltage and 
ballasting for neon and cold-cathode tubing 
(electric-discharge tubing) consisting of elec-
trodes and gas, such as neon, mercury, helium, 
argon and similar gases, enclosed in glass for 
use in signs and outline lighting.

Electrical Signs, referred to as signs, using 
incandescent lamps, fl uorescent lamps, HD 
lamps, neon tubing and other combinations 
for use in, that includes and is not limited to, 
awning signs, channel-letter signs, directional 
signs, ordinary box signs, recessed signs, 
trailer-mounted signs, and other similar signs.

For the purposes of a neon and electrical sign 
work, a home improvement registration only 
allows that contractor to subcontract the actual 
neon and electrical sign work to a properly 
licensed electrical contractor.

Penalties

Any person found in violation of Connecticut 
General Statute Section 20-330 may be fi ned 
up to two hundred dollars ($200) for each 
violation, and face civil penalties of $1,000 for 
a fi rst violation, $1,500 for a second violation, 
and $3,000 for the third and every subsequent 
violation. Additionally, under Section 20-341a, 
working without a license, apprenticeship reg-
istration or certifi cate, may lead to arrest for a 
Class B misdemeanor.

All the items indicated must be installed in ac-
cordance with appropriate Connecticut Building 
Code, National Electrical Code (NEC), NFPA 
70, the UL standards and the manufacturer’s 
specifi cations.

These neon and electrical sign systems must be 
installed by a licensed electrical contractor and 
local permits must be taken out before installa-
tion.

Licensing Requirements for Neon and 
Electric Sign Installers

State law requires all electricians and electrical 
contractors to be licensed with the Department 
of Consumer Protection. It is a violation of 
State law for a person to install or offer to in-
stall a Neon and Electric Sign system unless he 
or she has fi rst obtained a license, as provided 
in Section 20-333 of the Connecticut General 
Statutes, or possesses a card of registration 
from the Labor Department.

Minimum required licensure for people who 
perform neon and electric sign system work:

C-7 Limited Electrical Sign Contractor
SCOPE OF WORK: The holder of this license 
may perform only work limited to installing, 
servicing, maintaining and testing electric signs 
where such work commences at a dedicated 
outlet receptacle or connection directly adjacent 
to such sign. The requirements to qualify for 
this license examination shall be two (2) years 
as a properly licensed journeyperson or equiva-
lent experience and training.

C-8 Limited Electrical Sign Journeyperson 
SCOPE OF WORK: The holder of this license 
may perform only work limited to installing, 
servicing, maintaining and testing electric signs 
where such work commences at a dedicated out-
let receptacle or connection directly adjacent to 
such sign and only while in the employ of a con-
tractor licensed for such work. The requirements 
to qualify for this license examination shall be 
the completion of a registered apprenticeship 
program or equivalent experience and training.

The E-1 unlimited electrical contractor and the 
E-2 unlimited journeyperson can perform all 
electrical work listed in the limited electrical 
license categories as related to their respective 
unlimited license held.

A neon and electrical sign license limits the 
holder to the work defi ned and does not allow 
anyone to perform the unlimited electrical work. 

Neither the owner of a single family dwelling, 
nor the controlling partner of a business that 
performs neon and electrical sign work need to 
hold either of the licenses indicated above. How-
ever, all of the neon and electrical sign work and 
services set forth in Section 20-330 of the Con-
necticut General Statutes must be performed only 
by persons licensed for such work, as described 
above.

A home improvement registration does not 
qualify anyone to install neon and electrical 
sign work.  
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    Important Note to  
Licensees

  Your occupational license number is 
important verifi cation that you are, in fact, 

properly licensed for the jobs you are taking. You 
must display your contractor’s license and/or the 

contractor of record’s license number in all advertis-
ing, including your website, on all company 

stationery and in print that is at least one inch 
high and legible on all work 

vehicles.



For license applications and statutes, visit 
www.ct.gov/dcp and select Licensing and Reg-
istration Forms from the center menu. 

For information on licensing examinations visit 
the website www.psiexams.com.

Tips for Consumers, Homeowners and 
Building Owners

If you have questions, need to verify a contrac-
tor’s license, or check on complaints against 
a contractor, contact the Department of Con-
sumer Protection at 860-713-6110 or visit our 
website at www.ct.gov/dcp. 

Electricians must be licensed by the Depart-
ment of Consumer Protection in order to per-
form electrical work.  The Department licenses 
individuals, but not the electrical company.  

There are limited and unlimited licenses in the 
category. In general, licenses with odd numbers 
are contractors, such as: E-1 unlimited electri-
cal contractor and C-7 limited electrical sign 
contractor. Licenses with even numbers are 
journeypeople/employees, such as: E-2 unlim-
ited electrical journeyperson and C-8 limited 
electrical sign journeyperson.

Only contractors can obtain permits and sign 
contracts. Journeypeople and apprentices 
cannot work directly for consumers, unless 
employed by, or employing a licensed contrac-
tor of record.

Building Permits: Contractors must obtain 
all the required building permits from the 
local building department before any work 
can begin. This will ensure that any work 
performed will be done to code and that any 
problems found by the building offi cial will 
be corrected before the work is completed. 
However, the homeowner and or the building 
owner are ultimately responsible for ensur-
ing that the necessary building permits are 
obtained. Always call your local building 
department for advice and guidance before 
any work is begun.

Insurance: Always check to make sure the 
contractor has proper insurance. Contractors 
should have liability insurance for themselves 
and their employees as well as worker’s com-
pensation if they have employees.

Guarantees and Warranties: Workmanship 
warranties are usually good only if they are in 
writing, and even a written warranty is only 
as good as the contractor standing behind it. 
Before making fi nal payment on your proj-
ect, always make sure that the contractor has 
provided you with any and all written manu-
facturer warranties on materials used in your 
project, and keep these documents in a safe 
place.

Important Contact 
Information for 

Contractors and Installers

• Questions: 860-713-6110
• For relevant applications and 

statutes, visit www.ct.gov/dcp
• For examination information, 

visit www.psiexams.com

State of Connecticut
Department of Consumer Protection

165 Capitol Avenue
Hartford, CT 06106

Home Improvement, Occupational 
and Professional Unit 

(860) 713-6110
Toll Free: 1-800-842-2649
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